Dandy Damask

This is one of the fabrics from Michael Miller that I’ve been sewing with lately. It’s a heavyweight cotton oxford that just says classy to me.  It’s called Dandy Damask.  I’ve seen it in a quilt-weight cotton at my quilt shop as well.  First up, a wall pocket.

wallpocketdandydamask2s.jpg

Some dandy office accessories.  Modpodged, of course. 🙂

offices.jpg

Next up, a Seamstress Apron.

dandy-damask-sa-s.jpg

And lastly, a diaper bag.

The Diaper Bag by Craft Apple

I didn’t anticipate how totally different this bag looks with all one fabric.  But the big prints are great for centering on this bag.  I also have started sewing lines on my straps.  It gives them more texture, or umph or something. 

 diaper-bag-dandy-damask.jpg

A few people have asked if the diaper bag pattern would be good for a beginner.  The answer is, I don’t really know.  It certainly isn’t rocket science, but there are a lot of pieces to keep track of.  One customer thanked me for a bag that she was able to whip up in one evening.  I was in awe.  This bag consistently takes me 4 hours at least – longer if I have children running around.  Any thoughts from those of you who have made it?

24 Responses to “Dandy Damask”


  1. 1 Ali August 9, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    Like the textured handle thing.

  2. 2 Karyn August 9, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    I love that fabric and it looks great in each project!!

    I like the modpodged desk set. Very much.🙂

  3. 3 Ana August 9, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    I like the sewing apron, tonight I am going to make one. That is exactly what I have been looking for, thanks for sharing. I love your work.

  4. 4 Melissa August 9, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    I love the bag! Everything looks great!

  5. 5 Stefanie August 9, 2007 at 6:42 pm

    I love that fabric too! I love the office supply idea, I am off to find my mod podge!

  6. 6 Karen August 9, 2007 at 6:55 pm

    One of my favorite prints right now too. I love it on the diaper bag. That fabulous diaper bag. I’m looking forward to seeing what others say about making it.

  7. 7 Jody August 9, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    Beautiful. Just bought the diaper bag pattern … can’t wait to try it!

  8. 8 Vintage-at-Heart August 9, 2007 at 7:15 pm

    I love this fabric and the projects look great. What a great idea for the handle. It the details that set you apart.

  9. 9 Shelly August 9, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    Hi Linda,

    I love the fabric and all the projects. Still need to find that Modge Podge stuff, though. I’ve been telling myself I need to sew more lines on my handles, too – although I always forget until after the project is over.

    I would say that a new sewer might want to try to either make a simpler handbag or another project using a pattern that is a little less complex. The pattern is written well enough for anyone to use. Having been fairly new to handbags and patterns when I sewed my first one, I know that having a little previous experience made it lots easier because you’re right, it is a lot of pieces. Of course, I also had a finished bag in hand, so that helped me out a lot.

    Blessings to you!

  10. 10 Vicki W August 9, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    That is a really pretty fabric and I love everything you made with it! The desk accessories are very cool!

  11. 11 Beth August 9, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    Your projects are all beautiful! I’ve been resisting buying new fabric, but you’re making that hard to do! 🙂

  12. 12 craftaddictconfessional August 9, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    That’s one of my current favorite fabrics. I have it in white on black and just love how it looks.

  13. 14 Tinkerblue August 10, 2007 at 12:15 am

    I like the diaper bag in one fabric. I have a pregnant friend, and was waiting to find out the sex of the baby before I made her some gifts. But I can make a diaper bag, and colour it to her tastes. Baby boy but a pink and chocolate brown diaper bag would work right. My friend is mad about pink.

  14. 15 Jessica August 10, 2007 at 7:21 am

    fabulous creations! love that fabric.

  15. 16 Nikki August 10, 2007 at 7:35 am

    From an office supply junkie, I love those accessories!

  16. 17 lera August 10, 2007 at 8:13 am

    That is great fabric. You’ve used it so nicely in a variety of projects. (I like the sewn lines on the straps. Great detailing.)

  17. 18 Katie August 10, 2007 at 8:27 am

    Love the diaper bag in that fabric!! And the seams down the handle—fabulous!!!

  18. 19 cindy August 10, 2007 at 8:28 am

    Very Dandy! I DO like the lines in the handle. I’ve done small bags with and without the lines and I like the lines better. It really does give them a little something extra!🙂 Also loving the other projects you did. Wow, I need to get into my sewing room!

  19. 20 Katie August 10, 2007 at 8:36 am

    I love the modpodge stuff! I’ll have to try it sometime. I haven’t made your diaper bag, but I would say it would take me a while. But maybe four hours is “an evening” to that particular customer.

  20. 21 Quirk August 10, 2007 at 8:48 am

    Is it bad that I dont know what MODPODGED is? Regardless–I love it all! SO CUTE!

  21. 22 Chara Michele August 10, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    I love that fabric, it looks great made into your diaper bag pattern!🙂

  22. 23 Melissa August 10, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    I have a lot of trouble with embellishments too. I am working on it though. Next on my list of things to learn is embroidery so we will see how it goes.

  23. 24 Fiona August 14, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    Love this fabric and everything you’ve made with it. Looks great.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives