Nigella Dress

Do you ever browse the inspiration pages at Amy Butler’s site?  I do.  And I came across this dress.  Too cute!  And it looks simple.  But the kind lady from Amy’s studio said that Amy designed it and there is no pattern.  So I went to JoAnn’s and picked up a pattern that looked close enough.  I’m a size 6 usually, but this pattern’s smallest size was 8.  No problem, I’m sure I can fit an 8 since my jeans have been feeling a bit tight lately.  Besides, it’s only 2 panels and the package says it only takes an hour of sewing time.  How hard can it be?

Well, as they always do when I sew clothing,  several problems arose.  First off, the dress was too big.  I should have anticipated that.  No problem.  I cut up the front center panel and the back center panel and took out an inch on each one.  Then it fit perfectly.  But, there’s a reason why size 8 is the smallest size.  Can you guess why?  Those of you who sew clothes probably know this.  Can you guess?  Because when you shrink down neck openning, you can barely get the dress off over your head.  *sigh*  I’ll just add a zipper to the back.  Wait.  I’m out of zippers.  Okay, I’ll leave a slit open in the back and add a button-loop closure.  Alrighty.  Done.  Whew!

nigella-dress.jpg

I realize this isn’t the most flattering style for my shapeless body, but I actually really like this dress!  That’s a big first for me and I’m sure it has a lot to do with the fabric.  This was originally McCall’s 8108, view C in Amy Butler’s Nigella Water Lotus.

27 Responses to “Nigella Dress”


  1. 1 Vicki W September 27, 2007 at 10:19 am

    The dress turned out really cute!

  2. 2 Sarah September 27, 2007 at 11:00 am

    All you need is a skinny belt and it’ll be really cute.

    -Essie

  3. 3 Yvonne September 27, 2007 at 11:30 am

    Love it Lindiepindie!!! What gorgeous fabric for a dress, and it looks great with your skintone and I bet your dark hair!

  4. 4 Janey September 27, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    Wow it’s good to see someone else who LOVES the Amy Butler line. I have her two newest books on order and cannot wait for them to arrive. I love the dress and a belt would work well. You could even cover a belt buckle with a matching fabric from Amy’s line and make your own stylish belt. I’m getting inspired to now make some clothing. I usually do just bags and quilt related items. I did however make the kimono robe from the in stitches book. I can’t wait to see what you make next!!

  5. 5 Lala September 27, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    Hey Linda!!! CUTE CUTE DRESS… Might be perfect for me (seems very figure forgiving???)… although I think I’ll shorten the length a bit… I like the keyhole back idea… maybe with a pretty vintagey looking button??? Looks totally cute on you!!!

    Lala :o)

  6. 6 Florence September 27, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    Ooooh! that looks fantastic!…I think your mistake with the neck hole isn’t an obvious one at all – I never would have dreamt that would be a problem, but then I haven’t made very many clothes! Well done!

  7. 7 nubiancraftster September 27, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    Wow you rock craftapple! The dress looks just like the inspiration photo!!! Great job

  8. 8 Cindi September 27, 2007 at 5:14 pm

    I am so proud of you! You did excellent. I think the dress looks so comfy!

  9. 9 rohanknitter September 27, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    That is a super cute dress. You’re right, that fabric really makes it.
    It looks very nice on, too.
    I never would have guessed that over the head problem, but then I don’t have probelms being small for a pattern. Ahem. ; )

  10. 10 Heather September 27, 2007 at 5:38 pm

    The dress turned out perfect, I love the fabric! Never would have thought about the neckhole problem. That’s why I don’t sew clothes😉 Well, except for one skirt for Claire which turned out ok. I’ve wanted to make a skirt like one I got from Target but there are a lot of seams and side zipper and I thought there were too many ways to screw it up.

  11. 11 gingerathome September 27, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    wow! i really love this dress on you! i was in for a fun surprise when i clicked the link to the pattern and saw that it is the same dress that my mom and i made all the time for me when i was little and then a teenager…. its been around along time! the last one i remember my mom making for me was very classic, navy blue. my mom had me wear pearls with it but i painted my nails with white out just before church so i would feel cool. funny, i like yours better🙂

  12. 12 Mendy September 27, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    LOVE IT! Very, very cute! Great job!

  13. 13 Beth September 27, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    It’s a really, really cute dress and looks very nice on you!

  14. 14 southerngirlmusings September 27, 2007 at 10:46 pm

    Love, love, love the dress! Great job and it looks very comfy and could dress up or dress down.

  15. 15 Marlain September 27, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    I may have forgotten to look for your skirt you’d made on a Sunday – but I don’t think I’ll be missing this one when you model it on Sunday. You are gonna wear it to church, right?

  16. 16 Mary September 28, 2007 at 1:51 am

    But I think a belt would cut the flow of the dress and pattern. Course, what do I know? But I really, really like it. I’m much older, of course, but I like the length.

  17. 17 suebleiweiss September 28, 2007 at 2:51 am

    You did a great job with this, it looks like it’s very comfortable to wear. I’m impressed that you’ve matched the fabric pattern down the center front seam – nice job!

  18. 18 Monica September 28, 2007 at 6:40 am

    It looks fantastic! And it can’t have been too easy to keep such a big (and gorgeous pattern straight) and in the right place…

    super job.

  19. 19 Regina September 28, 2007 at 12:10 pm

    Oh, it is really very lovely on you. And like you said, that fabric IS realy FAB!

  20. 20 tinkerblue September 28, 2007 at 12:46 pm

    I love the fabric and the dress. I think it looks great on you. I would never have thought of the neck hole problem. I like your solution.

  21. 21 katie September 28, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    It’s pretty, Linda! Not shapeless at all. I love, love the fabric.

  22. 22 pinkricrac September 28, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    Awesome! you did a great job!

  23. 23 lera September 28, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    Oh, that is CUTE, Linda. I love it!!!

  24. 24 Chara Michele September 29, 2007 at 9:07 am

    It looks lovely!

    I had never been to her inspiration page, but now I think I must browse through it:)

  25. 25 missharleyquinn October 1, 2007 at 11:41 am

    I love the dress! It’s very Pucci. 🙂 Pretty soon you’ll have your own line of clothing and accessories…watch out Gwen Stefani.

  26. 26 judicreations October 6, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    What a great job! It really does look like you could be modelling it on the inspiration page.

  27. 27 Row. November 15, 2007 at 2:24 am

    cute. cute. cute. I came, I saw, I fell in love, and I actually read the whole first two pages-now for me thats unusual, u have agreat way of writting. I bookmarked ya so I can come back again and again. I love your bags and the dress OMG! awsome.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives