Back to some craftiness…

Usually when I buy fabric I buy coordinating prints 1/2 yard at a time.  If I really like a print, I might get a yard.   Then a few months ago, Anna and I were chatting about her fabric-buying habits and I found her guidelines really helpful and have adopted them as my own (thanks, Anna!): 1 yard for a blouse/top, 2 yards for a skirt, 3-4 yards for a dress.  Neat, huh?

When Lotus came out, I really liked the apricot wall flower and without any particular plan, I bought a whole yard.  Sadly, I never did find anything that I felt went really well with it.  I’m just too matchy-matchy, I guess.  This weekend I had a chance to use it up.

Up first, an embellished craft apron…because it goes so well with this plain gray background.

Craft Apron

I used to think I wasn’t being very creative if I embellished a blank item.  Well, maybe I still think that, but it sure makes the process of creating faster!

Up next,  replacing that old car lumbar support pillow.  Behold the new car pillow:

Quilted Pillow

All those lines take a while, but I really like the look.  I got to use my new #63 rolled hem foot for finishing the overlapping flaps in the back.  You know, the flaps that let the dust mites get out?  I haven’t quite gotten the hang of it, but this should be a helpful tool when I get more practice.

rolled-hem-foot.jpg

Berninites, you gave me some valuable advice last week.  Thank you!  I planned on getting the binder system, but who knew it was out of my price range?  It was more than my entire gift certificate so I opted for some presser feet instead.

Oh yes, I’ve added a link to my sidebar for the Craft Apple Patterns Flickr Group.  If you’ve made something from one of my patterns, I would LOVE to see it.  Why not head on over and post your picts?

24 Responses to “Back to some craftiness…”


  1. 1 randomrevelations October 9, 2007 at 10:44 am

    The apron looks great, but the pillow looks AWESOME! I think it’s a completely different look than I’ve ever seen from you. Cool presser foot. I might need to look those up. I’ve been wanting to do some ballet skirts for Mia, but was concerned about the hem. Handstitching…not an option! I’ll get on posting my Craft Apple creations. I have 3, but there’s sure to be more!

  2. 2 lera October 9, 2007 at 10:55 am

    Look at you being so creative over there.

    I love your car pillow. I think every back needs a pretty pillow for the car!

  3. 3 Sue B October 9, 2007 at 10:59 am

    love, love, love that pillow!

  4. 4 Mary October 9, 2007 at 11:16 am

    I likes! The apron and pillow are way cool. Glad you found something to spend your GC on!

  5. 5 Ali October 9, 2007 at 11:48 am

    Love the bobble trim on your apron!

  6. 6 missharleyquinn October 9, 2007 at 11:52 am

    I used to play in the SCA and made my own Medieval clothing. If you’ve ever read a pattern for a dress from that era, it usually takes an obscene amount of fabric…usually 10 yards at a minimum. So, I got into the habit of just buying fabric by the bolt. Sadly, its been a hard habit to break, even though I haven’t played in years. As I write this I have a bolt of cartoon turkey fabric thats intended for a tote bag…and yet I have enough to gift a small third world nation with cartoon turkey bags! My kids still haven’t gotten past the year of Harry Potter fabric…we have place mats and chair covers, tote bags and napkins, dog bandannas, pillow cases, nightgowns and quilts and strangely enough I still have 3 yards left! *l* I can’t get over that you buy 1/2 yards of fabric…I really must learn to do that. 🙂

  7. 7 Lala October 9, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    Hi Lindie!!! Love the apron!!! And the lumbar pillow is FABULOUS!!! I’m sure it makes your lumbar region very comfy to have such a STYLISH support!!! THanks for sharing!!!

    Lala :o)

  8. 8 Kirsten October 9, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    I love, love, love that pillow! All of those prints look so gorgeous together!

  9. 9 Alisa October 9, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    I really like the pillow. I know what you mean about using plain fabric and embelishing it. But it totally draws the eye to the print you really like.

  10. 10 Elizabeth K October 9, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    Your apron is cute. I think embellishing a blank item sometimes takes more creativity than making something new because you have to see past the blankness to what could be. If that makes any sense at all!

  11. 11 Beth October 9, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    I love the appliqued pattern on the apron! And your pillow is a fabulous idea. We have a little pillow my husband uses when we take car trips. It’s plain old white and that just won’t do, will it? 🙂

  12. 12 Monica October 10, 2007 at 7:20 am

    great stuff. That apron is so sophisticated.

    And I’m going to get me that foot. Right now.

  13. 13 Niki :) October 10, 2007 at 8:03 am

    Love the apron! Man, I just LOVE all the aprons I’ve been seeing lately. Is there a simple pattern for one? I am not a sewer, I’m a quilter. I do horrible at curved lines and hems. UGH, they always bunch up funny, not making it smooth. Anywho, it’s lovely, as usual.
    http://nikisventures.blogspot.com/

  14. 14 Katie October 10, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    Ooooh…that rolled hem foot looks neat! I need that one. Now. =)

  15. 15 Allie October 10, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    Hi, the apron is really lovely – the combination is great (I love grays)… and the pillow is so different and pretty!
    God bless you for bringing such a ray of light to the internet – love to check in for a breather once in awhile🙂

  16. 16 Denise October 10, 2007 at 5:51 pm

    The apron is very cute. And the pillow is a nice combo of large prints, it looks like you are venturing into patchwork, and you are a natural. enjoy.

  17. 17 YUMMERS! October 11, 2007 at 9:19 am

    I really love the apron and the pillow. What a good idea to make a pillow for the car!! I’ll add it to my list… am going to get some things crossed off today!
    Joni

  18. 19 Sarah October 12, 2007 at 8:27 am

    I love that pillow. I mean, really LOVE it!! So pretty!

  19. 20 Chara Michele October 12, 2007 at 11:16 am

    Oh I like the apron & the pillow!

    I have a rolled hem foot for my sewing machine and have never figured out how to use it…

  20. 21 Mimi October 16, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    love the apron and love the pillow, did you make your bed spread?

  21. 22 Junie November 3, 2007 at 1:26 am

    Love the car pillow!!!

  22. 23 Stacy November 6, 2007 at 8:10 pm

    Hi there,
    I have a rolled hemming foot for my Janome that I recently tried out and just can’t get the hang of it. It makes a nice small hem but doesn’t seem to want to catch the raw edge underneath the stitches. Any suggestions? The instructions were not very clear as per the booklet and it would make my life sooo much easier figuring out how this works.

    Love the pillow too BTW!


  1. 1 best DC DUI lawyer Trackback on July 22, 2014 at 4:02 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives