Berninites? I have a question for you!

The shop where I purchased my sewing machine was having a 30th birthday celebration and a birthday card competition.  The prizes were too good not to enter, and I was surprised more people didn’t.  But good for me, because I won 2nd prize!  Yay!  I knew from taking my sewing classes at this shop , that my classmates were very into embellishing so since the customers were voting, I tried my bestest to embellish. 

Card competition

The name of the shop is Berry Patch Fabrics – do all quilt shops have such cute names?

Card competition

The nicest part was that I had all the supplies on hand.  The hardest part was hand stitching those itty-bitty buttons on for the “C”.  Are my fine-motor skills getting worse with age?  I think so.  Them and my vision.  As well as my grammar.🙂

The prize was a gift certificate for $200 (aren’t they generous?  First prize was a sewing machine – a Bernina 210).  Since getting my machine I’ve discovered that Bernina dollars aren’t exactly on par with US dollars.  I mean, they are up there with Husquvarny dollars and Pfaffy dollars.  Now here’s where I need help Bernina-ites.  Bernina accessories are in the under $100 range, in general, and then it’s big, huge thousand-dollar items.  I have the basic quilting presser feet (walking foot, BSR), the ruffler, the plexiglass quilting table.  What about the magnifying glasses?  Should I get those in anticipation of my aging eyes?  Just kidding!  Anyway, I want to get the best bang for my Bernina buck.  Can anyone help me on what their favorite presser foot is or other accessory?  I have the 440 and no embroidery module.  Thanks!

25 Responses to “Berninites? I have a question for you!”


  1. 1 Kristi W October 1, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    Sorry, I have a Janome. But in regards to the quilt shop name question. Ours is called “Shoofly Fabrics, Quilts and Such.”

    http://www.shooflyquilts.com/store.htm

  2. 2 Vicki W October 2, 2007 at 12:31 am

    Congratulations! Love your entries too!

  3. 3 Chara Michele October 2, 2007 at 12:40 am

    I don’t have any help, but your birthday card entry looks wonderful!🙂

  4. 4 Margaret October 2, 2007 at 5:23 am

    I can’t live without my edgestitching foot. Also the piping foot and invisible zipper foot are very handy to have.

  5. 5 Debbie October 2, 2007 at 6:30 am

    Love your birthday card! You do have a great Bernina shop giving away some mighty nice presents. Your card was so creative!

    Did you get the postcard from Bernina for $25 off? I used mine to add another foot to my collection. The saleslady showed me a couple of the new/her favorites and I bought #34. Probably the next time I add a foot it will be the piping foot. I’ve heard great things about that one and I am not that thrilled with our zipper foot.

    Congratulations and happy shopping.

  6. 6 randomrevelations October 2, 2007 at 7:54 am

    Is that pintucking on the card? I’m still kicking myself for not forcing Aaron to enter a card. Congrats!

  7. 7 Beth October 2, 2007 at 8:43 am

    Congratulations! Your entry is very cute and I’m so happy for you to have won a prize. Sorry I can’t give you any recommendations. Like Kristi W, I have a Janome.

  8. 8 lera October 2, 2007 at 9:46 am

    Congratulations, Linda. Love the card! You put a lot of hard work into it.

  9. 9 Rachel October 2, 2007 at 10:21 am

    I recommend the invisible zipper foot, #35. It will make you sew like a pro. Also the open-toe applique foot, #20. If you do any machine applique or satin stitching, it’s great. You can see what you are sewing. If you want to do free-motion quiling you need a good darning foot. I recommend the metal one that is a complete circle, #9.

    I’m excited to see what you get. Buy something fun!

  10. 10 Sam October 2, 2007 at 11:04 am

    The feet I use the most are: edgestitching (#10 for my machine), the quarter inch foot (many of the children’s clothing patterns I use have a quarter inch seam allowance), and I use my buttonhole foot (#3) for piping. I love my walking foot, but you have that one. What about the ruffler? That is one I wish I had. I also would love to have the bias binding system, but that’s pretty pricey. My mom has the magnifyer and likes it. I can’t sew with it on there, though–probably because I’m not used to it.

  11. 11 Katie October 2, 2007 at 11:41 am

    Congratulations!! It’s always so fun to win something!

    I think it’s adorable!

  12. 12 Holly October 2, 2007 at 12:45 pm

    Your birthday card is so cute! Very clever and creative. Congratulations on your win!

  13. 13 Florence October 2, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    Oh that’s gorgeous!

    On the name front – I know of one called Puddleducks, which I think is lovely and so may try and make a trip there one day to see if it’s as nice as it sounds!

  14. 14 Jennifer October 2, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    Congratualtions!! And how fabulous that you already had everything on hand!!

  15. 15 Pauline October 2, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    I’ve just bought myself the #35 invisible zipper foot and it’s already getting a lot of use.

  16. 16 Jen October 3, 2007 at 4:05 am

    Congratulations on your prize.. such decisions…I think the best extra is my piping foot, or invisible zipper foot, but then again maybe just work with what you have got and spend your winings on lots of things for your stash that you normally wouldnt buy.. all those expensive extras that we ooh and ahh over…

  17. 17 Tracy October 3, 2007 at 6:00 am

    Congrats on your big win! Love your entries–really wonderful! I’ve not Bernina experience, I’m afraid…more of a Singer gal, am I. Can’t wait to see what you get, though! Happy Day :o)

  18. 18 katie October 3, 2007 at 7:09 am

    Congratulations! I haven’t been able to write back to your email, but I was wondering what your contest entry was. The card is great! They’d better frame it and put it behind the register. =)

    I love my #10 edgestitching foot, but the #5 is a good substitute if need be. I use the clear #34 all the time in place of the #1–I just prefer the clear for some reason. Love the invisible zipper foot, but I think you got that to do the Barcelona skirt. I also have the cording foot and have used it some–it works nicely. And I think those are all of the ones I have bought separately from what came with my machine so far.

  19. 19 Melanie October 3, 2007 at 12:01 pm

    Congrats😉 wish I could help. I’m a viking girl b/c that is what my local shop carries. I have many family members in other parts of the country that are berninites!!!

  20. 20 Alisa October 3, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    I like your birthday card! I know nothing about Berninas though…

  21. 21 Camille Roskelley October 4, 2007 at 4:40 pm

    I couldn’t live without my stippling/darning foot! I’m not sure what number it is though. I’m so jealous!

  22. 22 Penny October 4, 2007 at 5:16 pm

    I use my #10 edgestitch foot ALL the time! And I absolutley love my bsr foot (but this foot is somewhat more expensive)

  23. 23 luvbug1975 October 4, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    Cute card, and yes, they must all have those names…ours is called Pocketful of Poseys.

  24. 24 Katie October 4, 2007 at 10:14 pm

    What wonderful timing – I just bought the same machine and received a gift cert to spend on extras! Thanks so much for asking the question, and thanks everyone, for your responses!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives