New Projects (for me anyway)

I’ve been trying a couple of new projects lately.  The first is for the next issue of Fibre&Stitch. The theme of this issue is “Books”.  I tried to get all creative and original which ended up causing a lot of stress, but in the end, turned out okay, I think.

photoalbums.jpg

This is a small photo album made entirely from scratch.  I had to dig around to find hard-copies of pictures to display.  Now that everything is digital, I rarely get pictures printed.

photo-album-3.jpg

 This one holds 6 pictures and would make a great brag book for Grandma. 

 The other thing I tried was a bolster pillow.

bolsters.jpg

This was pretty fun to figure out, although the finished product looks like a huge piece of candy.  Mmmmm.  The boys keep pretending to eat it and they love the shape.  I think it might be nice if Mommy made them a more boyish one, don’t you?  Bolsters are hugely pricey at JoAnn’s.  I went to a nearby decorating shop and got a smaller down-filled one.  Great size, great price, but wrong filler for me.  I gotta find me a better bolster supplier.

32 Responses to “New Projects (for me anyway)”


  1. 1 Shelly July 28, 2007 at 5:16 pm

    I love the fabric on the picture book…and the book turned out great, too.

    I thought of making a bolster pillow, I think that in my patterns, I have one where you actually make your own and fill it…I don’t know if that’s cheaper or not since I never actually got to that point in the project.

    You are so creative!

  2. 2 Mary July 28, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    Great projects! Love the Heather Ross fabric of the album and the yummy pink and brown bolster.

  3. 3 kirsten July 28, 2007 at 6:37 pm

    love those photo books so much! that fabric is so fun – would be perfect for vacation photos!

  4. 4 randomrevelations July 28, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    oh, that looks great! we used to have a vw bus when i was a kid, and wanted to grab that fabric so bad!! you’ll have to swap me a piece. not that there’s anything that i have that you don’t!!

  5. 5 cj July 28, 2007 at 8:20 pm

    Love your new projects!!!
    I rolled a thin pillow, stitched and covered as a bolster. Noone knew the difference…..LOL

    Happy stitchin’🙂

  6. 6 Mumzie July 28, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    Hi, Lindie! That is far better than “okay.” It is absolutely cute!

  7. 7 Beth July 28, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    Your projects look great! I know what you mean about an original creation being more stress. (Original projects take me more time, too.) But in the end, you have something wonderful that you made all by yourself. 🙂

  8. 8 Tracy July 29, 2007 at 5:58 am

    Super new projects–the album is wonderful, so cute. And the bolster is fab. Your boys would thrill to ones of their own to eat whenever they want! ;o) Happy Days!

  9. 10 Jessica July 29, 2007 at 9:32 am

    i want a big delicious candy pillow! so cute! and the album is too cool. nice job!

  10. 11 Karen July 29, 2007 at 10:39 am

    I adore that VW van fabric. I think I may just have to give in and order some after seeing it on an actual project.

    As usual, your finished work is DIVINE. You have a gift.

  11. 12 YUMMERS! July 29, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    I really like the book, but I LOVE the bolster pillow. I was looking for something to make my daughters this week and bolster pillows are perfect. They both have new homes.
    Thanks!
    Joni

    PS What is the name of the cute fabric and company? Do you think it’s still available?

  12. 13 Vicki W July 29, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    Both projects are great! Can’t wait to see your article in Fibre and Stitch

  13. 14 blop July 29, 2007 at 8:46 pm

    Love the projects, both are very adorable. Once I used an old package of batting(something poly) that I didn’t want(got it for a couple of dollars) and used that for the bolster. Worked great. Also used limp,soft pillows rolled tight and stitched(another 2.00 bargain for a pair) tight and it worked great too. In a pinch I have used old pillows that I had…no prob either. Good luck.

  14. 15 cindy July 29, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    Cute stuff! Those photo books are really cute! Oh, also, check Ross/TJMaxx/Marshalls for clearance bolsters, then cover them. They MIGHT be cheaper if you can find the right size.🙂

  15. 16 Quirk July 29, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    way to go–both of your creations look so wonderful. I love the idea of it as a brag book–but I also like the idea of keeping it for myself!! :):)

  16. 17 Carla July 29, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    LOVE your projects. I recognize and love the fabric. I want to buy some, but I hate to pay that much when I get the majority of my fabric from the thrift stores for pennies a yard! LOL!

  17. 18 Tinkerblue July 29, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    I love both the fabrics. The bolster looks like a big candy!

  18. 19 Shea July 30, 2007 at 8:53 am

    Cute stuff I really like the pillow its sharp🙂
    The brag book is darling
    I don’t think I could find a hard copy photo lol
    only school pics🙂

  19. 20 Dee Light July 30, 2007 at 9:12 am

    The photo album is soooo cute!!! And that bolster pillow is to die for!!!

  20. 21 lera July 30, 2007 at 10:27 am

    I love the brag book. What a great gift that would make.

    And I love that the pillow looks like candy and your boys are pretending to eat it! What a hoot!

  21. 22 Chara Michele July 30, 2007 at 11:46 am

    Both projects look wonderful!🙂

  22. 23 lizzie July 30, 2007 at 7:06 pm

    Hi, Linda! Glad to see you’ve been busy with your sewing creations. As usual, they are wonderful! I was sorry to miss you on Sunday and I hope you are all better today. Love, Lizzie

  23. 24 amy July 31, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    I happened to go into my favorite quilt shop (which I think is your favorite quilt shop) and I saw your pattern for the notebook/folio you designed. How exciting for you!! I hope it does well.

  24. 25 Jen July 31, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    What a great gift idea you have made, we could make books of all sizes. I think you should create a tutorial!!

  25. 26 jessicarawfood July 31, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    cute photo book…nice fabric.
    love the bolster pillow.
    i made a cover for my worn out neck pillow. soon i might have to make a new pillow. i sleep only with that, great for my neck. it has a filling of buckwheat hulls.

  26. 27 quenna August 1, 2007 at 12:42 am

    What a great idea…did you use vinyl for the picture windows (I haven’t printed a photo since 2004)?

    About the bolster — you could make your own by rolling up foam sheets. I made some lumber rolls that way, just make a little muslin case to help keep it’s shape.

  27. 28 sarah August 2, 2007 at 2:11 am

    I love your portfolios !!

  28. 29 M August 2, 2007 at 8:04 am

    That is so cute….I bet they will love it.

  29. 30 katie August 2, 2007 at 11:08 am

    The photo album is a cool idea, Linda!

  30. 31 Kimberly August 7, 2007 at 12:14 am

    I would gladly be your kids’ swim teacher!! Oh and don’t worry, I didn’t get any presents from my students last year. Not from one single student but then again I’m only teaching about 120 students several different subjects. Part-time teachers don’t get any credit.
    Those portfolios are so cute!!

  31. 32 Monica August 28, 2007 at 6:59 am

    lovely projects!! I love the photo album one especially!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives