The Guilty Blogger

guilty-blogger.jpg

Yep, that’s me – a guilty blogger.  Why am I guilty?  Because I don’t participate in tags.  Okay, I admit it – tags make me nervous.  I’m flattered, of course, but I freeze.  FREEZE. 

Jenny tagged me

Thanks, Jenny!  That is very sweet!  While I love being creative, I think people might be surprised at how influencable I am.  Case in point:  When I go to the fabric store with my friend Cindy, I’ll look at 2 fabrics and say, “I don’t think these two fabrics go together.”  She’ll say, “I think they do.”  and all of a sudden, I’m thinking, “Yeah, they really, really do.”

Ashley tagged me for

rockin_girl_blogger.jpg

Thanks, Ashley, for the nod.  :)  It means a lot coming from an amazing knitter and seamstress like yourself.  Most of the time I feel like a tired-girl blogger, but your award makes me feel like a rockstar. 

And Lisa tagged me for the meme of 8s.

So here’s my 8:

1. I didn’t grow up in Texas.

2. We moved here 8 years ago,

3. after we were married

4. and hubby got a job offer here.

5. Hubby grew up in Texas

6. and has a slight Texas accent.

7.  I do not have a Texas accent,

8. yet heard myself using the term “y’all” with my kids yesterday.

And for something crafty?  I finished a scrapper apron this week.  I’ve been waiting for my dress form to arrive so I could take a picture and the dress form finally came yesterday!  I’ve been looking for a fabric-covered dress form that didn’t have all the adjustable cracks in it.  I’m usually not one to talk about where I buy stuff, but I know y’all will be curious.  And since curiosity killed all them cats over in yonder Hicks county, I got the dress form from PB Teen.  It’s slightly smaller than me, but is for picture-takin’ and display purposes, so it’s perfect. 

scrapper-apron.jpg

 This apron is for Melanie, and she strongly encouraged me to embellish this apron. 

Embellishing is a weak area for me, so I tried REALLY hard…

scrapper-apron2.jpg

…some pompoms, appliqued circles, and buttons… 

scrapper-apron3.jpg

On it’s way to you today, Melanie!

17 Responses to “The Guilty Blogger”


  1. 1 Katie August 10, 2007 at 10:10 am

    That is the cutest apron ever! And I love the model.

  2. 2 Spring August 10, 2007 at 10:12 am

    We moved to Texas almost ten years ago and I still won’t say y’all, despite my husband’s insistance that’s it’s a real word (he’s also From Here – no accent).

    *sigh* I do love it here though. Even with all the y’alls.

  3. 3 Jessica August 10, 2007 at 10:56 am

    did i know you live in texas!? i can’t recall. i live in arlington…so howdy!🙂

  4. 5 Sue B August 10, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    Loving that apron! I think you did a great job with the embellishments and I really like the fabrics you used for it.

  5. 6 Alisa August 10, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    Great job on the apron! Seeing the amazing aprons on blogs is inspiring me – I’m coming up with ideas.

  6. 7 Beth August 10, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    How cute is that apron? I know what you mean about getting tagged – it makes me a bit nervous. 🙂

  7. 8 Denise August 11, 2007 at 8:36 am

    Nice job on the apron, I love the placement of the large flower. Pushing yourself to try more embellishment is great. The embellishment turns a “working” garment into a time to have fun one!

    Have you though about incorporating a mini pin cushion into this apron? A place to quickly put the stray pin or two? Maybe up by the top? Just a thought.

  8. 9 craftaddictconfessional August 11, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    Great apron! Love the dress form, too.

  9. 10 Dee Light August 11, 2007 at 7:24 pm

    I love the apron!!!

    I also love the guily blogger award. I’ve been feeling guilty for weeks because I didn’t partisipate when I was tagged several weeks ago. Atleast I’m not alone.

  10. 11 Gina August 12, 2007 at 3:46 am

    Oh my goodness, the apron is incredible!

  11. 12 Melanie August 12, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    OH MY GOSH!!!!!!!!!!! I LOOOOOVE IT!!!!!!!!! You SOOOOO nailed it with the embellishments!!! I swear I am sitting here looking at the photos with my mouth WIDE OPEN!!! I’m seriously about get teary!! It’s just so awesome!!! You are uber talented!!! I can not wait to see this in person! I love your dress form also!! That will be SO NICE for you to have!!! Perfect!

    Melanie

  12. 13 Tracy August 13, 2007 at 6:59 am

    Congrats on all the awards! And it was fun to read your list. Your apron is super–very scrappy, very pretty! Happy Day! :o)

  13. 14 YUMMERS! August 13, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    Love the apron… it’s really sweet. And I really love that dress form! I just got a catalog from them and I’ll have to take a peek and see if they still have them. So cute!!
    Joni
    And congrats on all your awards!

  14. 15 sara August 13, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    Love that apron! Keep up the great work!!!

  15. 16 Connie W August 14, 2007 at 9:34 am

    Terrific apron, and post, and love the dress form!

  16. 17 Carla August 17, 2007 at 10:54 am

    Great tutorial!

    I’ve put in so many magnetic snaps, I think I can do them in my sleep. LOL!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives