Valance

Finished!

This afternoon I made a valance for my boy’s bedroom.  All three of them share one room so it’s pretty crowded.  This was such a quick project.  I like them when they’re like that.  Here’s the before shot (and please ignore the popcorn ceilings).

window-before

 I’ve tried making valances before, but have always run into the same problem: the wood I use for the backing seems WAY too heavy.  This time I used panel foam that a friend had in her garage.  I have no idea where she got it, but I’m sure any similar material would work. 

Materials needed

I used styrofoam spray adhesive to glue 2 panels together to make it thicker.  Then I adhered some batting to the front of the panels using the same stuff.  Lots and lots of fumes -yuck!

valance 2

Then, I stuck it to the back.

valance 3

I wrapped the fabric around the back and pinned in place.The pin is at an angle to hold the fabric in securely. 

valance 4

I took down the wood valance that was up at the header of the blinds and was left with 2 nifty hooks that looked like this:

valance 5

Then I made 2 loops with bias tape and secured them with a pin (pulled out a bit to show the angle).

valance 6

and hung the valance to the hooks. 

Finished!

 Fabric is Amy Butler’s Lotus.  Timo said it makes him feel soft and cozy.  And I’m glad to have made something for their room that will hopefully grow with them.

 

24 Responses to “Valance”


  1. 2 randomrevelations October 21, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    Wow! Amazing what a little thing can do for a room. I’m sure the boys are so proud!

  2. 3 weirdbunny October 22, 2007 at 4:10 am

    Wow and you call this a quick project – it would have taken me days possibly weeks, probably it would have turned into a WIP !

  3. 4 Jessica Chapman October 22, 2007 at 6:58 am

    Awesome! Thanks for the tutorial… My drab curtains are in need of some spruce, so I’ll have to use it :)))))) THANKS for the red floral fabric… it is awesome. Look for your package from me! :)))))) Thanks🙂

  4. 5 Beth October 22, 2007 at 7:51 am

    Your valance looks so great! The “before” picture really looks empty without it.

  5. 6 katie October 22, 2007 at 9:15 am

    That’s a great alternative to the wood! I have always wanted a cornice in my kitchen. I even have the fabric to make one, but I was intimidated by the wood part. I’ll have to try it this way!

  6. 7 mendy October 22, 2007 at 9:33 am

    Love the clean, tailored look – perfect for a boys room! Great job!

  7. 8 lera October 22, 2007 at 9:34 am

    Very nice, Linda.

    That foam panel looks similar to stuff sold in home improvement stores (for finishing basements).

    (When we lived in Ohio, we had those popcorn ceilings. I was on the top bunk changing sheets and somehow scraped my the back of my hand on the ceiling. It really hurt!)

  8. 9 Pieces October 22, 2007 at 9:35 am

    Very clever and it looks great!

  9. 10 Yvonne October 22, 2007 at 10:30 am

    I agree with weirdbunny, it would have taken me forever, BUT I just may try it. I have wanted to do something like that in Joshua’s and Caylee’s room but didn’t really know how to do it. Cool! It really does look great Linda, I love that Timo said it makes him feel soft and cozy, he is such a little sweetie!!

  10. 11 Stephanie October 22, 2007 at 10:32 am

    Very nice! I inherited a wooden one with my kitchen, and have put off taking it down to recover it because of all the hassle. I think I could do this. Thanks for posting it!

  11. 12 Jes October 22, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    That’s really interesting! I’ve never thought of making a hard valance like that.

    I think pink foam (you can get it at home depot) would probably work out really well too.

  12. 13 Vicki October 22, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    The valence is perfect for a little boys room. What a clever idea.

  13. 14 Monica October 23, 2007 at 5:42 am

    you make things look so easy!! Very very nice.

  14. 16 Lala October 23, 2007 at 3:41 pm

    Hi Lindie… THANKS for sharing such a neat project!!! I LOVE the horizontal and vertical stripe variation you did… adds LOTS of dimension!!! Hmmmmm… wouldn’t BOLSTERS look great on their beds??? (I’m still trying to find your place to pick up the red bolster and chair!!! *WINK*)… I think it is NEAT that your boys all share a room… my sister and I did when we were young… looking back now it was fun!!!

    GREAT JOB… THanks again for sharing!!!

    Lala :o)

  15. 17 Heather October 24, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    That looks really great, and simple to do too. Although I have never really been a big fan of the valance, it definitely adds some umph to the window and is very appropriate for a boys room. And like Lala from the previous said, the horizontal and the vertical looks great!

  16. 18 Cindi October 24, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    Oh, so boyish! I love it. You really did a great job. I love quick jobs that give me a feeling of accomplishment!

  17. 19 lizzie October 25, 2007 at 5:20 pm

    You are on a roll with the home decorating! I love the valance and the pillow in your room–beautiful work, once again. It always amazes me how the small things make such a big difference. Hope you are having a nice week and enjoying the cooler weather!

  18. 20 Mary October 25, 2007 at 8:57 pm

    It’s gorgeous! Great tutorial, too.

  19. 21 hoganfe October 26, 2007 at 1:16 pm

    awesome idea and great job!

  20. 22 Day October 29, 2007 at 10:49 am

    Love this and love it more that you showed us how you did it…I’ve been hesitating on trying this in my LR but the current valance (sitting in the attic, covered in circa 1991 floral)is so heavy and seems to be hard to work with – the panel foam seems so much more practical.
    Timo is very sweet indeed.

  21. 23 Shannon October 30, 2007 at 12:03 pm

    Wow! How much fun:) Thanks for sharing.

  22. 24 Carla October 31, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    How fun! I recognize most of those crafty celebrities too! What a thrill for you! Thanks for sharing the fun photos!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives