A Quilted Patchwork Rug

I know, I know, the quilted rug fad came and went.  I am soooo last year.

rug-mmsweethome-s.jpg

I don’t have the famously famous Machine Made Patchworks that I believe landed this idea in blogland, but I constructed it by creating a casing (with overlapping flaps in the back) for a $3 clearanced kitchen rug from Target.  The patchwork is quilted to a layer of fusible fleece.

rug1-s.jpg

I’m not much of a quilt designer, but when I’m trying to come up with squares & rectangles to cover an area, I usually get on Excel, make all the cells squares and design and arrange squares to fit my space.  Btw, this is Micheal Miller’s  Sweet Home, Garden Glory, and Mending Madness.  It’s a heavy-weight cotton that’s perfect for a rug.

25 Responses to “A Quilted Patchwork Rug”


  1. 1 Sue B July 15, 2007 at 2:59 am

    I am loving those fabrics!

  2. 2 Beth July 15, 2007 at 6:54 am

    That’s a fun rug! The colors are great in those fabrics. I think the gardening fabric is especially cute.

  3. 3 Sharon July 15, 2007 at 8:21 am

    I’ve never heard of this before. I love this idea but I especially love those fabrics!

  4. 4 Mary July 15, 2007 at 8:57 am

    Great fabrics for the rug! And I love the way you pieced them together.

  5. 5 stacy July 15, 2007 at 9:04 am

    Actually, I saw a book that’s coming out this year on making fabric rugs and I decided that I really need that book! LOL. I love your new rug, that fabric is fantastic!

  6. 6 Cindi July 15, 2007 at 10:56 am

    I love that fabric! You have such a great eye for fabric. If fabric rugs are last year then I am really behind because I have been meaning to make a few and still have done it!

  7. 7 YUMMERS! July 15, 2007 at 11:10 am

    Hi, I just discovered your site last night and am sooooo glad I did. I stayed up VERY late and read all of your posts. You have me so inspired!! I love the tutorials as I am just returning to sewing after many years away… new machine, fabric supply, etc. My problem is that I don’t know what to make first.
    Joni

  8. 8 missharleyquinn July 15, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    I love the quilt rug. Great job. 🙂

  9. 9 katie July 15, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    That’s a super cute floor mat, Linda! I have played with the idea of a patchwork floor mat in my mind since last year, too. Seems everyone had a “corner of their home” showcasing one. But so far I haven’t seen any fabrics which fit my kitchen floor scheme.

    But as soon as I said that, I thought, why just the kitchen? We’re getting ready to redo Addie’s room…a patchwork floor mat might be neat on her floor! Hmmm…the list of to-dos just gets longer and longer.

  10. 10 Monica July 15, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    gorgeous fabric and fab idea as usual.

    Would it be washable? My kitchen rug is in the washing machine at least once a week!!

    Did I say the fabric is wonderful? does it come in other color ways?

  11. 11 lera July 15, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    Very fun rug. You are clever to use the clearance rug for the middle.

  12. 12 ddamboise July 15, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    Well I think you’re hip and way cool. 🙂 Love it and the organized diagram.

  13. 13 capello July 15, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    me likey.

    and i totally need to figure out how to make one.

  14. 14 Kimi July 15, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    This is such a nice rug. I need to figure out how to make one too.

  15. 15 Karyn July 15, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    I love the fabrics you used Linda! What a super idea to cover a cheapo rug. I love it!

  16. 16 Shea July 15, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    I think that would be a perfect idea for my boys rooms!
    Thank you

  17. 17 Mique July 15, 2007 at 11:03 pm

    HOW CUTE- looks great and you would have never known that you got the $3 from Target…..

  18. 18 Jackie Lawrence July 16, 2007 at 6:08 am

    Linda,
    Great rug! Your so creative! I see you’ve been very busy. I finally got some sewing down and made a skirt yesterday. Felt so good. I’ve got several more in mind. Maybe I can get going again.
    Jackie

  19. 19 Cathy July 16, 2007 at 11:24 am

    I love your version of last year’s craze. I’m always behind the curve too but gosh those projects are still fun to do. I love those fabrics!

  20. 20 Holly July 16, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    I love that rug. Love that you made it a casing…it’ll be so easy to wash that way. How does that fabric feel underfoot? I like the idea of making my own rugs and floor mats, but I’ve been afraid that most fabric would feel flimsy to walk on.

  21. 21 Lauren July 17, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    Is it actually quilted like a quilt with batting and anything else that goes on with quilting? Or is it more of patchwork cover? Obviously I missed this craze as well but I LOVE IT!

  22. 22 Chara Michele July 17, 2007 at 2:20 pm

    Such a great rug! I never tried this craze when it was around either…

  23. 23 Amy July 17, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    Great idea! We have a rug that looks bad. Guess I need to make a trip to the sewing room stash to find some fabrics. Thanks for sharing.

  24. 24 Gina July 25, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    Very nice. Everyone need a rug this cute, no matter what year it is.

  25. 25 Melanie July 31, 2007 at 4:46 pm

    Oh my gosh!! The fabrics are ADORABLE!!!! And you quilting looks perfect!! You are soooo talented!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives