Feelin’ Groovy

groovybag.jpg

It’s finished!  Thanks for your encouragement, crafty friends!  For the record, I had been sewing with Tim sewn to the fabric and cut 5/8 of an inch smaller all around.  I wrestled and wrestled with Tim, trying to beat him into submission, but in the end, Tim proved to be stronger than I and an important lesson was learned:  If possible, put Tim in at the very end of a project, because that’s what he really wants anyway, and trying to wrestle with him is a losing battle.

groovy-bag-3.jpg

So I got my curved bottom, side panel that’s shorter than the exterior, spiral sewing on the side panel and handles that attach to the outside.  What it really needs is a zipper closure at the top, but that is something for another day, or it may be one of those things that I never get back to.  It felt good to try something new, to struggle with the process, and share the frustrations and success with you!

Fabric is Michael Miller Feeling Groovy and Garden Pindot.

49 Responses to “Feelin’ Groovy”


  1. 1 Nubiancraftster July 19, 2007 at 10:13 am

    ohhh the fabrics are lovely. But the first picture isn’t coming up. I hope you get around the zipper because it looks like it would be a fab bag!

  2. 2 katie July 19, 2007 at 10:33 am

    Soooo groovy! I love it! The fabrics are great and you persevered. (BTW, when do you do your sewing? I have a hard time finding the time to do it, myself. Either I have to bribe DJ with a computer game while AJ is napping, or I have to wait till the weekend when hubby can take over for an hour or so.)

  3. 3 Susan July 19, 2007 at 10:54 am

    Oh it is beautiful. I don’t have the tenacity to keep on with those kind of projects. Well done in figuring it out. I have no idea what Tim is.
    Susan

  4. 4 Marla July 19, 2007 at 10:58 am

    It’s gorgeous!!!!

  5. 5 Karyn July 19, 2007 at 11:07 am

    I’m sure you already know this but all your struggling was completely worth it Linda! It’s so unique, I love it!

  6. 6 Sue B July 19, 2007 at 11:12 am

    Love this bag Linda – great shape and I think having the side panels just a little bit shorter is a great design element – nicely done!

  7. 7 southerngirlmusings July 19, 2007 at 12:11 pm

    It is quite delicious looking and I am so glad that you kept at it. 🙂

  8. 8 Elaine July 19, 2007 at 12:26 pm

    Wow! The purse looks great! I love the round edges.

  9. 9 lera July 19, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    Whoa! That’s a mighty fine bag, Linda. Love all the curves.

  10. 10 beki July 19, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    Good job, Linda! I can’t even fathom how you did that.

  11. 11 teresa July 19, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    I love your bag! I just think you are so talented to be able to do this stuff. Your sewing is an inspiration to me; keep it up.

  12. 13 Yvonne July 19, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    Love, love, love it! If you feel like tackling another one, I want one just like it! I will pay you too…in swedish fish or something!😉

  13. 14 Vcki W July 19, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    It turned out great and I LOVE that fabric!

  14. 15 Sara July 19, 2007 at 4:07 pm

    The Victory is Yours!!!!

  15. 16 craftaddictconfessional July 19, 2007 at 4:54 pm

    GORGEOUS! I love it! You’ve taken on Tim and won!

  16. 17 Denise July 19, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    Very nice Linda, good for you for sticking with it. I love purple and green. I am not sure I agree with you on the zipper closure for the top. The curved shaped pulls the sides together enough that a zipper might not be needed. I like the idea of being able to feel around in the curved bottom freely. Would a magnetic snap at the center do it?

  17. 18 Sugarshop July 19, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    Fun!This bag looks great linda.Look forward to peeking at all you do!!!

  18. 19 Beth July 19, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    What a difference! I really liked the bag you showed yesterday, but this one looks even better! I’m glad you stuck with your vision because it’s a great purse!

  19. 20 Ashley July 19, 2007 at 7:36 pm

    Well, it may have been a struggle, but it was definitely worth it! That is a super-cute bag.

  20. 21 Cyndie July 19, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    Great job! I love the curve- it really adds character! The detail on your strap attachment adds 100% too!

  21. 23 Cathy July 20, 2007 at 8:18 am

    It’s a very cute bag… but I’m not so sure about Tim. He seems like a difficult and testy kinda craftsman. I hope working with Tim gets easier over time.

  22. 24 cindy July 20, 2007 at 10:03 am

    That is TOTALLY groovy! Love the fabrics and you did a wonderful job!!🙂

  23. 25 Dana July 20, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    Groovy! Great job!

  24. 26 Shea July 21, 2007 at 7:53 am

    You certainly made a wonderful bag
    well worth the effort
    I love it!!
    The spiral stitching really draws me to the bag🙂

  25. 27 Pieces July 21, 2007 at 11:28 am

    Wow, it turned out great! I really appreciate you showing all the trouble it took to get the bag the way you wanted it. It makes me feel better about the things I do that turn out nothing like I envisioned. It is easy to look at talented people (like you!) and think everything they touch is golden and easy and turns out the first time.

  26. 28 Debbie July 21, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Finished product — perfect!!

    I love the fabrics and your use of them. The circular quilting on the side panels really gives it a “completed and together” look.

    Congratulations on winning the battle. Don’t you love it when you achieve success – especially after a long, hard battle.

  27. 29 Dee Light July 21, 2007 at 6:04 pm

    Oh, I just love it!!!

  28. 30 Bonnie July 22, 2007 at 6:27 am

    That is an awesome bag! I adore the fabric. And the curved bottom looks wonderful. You really persevered to make this one perfect – good job!

  29. 31 Amy July 22, 2007 at 9:52 am

    Looking at that makes me wish I could sew. A friend tried to teach me but I was all thumbs.
    Great job.
    ~Amy

  30. 32 Tinkerblue July 22, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    It looks great. I don’t remember seeing a curved bottom like that very often. I like the colour combination and the graphics on the fabric.

  31. 33 Tamara July 23, 2007 at 6:58 pm

    The rounded bottom is awesome. It really makes the already great bag even better. Kudos for your determination to get it just right! The zipper would be terrific. You’re creations are fantastic. Thanks for sharing.

  32. 34 Tracy July 24, 2007 at 9:56 am

    Hello, my first visit here..via Karyn at Trail Mix. You have a great blog! And being a handbag lover as well as a handbag maker, I just LOVE your Groovy bag! It is fun, great shape and super fabrics! Well done! :o)

  33. 35 Monica July 24, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    beautiful handbag! will you write a tutorial on how to use that beasty stuff?

  34. 36 Chara Michele July 24, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    Wow it turned out amazing! Definitely looks like it was worth the time!

  35. 37 Katherine July 24, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    now THAT is one cool bag!🙂

  36. 38 deb July 25, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    Great song and great bag.

  37. 39 judicreations July 25, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    The fabric is wonderful! The bag looks great. I don’t quite get how that Tim stuff works but it looks like you have definately mastered him! Great purse.

  38. 40 quenna July 25, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    Thank you for sharing about Tim (he’s not so tiny)…he scares me! I love the quilting detailing on the sides — great job again!

  39. 41 DML July 27, 2007 at 10:03 am

    Great bag. I think that your sewing is wonderful. I’m planning on making my first bag attempt soon – even found the material – but I’m busy procrastinating. I haven’t been having much joy finding the handles and fasteners that I have been imagining, either. I get the feeling that I’m setting myself up for inevitable disappointment by having such specific ideas for my first try…

  40. 42 Judi S. July 27, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    I have a bag that I love (that I paid waaaayyyy too much for) that is similar to your latest “groovy” creation. You did a fabulous job! Is there a pattern in the future???

  41. 43 blop July 27, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    Great job, I looove it. I love using Tim, he is such an unruly child but the halo comes out at the end, so worth it!
    Now I am off to finish my apron ( I mean your pattern) for my little friends birhtday, her first sewing apron! Just got the updated patterns so gotta get it finished. Keep up the good work, it is paying off.

  42. 44 alisonmc July 28, 2007 at 5:51 pm

    The swirly quilting on the side panels really sets the whole thing off – well done! And it’s nice to meet Tim. I might see if I can get some Tim action of my own🙂

  43. 45 Melanie July 31, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    OH MY GOSH!!!!!!!!! I hadn’t checked your blog in ages! You have been a busy girl! I haven’t even made it past your last post yet either! The books look FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!! SOOOOOOOO neat! I love them!

  44. 46 Melanie July 31, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    Oops, i think I made my post above in the wrong spot! LOL! I came here to comment on the new bag and oops, there is my comment for the baby photo book! Anyway……this new groovy bag looks soooooo complicated to someone like me who does not sew! I can only imagine how difficult it was! You just amaze me!

  45. 47 Nancy July 31, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    Wow! What a truly great looking bags. I’ve made a couple of bags and they are a lot of work! I’ve been thinking I need a new bag, but I guess I don’t have the patience to make one right now. Can you send me yours? LOL!
    Nancy

  46. 48 Stephanie Halliday January 23, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    Could this be used as a diaper bag? Do you have a pattern for it? Thanks!

  47. 49 Stephanie Halliday January 23, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    I put in the wrong website url before. This is the correct one. I posted about whether this bag could be used as a diaper bag.

    Thanks for all your great ideas!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives