A little birthday gift.

I made this little fabric envelope as a birthday gift for a 10 year old.  It was a last minute thing for a girl that I don’t know too well, but I think it’s something I would have liked when I was that age. 

fabric-envelope1.jpg

Inside is a couple pads of scrapbooking paper and some scrappy stickers.

fabric-envelope2.jpg

And you know the best thing about this?  Iron-on velcro.  It’s a great thing when you want a quick way to attach velcro.  I only just discovered it recently – a brilliant invention, Velcro people.

And some other news:  I feel really blessed to have fallen into the position of recieving Michael Miller fabric to play with and give feedback on.  It’s very exciting for me!  So you’ll be seeing lots of Michael Miller around here in the days ahead. 

23 Responses to “A little birthday gift.”


  1. 1 Shelly July 14, 2007 at 10:26 am

    I have some of the iron on velcro that I’m planning to use on my next drawing kit. I actually bought it for something else, but didn’t use it.

    I love Michael Miller. I just finished a Frenchy bag in some MM this morning. You are so blessed!!!

  2. 2 Ashley July 14, 2007 at 10:34 am

    That is a GREAT gift! I’d love it now, and I’m not even 10!

  3. 3 Dena July 14, 2007 at 10:47 am

    I loved things like that when I was little. How exciting about the MM fabric.I purchased your diaper bag pattern about a month ago and I’m still trying to find time to make it! Can’t wait to see what you do with the MM stuff!!

  4. 4 craftaddictconfessional July 14, 2007 at 11:38 am

    That’s a really great gift. I know quite a few folks who’d love something like that. Way cool about the MM fabric! Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  5. 5 lera July 14, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    I love that idea of the envelope containing crafty stuff. One of my boys is invited to a girl’s birthday party next Saturday and the mother said she likes arts and crafts. Something like this would be great. Then again, almost everything you make would be great.

  6. 6 Stacy July 14, 2007 at 12:34 pm

    I recently bought some iron on velcro myself and am in love with it! I also like the idea that it gets stronger as you wash it! Can’t wait to see what you do with your MM fabrics – I just love their designs. Beautful gift, by the way!

  7. 7 capello July 14, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    very cute. i too, would have loved that. still would.

    i heart velcro. but iron on? really? iron on? i’ll have to be checking that out.

  8. 8 Vcki W July 14, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    What a great little gift idea!

  9. 9 Sue B July 14, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    Great gift idea, she’ll love it. Lucky you getting some MM fabric to play with. I look forward to seeing what you do with it.

  10. 10 kirsten July 14, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    i think that was an excellent gift! i’m sure it’ll be loved.

    and…michael miller…. to play….. with?!

    gasp!

  11. 11 Pieces July 14, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    Lucky! Both you and the recipient of the envelope.

  12. 12 Beth July 14, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    I think it’s a lovely gift!

  13. 13 Joy July 14, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    What a great gift idea.. I have a couple granddaughters that would love that.. ohhh and what fun… I love Michael Miller fabrics.

  14. 14 Sarah July 14, 2007 at 6:37 pm

    If the 10 year old is anything like my 10 year old – she’ll love it.

  15. 15 Fiona July 14, 2007 at 6:42 pm

    Ooooo a lovely gift for a 10 year old and when you don’t know her very well, yes this is ideal. Can’t wait to hear more about the Michael Miller fabrics.

  16. 16 katie July 14, 2007 at 8:03 pm

    Cute, cute, Linda! That’s a really creative gift idea. And wow, MM fabric to play with? Great!

  17. 17 Jackie Lawrence July 16, 2007 at 6:09 am

    I’m sure she loved it. I know I would have at that age.
    Iron-on velcro huh, well I’ll have to check that out.🙂

  18. 18 beki July 16, 2007 at 7:50 am

    What? Iron-on velcro? This could change my world.

  19. 19 Debbie July 16, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    So pretty. I *love* those fabrics.

    Thanks for sharing your clever idea using Excel.

  20. 20 randomrevelations July 17, 2007 at 1:21 am

    gotta love that velcro!! the rug turned out great! everything you do usually does.

  21. 21 Karen July 17, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    Oh, that is such a sweet idea!

    Stark raving envy on the Michael Miller score!!! He and Alexander Henry are my favs. Can’t wait to see what you produce!

  22. 22 Chara Michele July 17, 2007 at 2:19 pm

    That is a lovely present!

    Oh I can’t wait to see what you make with the Michael Miller fabric!

  23. 23 Melanie July 31, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    What am awesome gift!! You just amaze me! Hmmmm…is that some K&Company product I see there! He-he-he!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives