Of Migraines and Magazines, Patterns and Purses

Yippee!  I’m published!  The Quilted Brag Book pattern is in the latest issue of Fiber&Stitch.

I'm published!

And I feel very cool with my new Fibre&Stitch mug.  Yes, I drink hot chocolate every morning.  To help me swallow my huge calcium pills.  Did you know a warm beverage helps you swallow big pills?  Very nice discovery for me.  Especially since I have a throat the size of a pea.  I quit drinking milk so I’m taking calcium pills.  I like milk, but after reading this little article, I decided to see if it would help my hormonal migraines if I quit feeding my body additional hormones.  And you know what?  It’s been 8 weeks and I’ve only had to take my migraine drugs once about 6 weeks ago.  For me, that’s HUGE.  Admittedly there is no real reasearch that I know of to back up the migraine-milk link that I’ve experienced.  But if you have had migraines like me, you are really willing to try just about anything to see if it works, especially after your super-strong migraine medicine fails.

The Small Books pattern includes the Quilted Brag Book and is available here.

21 Responses to “Of Migraines and Magazines, Patterns and Purses”


  1. 1 tanaya November 28, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    I think you are absolutely right about the hormone thing.

    I recently found a local farmer that sells grass-fed, organic, hormone free meat and I have noticed SUCH a major improvement in my migranes and my overall health.

    Enjoy your new mug!

  2. 2 Vicki W November 28, 2007 at 1:30 pm

    Congratulations!
    On the migraime thing – I have discovered that my migraines are mostly hormone-related too but I’m allergic to milk and haven’t had any dairy product in 20 years. I did discover that white tea REALLY helps control hormonal mood swings! You should see me when I skip a day – better not.

  3. 3 happypeony November 28, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    Congratulations on getting in the magazine! That must make you feel really good.

    Our entire family has been dairy free for ages and all feel much better for it! (We have had to cut out lots of other things too though…) One good thing to try to do is make bone broths /stock from chicken, beef or lamb bones. If you let it simmer for up to two days with lots of onions, carrots, cellery and thyme it is delicious and full of calcium and other minerals. You can freeze it in portion bags and take it out the day you need a quick meal.

    I wanted to say thank you for letting me know about the drawing! I love to enter drawings! Maybe I will win for once!? If you want to check out my blog I am having one too! Feel free to spread the word about that too.

    Really like to see the great things you make.

  4. 5 Sue B November 28, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    Thanks so much for being a part of issue 2 of Fibre&Stitch🙂

  5. 6 stacy November 28, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    Congratulations!!!!!! I can’t wait to see the article!

  6. 7 Beth November 28, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    Yea! I’m very excited for you!

    That’s good that you figured out that milk was causing you trouble!

  7. 8 Amy November 28, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    Oh, no! I thought I was okay because I have Oberweis organic milk delivered. Maybe not as okay as I thought.
    Congratulations on being published!

  8. 9 Mindy November 28, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    I am so glad that you are published!

    If you coat your pills with a bit of oleo (I would use butter but then I am a butter lover) they will slide down your tiny throat lickey split!

  9. 10 Karyn November 28, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    As a fellow migraine sufferer I understand “grasping at straws” to try to find a solution. I think I’d try just about anything to prevent getting migrianes. I’m glad that this seems to be working for you.

    And..congratulations on being published! You so deserve it!

  10. 11 TC November 28, 2007 at 7:33 pm

    Just one question: do you ever sleep?

  11. 12 SugarShop (Dena) November 28, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    Yay! Congrats on the magazine. You deserve it.I’m glad to hear that you are doing better with the migraines too. My good friend used too suffer badly from those and I know how awful they could be. Can’t wait to read about you in the magazine!

  12. 13 southerngirlmusings November 28, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    Congratulations!!!!

    My girlfriend gets migraines and I am going to share that article with her as she is to that point of being willing to try anything!!!

    Woohoo again to you…

  13. 14 lera November 28, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    Congrats on your publication!

    My friend gave up milk to see if it helped her complexion, but it didn’t help. She went back to drinking it. I hope it continues to help your migraines!

  14. 15 Elizabeth K November 29, 2007 at 12:17 am

    I hear you on the migraines! I was getting them several times a week this past spring. One of the factors that causes them, the barometric pressure, I can’t control but switching around my birth control pill has helped some.

    If you haven’t read the book Heal Your Headache, I highly recommend it. It’s got some good info about treating migraines and there is a section about how to eat to help control them.

  15. 16 Becky November 29, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    Congratulations on getting published!

  16. 17 thedomesticdiva November 29, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    Congrats to you!

    I look forward to checking out the article!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  17. 19 sara December 1, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    Good job!!!! I love your work!

  18. 20 Hilari December 4, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    Congrats! It couldn’t happen to a more talented designer/seamstress! Keep on rockin! ;D


  1. 1 For Kainoa « Mothers of Invention Trackback on January 3, 2008 at 7:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives