Lots and lots of words here…

So going to market was a HUGE education for me.  I mean, my business is so small, but being around what’s current in the fabric and sewing world was a valuable experience that I don’t think I could have gotten anywhere else!  One thing that  struck me about the pattern designers I met was there was a distinct difference between the designers that were professional (beautiful booths, nicely printed patterns, great brand identity, etc., example here) and the ones that looked like home business (humble booths, poor graphics, etc.).  I’m not trying to insult anyone, because as a home business, I completely understand that as a  one-woman show I can’t do it all.  Clearly, I want to put forward a professional look in my sewing patterns, in spite of being a home business, but I had to admit to myself that my pattern covers more closely resembled the latter group.  As a result, I’m trying to create a new look.  I worked on a new logo this week and reworked my website.  I’m in the process of redoing pattern covers so that they all look like they came from the same author.

apple_blossom-copy.jpg

The little blurb about the logo on my site goes like this:

Our logo is an apple blossom.
The oriental style is a nod to my Asian background.
The short vowel symbol was included to reflect my role as a
homeschooling mom.

I also did a craft show with Cindy this weekend – my first in 2 years.  I barely did any sewing for this show since I have so much stuff that’s been accumulating in the last year that it was really time to unload some.

craftshow1s.jpg

 

The cupcakes were a hit.  I have 3 waffle chenille ones left.

It was the most successful craft show I’ve had but I really must admit that I don’t understand the shows.  Maybe I’ve gotten better at sewing things, or maybe it was a better crowd this year.

craftshow2s.jpg

Yep, the base of the dress form and the form itself are no longer together
 – the tragic result of a girl living in a house full of rowdy boys.

 

Maybe having a dress form or a pattern display helped.  I don’t know.  One thing I do know is that I was so much more confident than before.  I was chatting with customers and one lady even asked if I would give her sewing lessons.  The other thing I know is that the reason I’m more confident now is because of the people who read this blog and comment or email me.  You all make me feel like I have some sort of talent I never thought I had.  Thank you SO much!  I don’t even know how to thank you ladies!  I want to do a give-away.  I’m already scared of the comments, because I know these kinds of things can drive up comments, and too many comments can overwhelm me, but I’m not sure what else to do to show my gratitude!  So here goes:  I will randomly pick someone on Wednesday to recieve her pick of either a Little Artist Drawing Case (hot pink for a girl) or a Mini-Patchfolio(Amy Butler Lotus).  Either one would make a great Christmas gift for a young or old girlfriend and that will be one less gift for you to make.  Or you can keep it for yourself!

I could write more, but I’ll wait for another time.  Have a great week!

91 Responses to “Lots and lots of words here…”


  1. 1 Shannon November 4, 2007 at 11:27 pm

    Love your new look! Congratulations too on your successful craft show:)

  2. 2 Penny November 4, 2007 at 11:36 pm

    I was very excited to see the new craft apple when I logged on! I like it!

  3. 3 charli November 5, 2007 at 12:48 am

    Looking homemade is sometimes best. Don’t let the other crafters make you feel like you need to make changes. Many, many people who buy handmade are buying it BECAUSE its handmade. Original.

    You have some great stuff, and yes, presentation IS important, but many vendors (as I am sure you noticed) go too far with the presentation so much so that you barely notice what it is that they are actually selling!

    That said, the new look is very fresh and very pretty! I hope it helps your business!

  4. 4 Amanda November 5, 2007 at 1:12 am

    Thank you for your insight into craft shows et al. I’ve been wanting to try a craft show, but have been too intimidated by them! I think your “look” –old and new — is wonderful!

  5. 5 rohanknitter November 5, 2007 at 1:17 am

    Nice new logo!
    I am glad that your craft show went so well, I know so often they are a disappointment for the crafters.

  6. 6 greetingarts November 5, 2007 at 1:18 am

    I just found your blog less than a month ago, and this is the first time I’ve commented… but I have to say that I think your new logo is great, and I especially like all the symbolism that you have on there. It’s meaningful to you, and pleasing to the eye. Perfect combination.

    Oh, and if I’m lucky enough to win one of those prizes? I would *so* keep it for myself. :0)

  7. 7 Nubiancraftster November 5, 2007 at 1:49 am

    Well, I think the comments will be going through the roof!! Not just because of the giveaway but because you deserve a pat on the back for doing such a great job at the craft fair. i just got back from supporting my friend at a craft fair and it was a bit of a bust so I know when you are hot your HOT!! Keep up the great job!

  8. 8 Louise November 5, 2007 at 4:53 am

    I love the logo, and the meaning behind it.

  9. 9 Karyn November 5, 2007 at 5:42 am

    I totally love your new logo and I think you’re doing the right thing by “redoing your pattern covers to make them all look like they came from the same author”.

    And, if you lived anywhere near me, I’d be asking for sewing lessons too! Congrtulations on the successful craft show!

  10. 10 kerry November 5, 2007 at 6:17 am

    I Love your new logo, it will be very eye catching to the public, well done on your craft stall, your confidence shows in your creations, keep on designing. Enjoy
    Kerry

  11. 11 Sarah Norman November 5, 2007 at 7:13 am

    I love the new logo. I can only imagine how over whelming market must have been. congrats on having a successful time at the craft sale. I would love to win the mini portfolio!

  12. 12 Mika November 5, 2007 at 7:27 am

    Just reading what you brought up about the appearance of home based businesses versus “big” business brought up a very valid point. I think all of us who run home business want to appear as professional as possible, but like you said, we can’t do it all! As someone with NO graphic design knowledge, I’m finding that stuff is my biggest challenge as I start out. I was just thinking last night that while I like my current logo, it’s not the one that’s in my head as belonging to my business if that makes sense. Something to work on for sure! But success like that you are achieving is part of what drives me. I know, by reading yours and other home artists blogs, that it does happen with lots of hard work and perseverance. I wish you much continued success! Oh and of course, please enter me for the mini portfolio..those are just adorable!

  13. 13 Dana November 5, 2007 at 7:39 am

    Hello:)

    Congrats on your show. Your things look great !! I’m sure there are many more good shows to come!!

    Thanks for a great blog:)

    Dana
    d07@goldingers.com

  14. 14 Brynne November 5, 2007 at 7:39 am

    Congratulations on finding your business confidence! Your patterns are well designed and having a smooth logo will only make them even more appealing. Good luck building your business!

  15. 15 Lisa November 5, 2007 at 7:39 am

    You do really nice work. Good luck on your new look. I liked the old one as well.

  16. 16 Vicki W November 5, 2007 at 7:43 am

    Love the new logo – very well thought out. Glad that the trip to Market was so helpful!

  17. 17 Vickie November 5, 2007 at 7:48 am

    Hi!
    I have forgotten how I found your blog, but I am glad I did!
    I love it! I love the new logo and all it stands for! I, too, homeschool! This is our first year!
    Anyway, congratulations on all of your new found confidence and continued success!

  18. 18 Jessica Chapman November 5, 2007 at 7:49 am

    I love your new logo! So awesome! :)))) — and I really adore the cupcakes… did you make them from a pattern or did you create them yourself? I come from a family of dieters, and non-edible cupcakes would be a great Christmas-present topper! Let me know if you can point me in the right direction with these :)))).
    Take care!

  19. 19 Tammy November 5, 2007 at 8:01 am

    I really like your new logo! It sounds like you had a great craft show! Woohoo!🙂

    I’ve been reading your blog for quite a while, I think I’ve commented here and there. I’m a blog reader…not so much a commenter.🙂 But thanks for the chance to win one of your items!

  20. 20 stacy November 5, 2007 at 8:16 am

    Congratulations on a great show! Your area looked beautiful, BTW!

  21. 21 katie November 5, 2007 at 8:52 am

    Don’t put me in the drawing, but I just had to say that you DO HAVE TALENT, girl! Absolutely. You have a real eye for design and how to put fabrics together. Your newfound confidence is deserved.

    I am trying to catch up on emails.

  22. 22 Doodlebug Gail November 5, 2007 at 8:52 am

    I’ve been reading your Blog for a while now and really admire everything you do. Well done on having such a great craft show over the weekend. I’m about to launch a small business so reading what you go through has been very helpful to me.

    I am in awe of all you designers/crafters that get to go to Market …… I’m sure your business will make great strides after all that exposure.

  23. 24 Beth November 5, 2007 at 9:04 am

    I like the new direction and I’m so glad you found information and success with your recent show visits/displays. It’s so interesting to watch someone with a lot of talent evolve in style, presentation… Watching a business or identity grow and change. Thanks for sharing all you do here! I’m excited for you.

  24. 25 Randi November 5, 2007 at 9:25 am

    I love your new logo and the explanation that goes along with it! And i appreciate your words of wisdom about the pattern-making world. This is so much of a learning process that sometimes I feel overwhelmed with it!

  25. 26 Sarah November 5, 2007 at 9:25 am

    I hope one more comment wont scare you too much! I love the new logo, but I would change one thing. I’m not sure if the image is just stretched here, or what, but it’s a bit pixelated. I would smooth is out a bit… unless it’s just being stretched and that’s causing the pixelation.

  26. 27 southerngirlmusings November 5, 2007 at 9:42 am

    Love the new logo especially the color choices and the nod to your background and of course homeschooling. 😉 Comments will probably go through the roof but use a random number generator site or let your kids pick a number between 1 and whatever you wind up at, no pressure. 🙂

    As for the craft show that is awesome!!! Your stuff is great and you encourage the rest of us that we can discover our own hidden talents and nurture them in a way that blesses others. You deserve a gazillion comments and have a cupcake for me for your craft show success!

  27. 29 Erika Simpson November 5, 2007 at 9:55 am

    I made your diaper bag and love it.
    Branding is never a bad thing, and the logo looks great!

  28. 30 rebecca November 5, 2007 at 10:51 am

    I thought about just emailing you so you wouldn’t be so overwhelmed! but nah….
    I am so proud of you and told you from the beginning that you should be confident….love the new header/logo look!

  29. 31 michelle November 5, 2007 at 10:56 am

    I have just recently discovered the world of Blogs and I have also recently started sewing… your blog is such an inspiration and was one of my early favorites!

    Keep doing what you’re doing and have faith in yourself and your own gut instinct!!

  30. 32 fromthenarrows November 5, 2007 at 11:06 am

    Enter me!
    Susan
    fromthenarrows.wordpress.com

  31. 33 lera November 5, 2007 at 11:28 am

    Congrats on your successful craft show.

    Love your new logo. The description fits you perfectly.

  32. 34 Elizabeth November 5, 2007 at 11:29 am

    I love the new logo… and your description makes it even better.

    Congratulations on the successful craft show! A fresh perspective and seeing all the different ways everyone else does things really helps your mind sort things out. That’s why I love the internet: fresh ideas and inspiration really help me get more creative with what I’m doing.

  33. 35 Tami November 5, 2007 at 11:43 am

    Yeah!! You did a craft show. Congrats. Jeff keeps encouraging me to do them but I just don’t have the nerve. Like the logo

  34. 36 Holly November 5, 2007 at 11:57 am

    It’s very insightful of you to not only notice the difference between the “professional” and “home” designers’ looks, but to be able to turn that observation into a tangible change for your own business. That’s what learning is all about, right?

    Wish we lived closer so I could go to your craft show!

  35. 37 Cary November 5, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    Thanks for your blog and the opportunity to win one of your creations!

  36. 38 Janey November 5, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    I love the new logo. You are always inspiring as a fellow mom who is trying to have a “business” from home. Can’t wait to see what you create next.

  37. 39 Michelle November 5, 2007 at 2:45 pm

    I just love the silver apron! I thought to myself the other day that I should have an apron or two. Believe it or not, I don’t have a single one! Glad the Market went to well. I can’t to go check out our local craft fair in a couple weeks.

    Enter me in the draw only if you don’t mind that I’m in Canada. If not, that’s ok!

  38. 40 Shelly November 5, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    I just have to get in on this action!😉

  39. 41 Jes November 5, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    I like the new logo. I think it’s very hip and eye catching. I like that it means something to you, as well. You didn’t just do it because it was cool – big fan of that 😉

    Also, I think that having any evidence of what something looks like finished definitely helps sales. My friend and I are always drawn into the booths with the quilts on the walls or the bags hanging, etc. Seeing a sampling of fabric used together or a finished product is definite incentive to buy – or at least to go have a looksee.

    I’m glad the whole thing went so well. =)

  40. 42 Emily November 5, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    What fun to do so well at the show! Congratulations! I recently found your blog and I am glad that I did as it is a lovely place to visit! I have done a few craft shows too in Norway and your success really does seem to hinge on confidence in your wares and how it is displayed. Ease and pleasure in talking with customers really seems to boost sales.

    I am not selling things now,just making, using and blogging but love to read about others who do. (I dream about selling someday when the kids are bigger and I have time to spare…) Thank you for sharing how it went. It sounded really exciting!

  41. 43 Sarah November 5, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    I can tell that that’s the logo I cleaned up, but it’s still pixely… what size do you need the image? Maybe something happens when you resize it? I can make a bunch of sizes for you, if you want. To see if it helps with that.

  42. 44 Heather November 5, 2007 at 4:33 pm

    I love the new logo, pretty, professional & meaningful. And the booth looks great, I agree with Jes, we would definitely be drawn into your booth!

  43. 45 Amanda November 5, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    Your setup looks so neat and classy. Lovely!

  44. 46 Beth November 5, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    First, congratulations on your craft show success! And I think it’s so exciting that you’re applying what you learned at market to your business. Your logo seems very well thought out and I think it’s a terrific idea to unify your pattern covers. But I also think they already look very nice.

  45. 47 Smuddpie November 5, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    Yea for you! It is fun when others admire your work, isn’t it? The new logo looks nice. Market looked like a ton of fun.

  46. 48 Tracey November 5, 2007 at 6:58 pm

    What a great few weeks you’ve had! Well done!

  47. 49 Chris November 5, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    I love your logo. I think it really represents your style. It’ll be exciting to see your business continue to move forward.

  48. 50 kathy November 5, 2007 at 8:48 pm

    I love it Linda! It’s beautiful and simple. It think it really reflects you and your style. Pink, of course, is one of my favorite colors and you’ll find it goes with just about every other color, a great choice for a logo. I can’t wait to be rich and famous so I can hire a graphic designer, a web mistress, and a pattern stuffer. I’m going to pay them all extraordinarily well because I now know how much they’re worth!

  49. 51 Heidi November 5, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    Sorry to overload you with more comments! Love the new logo. I invested in one a few months ago too.

  50. 52 Carolyn November 5, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    Congrats on the show…..Love the logo too.
    Keep us posted if you give sewing lessons….I’ve been toying with the idea of offering lessons as part of a church/community project. Time will tell.

    Keep up the great work, your work is inspires me🙂

  51. 53 Kristi W November 5, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    Cute logo! I think you hit the nail on the head, when you are more confident, you will do better. I once made a bag for Etsy. I went around the forums so confident and proud. I just KNEW someone was going to buy it and it was gone in less than 24 hours!🙂 Wish I had that kind of confidence all the time. Don’t sell yourself short, you have great talent and patience. It takes something special to put together clear and precise patterns for others to enjoy. You know more than I how much work goes into it.
    I’m a huge fan of yours and you are such a sweet sweet woman. Good luck in all of your endeavors. I promise I will be watching (at least what ever you make public).🙂

  52. 54 Tammy November 5, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    Congrats on the great show!

  53. 55 Vickie E November 5, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    Great blog. I wish I had time to make my own pattern company…but it sadly/likely won’t pay as well as my ‘day’ job….so I can’t give that up. I just live vicariously through others’ blogs/businesses….

  54. 56 Courtney November 5, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    I love the new logo, especially the thought you put into the meaning of it all.

    Also, I am immensely appreciative of the fabulous way in which you have been successful in juggling a booming home business, home educating your children and blogging through it all to keep us inspired and informed. I struggle through those things on a much smaller, less successful scale and admire you greatly.

    Thanks you!

    Oh… and I would be beyond delighted to win one of your darling creations and I would SO keep if for myself!🙂

  55. 57 Becky November 5, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    It’s amazing what a difference a professional looking front makes in people’s opinions about your products. You have great patterns.

  56. 58 be1inda November 6, 2007 at 12:37 am

    I’ve been an avid reader for several months. It has been a joy to see you publish patterns and to see you evolve. I love your choice in the new logo. I think that you’ve definitely ‘got what it takes’! So keep it up!

  57. 59 missharleyquinn November 6, 2007 at 12:55 am

    You don’t need to include me in the give away, I just wanted to thank you for all that you’ve inspired me to do. Your blog was the first I had ever seen at WordPress and I fell in love with everything you created. I was always making costumes or quilts, but seeing your gorgeous bags and accessories blew me away. I’ve made purses and totes and odd little things I never would have made before I saw your blog. I still have a long way to go before they look more than ‘lovingly home made’, but that journey has been and is a blast. So, thank you so much for sharing your talents and visions with the rest of the world. What you make doesn’t just matter to the people that get the goodies, they matter just as much…maybe even more, to those of us who see them and think, “Wow! Maybe I could try to make something like that.”

  58. 60 Sam November 6, 2007 at 1:38 am

    Congratulations on a successful show. I can’t imagine how cool it was to be at market! I’m a homeschooling mom who would really like to make a go at a home business too, so I’m so thankful you’ve been sharing your process with us. I don’t think I’ll ever venture into pattern designing, but then you should never say never… 🙂

  59. 61 crysbou November 6, 2007 at 7:43 am

    Your new logo is great! It matches you perfectly. Those shows can be a bit intimidating. When you have a great product, word of mouth will sell it without it looking professional.

  60. 62 Debbie November 6, 2007 at 7:51 am

    Linda,
    I think the new logo is terrific especially the symbolism it displays. Congratultions on your successes and I appreciate your sharing all you learned at quilt market with us. Have a good one.

  61. 63 Rebecca November 6, 2007 at 9:49 am

    Avid reader & lurker here! Love the new logo & the meaning behind it ;>)I *so* enjoy reading about & being inspired by all your craftiness! Keep it up!

  62. 64 cindy November 6, 2007 at 10:05 am

    The new logo is adorable. I especially love the colors!🙂

  63. 65 Wendi November 6, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    I’m so envious that you were actually at the quilt market! I’ve wanted to go see it for years! Maybe when my kiddos are bigger.
    I think your craft show display looks very professional. I really stink at displaying things, so my stuff wouldn’t sell even if I made great products.

  64. 66 Jody November 6, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    Love the new logo! Congrats on doing well at the craft show – your display looks great!

  65. 67 Melissa November 6, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    Congrats on your show! I think that a dress form does make a big difference in presentation. I will have to remember that if I ever do a show.

  66. 68 karen November 6, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    Love the new look! Very pretty and eye catching.

    I’m in love with that Oliver+S website. I think I’m going to order a pattern! Thanks for the link. Got anymore like that?

    SIGN ME UP! I want to own one of your crafty designs.

  67. 69 Leah November 6, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    Congratulations on the craft fair success! Your stuff is so cute, I don’t know why people wouldn’t buy it :o)

  68. 70 Lala November 6, 2007 at 4:07 pm

    Hi Lindie!!! Congrats on the show success!!! THat is neat!!! I too kinda prefer the “homebiz” look myself… not so mass manufactured? Anyway… those cupcakes are adorable!!!

    ? for ya… read the previous post… what’s with the eye block in the pics??? Just curious… :o)

    Thanks for sharing the pics!!!

    Lala :o)

  69. 71 Amy November 6, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    Congratulations on your success at the show, you deserve it! I love your new look/logo. Great job!

  70. 72 Christina November 6, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    TC sent me over here to see your work!
    Love it all!! Beautiful🙂
    Best wishes,
    Christina

  71. 73 Ashley in Maryland November 6, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    Okay, I am a genius and commented on the wrong post (the one below)! Go me! : )

  72. 74 todayshomemaker November 6, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    Oh my…can’t resist a good contest (hehe!) I totally agree with you about branding. I’ve been to a couple of craft shows in my day, and the difference is night and day. From your photos, though, it looks like you’ve got a pretty cute setup! If you’re anything like me though, you’re a lot harder on yourself than other people are.🙂

  73. 75 tinkerverve November 6, 2007 at 9:34 pm

    I’m new to the blogging world and I gotta tell you, a lot of it is your fault. I started out at your blog and made the composition notebook cover. Then I looked through your world of blogging as well as your friends and I was so inspired. It made me think, “I can do that, too!”. The one fabric designer I have been wanting to meet is, guess who…Amy Butler (& I also hope to go the the quilt market someday). I couldn’t believe it last week when I went to your blog and there you were…with her. I was so excited for you. Thank you for the inspirations that you pass on to others and the tutorials that you work so hard on and are willing to share…for free!!! Another thing we share is that I am a PK (& I’m raising 3 of them). I hope that this allows you to view my humble beginnings-of-a-blog.

  74. 76 Violet November 6, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    Love the new look and congrats on the craft show.🙂

  75. 77 Nikki November 6, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    You are SUCH a talented person – I love your blog because you always have such neat ideas and yet you’re so darn humble. 🙂 Your style of writing makes you seem approachable.

    Great new logo!

  76. 78 Elizabeth K November 6, 2007 at 11:53 pm

    I like the new logo. Congrats on a successful show. I’ve been reading your blog for some time now (at least a year!) and you’ve come a long way in that time.

  77. 79 Stephanie November 7, 2007 at 12:59 am

    Oh, I really like the new look–so fresh and pretty. The other was okay, but I like this one MUCH better, and knowing why you did it the way you did makes it all the more meaningful.

    Congrats on the craft show success!

  78. 80 TC November 7, 2007 at 1:05 am

    Well. Have you got The Big Head yet, with all these comments?🙂

    Seriously, your readers know good stuff when they see it. I really think you have a future in this biz. You just need to make sure one of your boys grows up to be a web designer.

    And, dang it, I’m going to Market with you next year if I have to sell plasma to do it!😀

  79. 81 Kelley November 7, 2007 at 4:18 am

    I really have enjoyed your patterns I have purchased. I hope your success continues and even blossoms more. Also, the symbolism in the logo is very original-kudos.

  80. 82 Shelley November 7, 2007 at 9:17 am

    Well, I already have one of your patterns and will probably end up with all of them at some point. I think you’re doing a great job!

  81. 83 randomrevelations November 7, 2007 at 9:19 am

    Your new look is great! It will really stand out at a store. It was fun doing the show with you. Can’t wait for next year!

  82. 84 Natalie November 7, 2007 at 9:21 am

    I love your blog (and yes, I’m a lurker!). I haven’t sewn much for awhile, but seeing your beautiful projects is inspiring me to begin (again). Keep up the good work!

  83. 85 Monica November 7, 2007 at 9:52 am

    there’s nothing wrong in wanting to do the best we can… but don’t bow to outside pressure. We love what you do!

  84. 86 Tracy November 7, 2007 at 10:11 am

    LOVE the new logo–very pro, very pretty, very memorable. Your show booth looked super–fantastic offerings! So glad it was s hit. Onward and upward! ((HUGS))

  85. 87 Trintje November 7, 2007 at 10:20 am

    I love how you included the vowel symbol – go homeschool moms!!!🙂

  86. 88 Cindi November 7, 2007 at 11:32 am

    Oh Linda have we known each other two years! I am so proud of you. I love the new design. I was also impressed with your display at the craft show. I think you caught onto something I noticed, packaging is everything. Getting people to look, catching their eye. I just can’t tell you enough how much you impress me.

  87. 90 Elaine November 8, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    Linda~

    Looks like it was fun. I also like your displays and your new design. I always enjoy being inspired by your work.

    ~Elaine

  88. 91 Happy Zombie November 10, 2007 at 11:50 am

    I love your new logo Linda!!! As soon as I saw it – it just screamed YOU. A perfect fit!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives