Big Bear

Last week we took our first real family vacation since our first little guy was born.  Yep, that’s over 6 years ago.  We rented a house at Big Bear Lake in California and enjoyed the cool mountain air,

bigbear1.jpg

 the hiking trails,

bigbear3.jpg

and the company of Grandma and Grampa.

We didn’t watch TV and I didn’t sew a stitch.  The kids learned checkers.  We hiked in the morning, played pool or foosball/napped all afternoon, read Edward Tulane together and soaked in the hot tub at night.  Champion Pine Trail is great for little ones if you can survive the mountain dirt road ride to get there.  The rock formations are like a playground for my boys. 

bigbear2.jpg

Can you see my little guy climbing in his green shirt?

Those of you who live near mountains are so blessed!  But it’s good to be home.  My goal this week is to get the mini-patchfolio pattern out.  And now that I’ve said it, I’ll get it done.  :o)  Isn’t that one of the nice things about blogging?

26 Responses to “Big Bear”


  1. 1 Ali September 16, 2007 at 1:32 am

    I can see the attraction of those rocks – the ultimate climbing frame. What a beautiful place.

  2. 2 kerry September 16, 2007 at 5:45 am

    Those rocks look brilliant for a climbing playground for boys, glad you enjoyed your holiday.
    Happy sewing this week
    Kerry

  3. 3 Beth September 16, 2007 at 5:53 am

    It looks like a fun and beautiful place! The picture of the lake reminds me of an old postcard – very pretty.

  4. 4 Shea September 16, 2007 at 6:52 am

    Beautiful scenery
    Its great that you were able to get away and unwind for a bit🙂

  5. 5 Dawn September 16, 2007 at 7:02 am

    Big Bear is near to where my grandparents lived. I have a photo of them on rocks that looked eerily similar to your last photo.
    Brought back lots of memories for me.
    Thanks.
    :o)

  6. 6 lera September 16, 2007 at 8:01 am

    What beautiful photos, Linda. Sounds like you had some great family time together.

    My boys always love to climb on giant rocks, too. Gettysburg has a ton of them and we take them there to play around.

  7. 7 Mary September 16, 2007 at 8:41 am

    What a beautiful place! Sounds like a great vacation.

  8. 8 Tinkerblue September 16, 2007 at 9:25 am

    Gorgeous photos. Sounds like a wonderful time.

  9. 9 Stephanie September 16, 2007 at 9:30 am

    What a nice, relaxing vacation! It’s good to get away and come back refreshed, not exhausted, isn’t it?

  10. 10 Chara Michele September 16, 2007 at 10:22 am

    Sounds like a lovely vacation!

  11. 11 Dee Light September 16, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    What fun!!! I’m glad you had the chance to get away!!!

  12. 12 randomrevelations September 16, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    It looks so scenic and adventurous! I hope you enjoyed the cooler weather. I haven’t really talked to you for almost a month. Miss you! Thanks for the coupons. Now get off the computer and finish that pattern!

  13. 13 Amy September 17, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    Sounds like a great vacation. My family and I are off to the mountains of NM on Wednesday…just a long weekend, but I will take what I can get.

  14. 14 Fiona (Dragonfly-Crafts) September 17, 2007 at 4:54 pm

    That would be my ideal holiday for my kids and I. It looks so American to me. So nice to see the kids learning simple games like checkers. I’m going away for our upcoming long weekend too and hope to do lots of family games at a family reunion. Stay tuned.

  15. 15 Melanie September 17, 2007 at 6:35 pm

    Okay, first of all…Tag, you’re it! Check out my blog for details. Secondly, the vacation sounds wonderful!!!! I’m glad after 6 yrs you managed to get away. And Last…love your blog and your ideas. Melanie

  16. 16 Carla September 17, 2007 at 8:49 pm

    Looks like you had a great time! It’s so beautiful in the mountains. I LOVE the smell of the pine trees!

  17. 17 Abby September 18, 2007 at 12:21 am

    Your vacation looked like so much fun. I’m glad the grandparents were there. My grandparents went on vacation with me and my brother when we were little and it made the trip that much better.

  18. 18 lizzie September 18, 2007 at 11:05 am

    So glad your long awaited vacation was wonderful and we’re glad to have you home.

  19. 19 Allie September 19, 2007 at 8:17 am

    Great photos! Sounds like a perfectly wonderful vacation!

  20. 20 Alisa September 19, 2007 at 9:58 am

    I’m glad you had a nice vacation with your family. That’s a long time to go without!

  21. 21 cindy September 19, 2007 at 10:38 am

    We used to go to Big Bear when I was a little kid. I love it up there. I actually lived and worked in Arrowhead out of high school.🙂 I’m glad you all had fun!🙂

  22. 22 Melanie September 19, 2007 at 11:09 am

    Glad you had a good hols it looks like a brilliant place for boys to explore. What you didn’t take a project to sew!! Mock faint to floor.🙂

  23. 23 sara September 20, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    OH MY WORD- your stuff is always SO CUTE!

  24. 24 Kimberly September 23, 2007 at 4:10 am

    What a great time-you deserved it!

  25. 25 weirdbunny September 25, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    Wow what an amazing looking place !!!! I’m so glad you all enjoyed yourselves ~ love Julia x

  26. 26 Emily January 17, 2008 at 10:35 am

    I actually moved down into the valley from Lake Arrowhead (about 25 minutes from Big Bear) about 6 months ago. We bought a small second house down here, but going home to the mountains is like a breath of fresh air–really can’t be beat! I’m so glad you got to go!

    Emily


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives