Is it linen? Or is it Osnaburg?

Osna- what???  Up until a few months ago, I didn’t even know this stuff existed.  At my local JoAnn’s, it’s $4/yard.  Linen, I’ve learned, is made from flax.  The Osnaburg at JoAnn’s is made of cotton.  But it has a nice linen-y look, doesn’t it?

Table runner for my sister.

 

And normally I wouldn’t so blatantly copy someone’s table runner, but when my sister calls with a request to make one that looks “just like the one here,” and gives you the dimensions of her table, then I really try to do what I can. 🙂

seamstress apron-craftorama

 I like it for the background of this seamstress apron, too.  This and the cupcakes were  shop samples for Austin’s Craftorama, a shop that I’ve never been to, but looks like a place I’d love to go and hang out.  If you’re ever in Austin, stop by and buy some fabric and a pattern. 🙂

29 Responses to “Is it linen? Or is it Osnaburg?”


  1. 1 Amanda November 24, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    Ah! I’ve seen the Osnaburg at JoAnn’s, and wondered about it. Thanks for explaining the difference! I do like it, and the price difference certainly doesn’t hurt. It looks very nice in the table runner and apron!

  2. 2 Pieces November 24, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    I’ve never heard of osnaburg either. I’ll have to check it out. The runner turned out beautiful!

  3. 3 shannon November 24, 2007 at 4:06 pm

    Beautiful table runner. I’ve seen that Osnaburg at JoAnn’s too but haven’t bought it yet. Thanks for the feedback on it.

  4. 4 Beth November 24, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    Lovely table runner, and even better with the Fiesta bowl and clementines!

  5. 5 randomcontemplations November 24, 2007 at 8:57 pm

    Whatever it is, that is a really pretty table runner!

  6. 6 joanna November 24, 2007 at 11:42 pm

    I love, love, love it. It’s ridiculous how excited I am to see it in person. aaaah.

  7. 7 Sue B November 25, 2007 at 4:45 am

    Beautiful table runner, I like the combo of fabrics that you used. Those little cupcakes are too fun!

  8. 8 Ravenhill November 25, 2007 at 6:22 am

    The table runner is so great with the fabrics you picked out! It makes me want to run upstairs and attack some fabrics with my fabric cutter.

  9. 9 Beth November 25, 2007 at 7:48 am

    Your table runner is beautiful! You’ve inspired me to do something for my table.

  10. 10 creatist November 25, 2007 at 9:29 am

    I love it!!! it’s reallllllllllllly gorgeous!!🙂 sigh! another on to-do list… you are such an inspiration…🙂

  11. 11 Loretta November 25, 2007 at 9:46 am

    WOW, That is a beautiful tablerunner. I believe you have shown me the perfect item to complete MIL Christmas gift!
    Thanks!

  12. 12 Connie W November 25, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    My son uses osnaburg as jacket lining when he makes reproduction civil war uniforms. I helped him with the first jacket he made and that was when I first remember using it. Haven’t found other uses to date.

  13. 13 Bianca November 25, 2007 at 6:35 pm

    the table runner looks great, I love the colours

  14. 14 weirdbunny November 25, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    I love the new banner, and I’m so pleased you did so well at the craft fair ! ~ love Julia x

  15. 15 Mendy November 26, 2007 at 10:56 am

    Love the table runner! My poor table definitely needs some love, and this might be a great project to perk it up.

  16. 16 thedomesticdiva November 27, 2007 at 7:12 am

    How lovely!!! Love your fabric choices.

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  17. 17 randomrevelations November 27, 2007 at 8:50 am

    It turned out beautiful! So generous of you to cut those flowers so centered. I love it! I used some of the osnaburg to go with the Marimekko fabric and it looks great! Glad I was shopping with you that day!

  18. 18 Kristi November 27, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    Neat! I had never heard of it either.

    I loved your runner and used it for inspiration (and the one at Shimandsons, too) and whipped one up in a couple of hours yesterday afternoon to place for our dinner table guests last night!!! This is why I love blogs!

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  19. 19 TC November 27, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    Hmmm, I feel a road trip to Austin coming on …

  20. 20 Kristi November 27, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    Thanks, Linda. I had fun making mine and just posted a picture. In hindsight I would make the strips different widths like you guys did and make mine wider, but it was fun and quick!

  21. 21 creatist November 28, 2007 at 7:32 am

    btw.. have added you on my blogroll..🙂 do visit.. will be honoured🙂

  22. 22 Rachael November 29, 2007 at 1:22 am

    Never heard of it. But I like the table runner.

  23. 23 Chara Michele December 5, 2007 at 11:48 am

    Lovely tablerunner & craft apron!

    I have actually seen the osnaburg at Joann’s, but I still prefer 100% real linen… the feel of it is just different to me.🙂 Still though, the price of the osnaburg is a lot nicer! (Although I always buy my linen on sale so that the price isn’t quite so bad.)

  24. 24 Stephanie December 7, 2007 at 9:39 am

    I love the amy butler fabrics. You did a great job!!

  25. 25 Lynn August 5, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    My neighbor uses Osnaburg to make her own chenille. After I saw that, I used it as the center of the sandwich for a rag quilt. It fringes up beautifully.

  26. 26 Nancy March 22, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    As a former costume designer, I have used bolts and bolts and bolts of osnaburg. It has great texture, it dyes beautifully, and it is strong. However, it shrinks– a lot–so prewash anything that might be washed or cleaned.

  27. 28 judy January 2, 2013 at 7:53 pm

    wow…$4.00 a yard at your JoAnn’s…in FWB, Fl., they charge $5.99 a yard as of today’s date…..

  28. 29 http://storify.com/ March 25, 2014 at 7:01 pm

    hi!,I love your writing very so much! share we keep in touch more approximately your article on AOL?
    I need an expert in this space to solve my problem. May be that is you!
    Having a look ahead to see you.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives