A friend is a friend is a friend is a friend is a friend…

A friend is someone who goes fabric shopping with me at my favorite fabric store.

A friend is someone who didn’t know that I was debating whether or not to bring sample patterns to the store on the off chance that the owner might be available to chat and decided not to because I knew that I’d chicken out.

A friend is someone who at the cutting counter asked casually, but loud enough for the woman cutting to hear, “So how many patterns have you sold, Linda?”

A friend gets the conversation going which results in the owner coming out to talk to me, encouraging me to bring my patterns in.

A friend did this for me, knowing that I have a problem with self-promotion and couldn’t do it myself.  Thank you, Yvonne!

It was a good day all around.  I was able to get my hands on some new Amy Butler fabric that had come in and then when I went back on Tuesday the owner put in an order for my patterns.  I don’t know what a trunk show is, but they’re going to have a trunk show to feature my patterns!  I’m guessing it involves a small table and display.  So I made a sample diaper bag for the trunk show out of my new Nigella fabric.

The Diaper Bag by Craft Apple

 

I really like the big prints on this fabric.  Great for big projects, like the gumdrop pillow, yummy, huh?

35 Responses to “A friend is a friend is a friend is a friend is a friend…”


  1. 1 Mary July 5, 2007 at 10:43 am

    That? Is a great friend! That’s awesome! Great looking bag, too.

  2. 2 Mindy July 5, 2007 at 10:50 am

    The bag is adorable!! And *grins* I am so glad you have a friend like that because your stuff is so damned awesome!!!

  3. 3 Allie July 5, 2007 at 11:07 am

    Linda, that is so exciting!! What a friend, and what a blessing.
    The bag in your latest photo is just gorgeous! Wow! I hope you sell many patterns at the shop🙂

  4. 4 Sue B July 5, 2007 at 11:35 am

    Linda that’s so terrific! You must be so excited. I hope you sell everything you bring🙂

  5. 5 Katie July 5, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    YAY!! So glad you found another outlet for selling your patterns!!

    It’s so nice to have good friends!!

  6. 6 lera July 5, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    Woo-hoo! Congratulations, Linda. So glad your friend helped you out.

  7. 7 Monica July 5, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    Fantastic news!!!

    Good for you (and thanks to your friend too)

  8. 8 Cathy July 5, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    You deserve the promotion! I’m glad you have a friend that will talk you up. Good luck with the trunk show!

  9. 9 Brynne July 5, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    Congratulations! Your patterns have a wide appeal and I’m sure they’ll do so well in a shop!

  10. 10 missharleyquinn July 5, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    Congrats on the trunk show. I don’t know what one his either, but until last summer I also didn’t know what a beer garden was…I pictured a backyard with beer cans and bottles arranged like garden plots! Tis sad to be blonde, but almost always amusing.🙂

  11. 11 Randi July 5, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    This is a great friend, Linda! Your patterns are very high quality and it is great that you have someone to promote them for you!

  12. 12 Pieces July 5, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    What a great friend! You deserve it–your patterns look fabulous!

  13. 13 teresa July 5, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    I’m so glad you talked to the owner! I’m sure your patterns well just fly out of the store!

  14. 14 Carla July 5, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    It’s so awesome to have a great friend like that. I have a few of those myself. I always look at your blog. You are so talented. I’m sure you’ll sell loads of patterns, and work with that store for years. Good luck. Love that purse, and the fabrics you used!

  15. 15 twolimeleaves July 5, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    That’s fabulous news! I have relied on friends like Yvonne🙂 How wonderful they are!

  16. 16 Shelly July 5, 2007 at 7:09 pm

    How great!!! That Yvonne is such a sweetie. The bag looks great. I can’t wait to get my hands on some of that new fabric. You’re lucky to have a great fabric shop like that close at hand…

  17. 17 Beth July 5, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    Congratulations! Your success is terrific! And I love the new bag, too. Great fabric!

  18. 18 Sandy July 5, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    Hooray for you & hooray for your friend. I have a good friend or two like that. Beautiful bag. Pattern sales AND a trunk show! Lucky you : )

  19. 19 Lucy Locket July 6, 2007 at 2:07 am

    That’s great – I’m so glad your friend promoted you so successfully!

  20. 20 Rachel July 6, 2007 at 2:38 am

    Congratulations on the trunk show! I’m sure your patterns will sell like hotcakes. How wonderful it is to have such good friends who look out for you!

    The new bag is so pretty. I love the Nigella fabric.

  21. 21 Kimberly July 6, 2007 at 6:23 am

    It sounds like the two of you are both wonderful and very deserving of each other. 🙂 I wish I could be there to push you, you know I would. Keep it up and that’s a gorgeous bag.

  22. 22 Hilari July 6, 2007 at 11:05 am

    Woo hoo!! Congratulations on the trunk show!!! And yay to good friends!!!

    Wishing you big time success the likes of which you can’t even imagine!!!

  23. 23 Karen July 6, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    Wow! That is so wonderful!!!

    I’m still getting up the courage to do that diaper bag. 🙂

  24. 25 Fiona July 6, 2007 at 5:56 pm

    Congratulations, We all need great friends. I too have one that would do something like that for me. I’ll keep my eye on your blog for how the “Truck Show” goes. Love the fabrics and pattern of that bag.

  25. 26 Heather July 6, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    Wow, your own trunk show? Awesome! A great friend indeed. I would need a push too. I love how the bag turned out, beautiful fabric choices as always.

  26. 27 Rachael/Tinkerblue July 6, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    Congratulations. Yvonne is an awesome friend. Love the new fabric.

  27. 28 mommiemarzie July 7, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    How cool is that? You have a great friend. Your patterns are awesome and you should promote them! I hope the trunk show goes well.

  28. 29 Sharon July 8, 2007 at 11:07 am

    Isn’t it wonderful to have great friends like that? Congratulations.

  29. 30 Debbie July 8, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    Congratulations, Linda!!!

    I’m sure your patterns will be a big hit on the local market, especially with a Trunk Show!

  30. 31 beki July 8, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    How lucky you are to have such a good friend! Congrats, Linda on your pattern sale😉

  31. 32 katie July 10, 2007 at 8:42 am

    That is fanTAStic, Linda! I am so glad you have this opportunity. You deserve it, and your patterns will really do well. Wow, a Craft Apple Creations trunk show!

  32. 33 Chara Michele July 11, 2007 at 10:26 am

    Congratulations! That is a great friend:)

  33. 34 Amy July 12, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    That’s so awesome! I need a friend like that! Isn’t it hard to promote oneself? Well, maybe not for some people, but it sure is for me!
    Congratulations!

  34. 35 Shannon July 29, 2007 at 8:48 am

    Love this posting it made me want to call my best friend and say thank you for all she does!! Please post a picture or two of your trunk show:) Congratulations.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives