Mini Padfolios — Mini Patchfolios

jump-s.jpg

Today is the last day of summer swim lessons.  I have been planning all along to give my boy’s swim teachers a handmade gift, but didn’t get it all done until early this morning, of course.  Last year I gave purses.  This year, feeling the time crunch, I made them mini patchfolios – (big enough to hold the small 8″ x 5″ legal pads). 

miniquiltedfolioss.jpg

I quilted the cover, but no fancy piecing and no schmancy closure.  I did play around with a new pencil pocket.  Not sure if I like it just yet.  It needs some tweaking. 

minifoliopocket-s.jpg

So Ms. Joy and Ms. Lauren are getting mini padfolios and a Starbucks gift card.  Mr. Mitch just gets a gift card.  Poor guy.  But unfortunately for him, I just can’t seem to crank out a manly gift.  Just can’t do it.  Even if I had any manly fabric, I’m pretty sure it would come out looking too cutesy for a guy.

I think we are the only family who brings gifts for the swim instructors.  The boys take lessons all year round (it’s an indoor pool), and the end of summer seems like a nice time to give them something.  Since we homeschool, the swim instructors and their Chinese teacher are the only outside teachers they have.  And of course nobody ever gets Mommy an end of the year gift.  Although now that I think about it, they really should.  Yeah.  My kid’s parents should get me a gift.

The pattern for the mini patchfolio is now available in my shop here.

42 Responses to “Mini Padfolios — Mini Patchfolios”


  1. 1 Ali August 2, 2007 at 2:08 am

    Yup, you deserve a little thank you present. Perhaps at the fabric shop. Oh yes.

  2. 2 Lucy Locket August 2, 2007 at 3:37 am

    I agree, you definitely deserve an end of year gift – get on to your kids’ parents and sort it out – don’t they appreciate you?????!

  3. 3 kerry August 2, 2007 at 4:58 am

    Your work is always so gorgeous, the fabric combinations are so yummy.
    Love seeing what is new in your corner of the world.
    Kerry

  4. 4 Karyn August 2, 2007 at 5:04 am

    Those are some super lucky swimming teachers!!! I like the smaller size padfolio. Pretty fabric too.

  5. 5 meg August 2, 2007 at 6:10 am

    Yeah, you’re going to need to talk to yourself about that: every teacher deserves a gift.

    I’m with you on the manly handcrafts. I haven’t mastered it (which is to say: I’ve never gotten past thinking about it.) The scope is so much more limited.

  6. 6 Vicki W August 2, 2007 at 7:04 am

    Maybe you could get some of that pin-up girl fabric and make him a pillowcase! But first someone needs to get busy and make you a gift!

  7. 7 Tracy August 2, 2007 at 7:44 am

    That small padfolio if great–anyone would love getting one of those! Crafting for men is sooo hard…I only dare make something for DH sometimes, for I know he really will like it, and not laugh too much! LOL! :o)

  8. 8 kirsten August 2, 2007 at 7:46 am

    i know what you mean about the gifts. we are big teacher-gift people, too – i think because we homeschool.

    and you guys take chinese? so jealous. my daughter really wants to learn that.

  9. 9 lera August 2, 2007 at 8:41 am

    Lucky, lucky swim instructors to get such a beautiful AND useful gift. You never cease to amaze me, Linda.

  10. 10 Lisa August 2, 2007 at 8:43 am

    Yep Mommy definitely deserves a nice present, like the kids playing quietly buy themselves for a couple of hours, or breakfast in bed for a week…

    Love the padfolios.

    If you have a few spare moments and it’s you’re kinda thing you’ve been tagged here http://u-handbag.typepad.com/uhandblog/2007/08/8-im-it.html

    Hope you can play!

    Lisa X

  11. 11 Becky August 2, 2007 at 9:12 am

    I am delurking to say that a gift for the swim instructors is a great idea! And perfectly chosen for them. I am a former teacher. And a lovely gift at some point in my year was always appreciated. I enjoy your blog and the ideas that I get for crafts. Thanks!

  12. 12 southerngirlmusings August 2, 2007 at 9:21 am

    The padfolios are cute! When you figure out how to get your gift, pass on the secret. 🙂

  13. 13 Elaine August 2, 2007 at 9:48 am

    I like the way you did the mini padfolio with the pen pocket at a slant. I also like the photo album.

  14. 15 Mymsie August 2, 2007 at 10:33 am

    Where did you get the pattern for this or did you make it up yourself? Very cute!!

  15. 16 Pieces August 2, 2007 at 11:04 am

    Love the padfolios! I want to make some too!

  16. 17 katie August 2, 2007 at 11:11 am

    Love the padfolios, Linda! The fabric combos are so smart.

  17. 18 Beth August 2, 2007 at 11:15 am

    Those are perfect gifts for any kind of teacher! And I agree that you deserve a gift or two. Maybe you should put Teacher Appreciation Day on the calendar. 🙂

  18. 19 Jenny August 2, 2007 at 11:19 am

    I am also delurking to say that I would love a pattern for the mini-pad folios!! Do you plan to do one for that? Or, If I buy the larger pattern, could I just ‘scale it down’ from that one?

  19. 20 Elizabeth August 2, 2007 at 11:19 am

    I agree with a gift for you: a trip to the quilt shop!
    Those little padfolios are so cute and I love that pink fabric. Any teacher would be proud to receive one.

  20. 21 c. Jensen August 2, 2007 at 12:12 pm

    Very cute! Seems like you have the energy of 5 women…what’s your secret!?!?🙂 I’m sure the swimming teachers love your thoughtfulness!

  21. 22 randomrevelations August 2, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    I agree! I’ll start making my wish list now. But who’s gonna tell the guys? I love the fabric that you used. I know what you mean about manly gifts. I’m racking my brain and tearing up my fabric stash looking for suitable fabric for Dave’s quilt. You’d be amazed at how much I’ve come up with, surprisingly, alot of Amy Butler. See you Saturday!!!

  22. 23 Katie August 2, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    So kind of you to think of your children’s teachers!! I’m sure they are blessed by you!!

    Come by this week, I’m doing a give-a-way!!

    http://mrsmksmusings.blogspot.com/2007/08/first-give-way.html

  23. 24 Chara Michele August 2, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    I agree, your kid’s parents really should be giving you a gift at end of year:)

  24. 25 Cindi August 2, 2007 at 5:38 pm

    I love those mini padfolios! They are darling. I always give a card or gift to my children’s coachs, outside teachers, etc. I have a friend who is wonderful at this and she gives little gifts no matter what you help her with. I gave her and her children a ride to the airport yesterday because her husband was out of town and she gifted me with a plate of peanut butter cookies and a small yankee candle (tea light size). I can’t seem to get it together to go that far!

  25. 26 Carla August 3, 2007 at 1:52 am

    Beautiful as always! Such a cute idea to tuck a gift card inside of them!

  26. 27 Debbie August 3, 2007 at 5:56 am

    Those mini padfolios are the cutest.

    They would make great gifts during the holidays for those people that you need just a little “thinking of you” gift.

    so thoughtful of you to always remember the swimming teachers, and with such nice gifts!

  27. 28 cindy August 3, 2007 at 8:40 am

    That turned out really cute. I love “mini: anything! Small is fun.🙂

  28. 29 sari August 3, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    i LOVE this mini padfolio…. perhaps because i love anything small. especially if its small and pink and green. will there be a pattern available for this one?

  29. 30 Torrie August 3, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    I know just what you mean about teacher gifts! Since my dogs are my kids I always get the dog trainers gifts at the end of a session of training class. Sometimes the other students in the class look at me like I am a little nutty when I bring in pretty wrapped gifts from Lily and Malcolm. Oh well!

  30. 31 Kimi August 3, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    Yes. You should definitely get an end of year gift from your kids’ parents.

    The mini padfolio is great! I want one! (Many of my students gave me Starbucks gift cards last Christmas, and I really appreciated them. It’s a nice idea for a treat almost anyone can use. I actually don’t drink coffee, but still like it).

  31. 32 YUMMERS! August 5, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    That is so great to think of the swimming teachers. You are a very thoughtful person. I relly like the idea of a Starbucks card. Who wouldn’t use that?!! My daughters get one in their Christmas stocking, instead of an Easter basket, etc.
    Joni

  32. 33 judicreations August 5, 2007 at 3:48 pm

    Thats such a great idea…the portfolio WITH a gift card. The colours you have used for this portfolio as well a the larger on you make are so nice.

    Did you check out my site to see what happened when I tried to make my first portfolio…ended up with an entirely different project in the end.

    I am going to give it another try….

  33. 34 Fiona August 5, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    I think it is a lovely idea as you say, they don’t have school teachers to spoil. I’m sure the male teacher wouldn’t appreciate your handmade gift like a female teacher would even if you found something manly.

  34. 35 alisonmc August 5, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    I so know what you mean about man crafting (crafting for men rather than crafting actual men). It’s just so difficult – all I’ve been able to come up with are gloves, bookmarks and suede book covers. Although in this part of the world we have ‘stubbie holders’ which are generally made of wetsuit material and go around your bottle/can of beer to keep it cold. The day I make a stubbie holder is the day I will quit crafting forever!

  35. 36 Kristin Baxter August 7, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    The mini padfolios are adorable! They would make perfect “back to school” gifts!

  36. 37 Jenny August 8, 2007 at 10:36 am

    Linda I think you are super awesome and I have awarded you the Creative Blogger Award! You are so inspiring to me🙂 Come see my blog to steal the button and receive your kudos!

  37. 38 marta August 8, 2007 at 3:52 pm

    ooh, i love this blog. what clever crafts you are creating over here. am happy to land upon it. keep up the great work. i adore your WASH letters and want some of my own. thanks for the tutorial.

  38. 39 Dee Light August 9, 2007 at 8:03 am

    I adore the fabric combination!!! Just wonderful!!! Oh, and I loved that action shot at the pool!!!

  39. 40 deborah nicholas August 9, 2007 at 6:04 pm

    your work is gorgeous and that fabric is beautiful!

  40. 41 Tracy August 10, 2007 at 6:35 am

    That fabric is delicious! Great projects with attention to little details–fantastic…I’m especially smitten with that seamtress’s apron! Happy weekend to you & yours! :o)

  41. 42 Kathy January 7, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    Hello.
    I love the padfolio that you made in this entry. Did you use a pattern, or did you make this yourself? I would love to see a tutorial for this.

    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives