Yes, it’s right side out.

“Is it wrong-side out?”

That’s what hubby asked when I showed him my new purse.  “No,” I said, “it’s right-side out.  It’s creative.”  I know he’s wondering how a wrong-side out purse could be creative, but oh well.  I’ve had this idea in my brain for a while, but only one morning last week in one of those just-before-I’m-fully-awake moments did it come to me on how to put it together.

It’s not flawless, that’s for sure.  There are no pockets, for one.  I never do pockets on a prototype because there’s a high probability that it will end up in the trash.  In fact, there are several areas that need tweaking, but for now it’s usable and matches my new dress.  Here she is with a matching mini patchfolio

“Well hello there, Patch, how’re you doing?” asks Nigella.

And did you all know that Kathy Miller of Michael Miller Fabrics has started a blog?  Lots of tutorials written by my sister Jojo, including the cloth baby shoes that are on the MMF home page!!!  Exciting stuff, Joanna!  And the Dandy Damask Diaper Bag that I made for Kathy is posted here.  It’s fun to see a professional picture of it.  And I never would have thought to use the bag to hold files, but amazingly, they fit well in there.

18 Responses to “Yes, it’s right side out.”


  1. 1 Vicki W September 30, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    I like it! I see it in black of course – my “signature” color.

  2. 2 rohanknitter September 30, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    Ooh, I like it. It reminds me of those rag quilts. Only not raggedy.
    Does that make any sense?

  3. 3 Hilari October 1, 2007 at 1:53 am

    So very cute! I love the inside-out-ness of it!🙂

  4. 4 Anne October 1, 2007 at 6:56 am

    I just found your blog through the MM website. I really enjoy it. I like the inside out bag! I have all my best ideas in those sleepy-dreamy minutes before I fall asleep. Problem is I never rember them in the morning!!!! I’m sure I would have been rich by now if I could……..:-)

  5. 6 Beth October 1, 2007 at 8:35 am

    I like the bag. Having the seams on the outside adds a lot to it. And how cool for you and your sister to be on the new blog! (By the way, I’m hoping to make a mini patchfolio today. I was going to do it yesterday, but ended up having terrible knitting trouble that I had to fix.)

  6. 7 randomrevelations October 1, 2007 at 9:20 am

    The picture doesn’t do it justice. It looks even better in person. I’ll put a picture of my mini patchfolio up soon. I just love it! And I know my sis will, too.

  7. 8 Chara Michele October 1, 2007 at 10:28 am

    Oh I like the inside-out look to this bag!🙂 I love your husbands response to it too:)

  8. 10 Janey October 1, 2007 at 11:46 am

    Great bag, I actually just got back from a quilt shop and just purchased two of the same fabrics that are in your bag. It’s so fun to create a new idea and what do husbands know?lol Also just made a patchfolio last night and it looks great it’s going to friend and I even added a vintagey pin to the front.

  9. 11 lera October 1, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    What will you think of next? You’re incredible, Linda.

  10. 12 Rachel October 1, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    Thanks for the link to the Michael Miller blog. I didn’t know about it. I’ve been missing so much.

  11. 13 Kristi W October 1, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    I love this!

    A friend I saw at a party this weekend told me about a store where you can pick the design and the fabric for your own purse, diaper bag etc… It is very addictive. Lucky for us we can sew it ourselves! Look at the prices! But a fun site none the less to get our creative juices flowing… http://1154lill.com/home/

    Also, now that I have given my 2 diaper bags away from your pattern, I will be posting them soon on my blog, stay tuned!

  12. 14 Bev October 1, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    It’s fabulous! I love the insideoutness, but my hubbie, is often as “helpful” when I show him my creations too, he loves them, but sometimes doesn’t “get” them!

  13. 15 capello October 2, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    hey, i like the wrong-side-out-which-is-actually-right-side-out look!

  14. 16 Krista October 2, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    That is beautiful!!
    I have no advice on the Bernina decision you have ahead of you, but I wanted to say congratulations🙂

  15. 17 Melanie October 3, 2007 at 7:22 am

    Beautiful card- so well thought out! I know what you mean about the tiny buttons- just used them as gingerbread person eyes so it was a relief to finish the project.

  16. 18 SugarShop (Dena) October 5, 2007 at 9:05 am

    This bag is a cutey Linda, fun!Saw your diaper bag over at the MM site. I bought that pattern from you quite some time ago and have put it to the side since my only baby is now in kindergarten. Lol! I never thought about using in for files and such…that I can use at the moment!Lots of papers, permission slips, calendars, book orders etc. that go along with a kindergartner.This would be perfect! Your pattern will now get bumped to the top of my to do list.🙂


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives