Craft Apple Speaks

Crafting and blogging has made me do things I never thought I’d do.  Like this week I went to a homeschool mom’s and daughter’s group to talk about sewing.  I have NEVER enjoyed speaking in front of a group of more than 3, but I had such a great time with these ladies!  If there’s any group of women as friendly as crafters, it’s homeschool Moms and their daughters.  With homeschool Dads and sons, it’s just hit or miss.  JUST KIDDING!  Anyhoo, I am a changed woman!  A couple of hours chatting about fabric and making cupcake pincushions with 14 other ladies and I could totally see myself doing this again.  And if any of you lovely ladies is reading, THANK YOU for being such a blessing to me! 

And what’s a post without a picture?

Maxi Patch shop sample

This is a shop sample patchfolio.  Not the mini, but the maxi.

Maxi Patch shop sample

Yep, it’s a maxi patch. (Thanks to Beth for it’s new name – ha!)

22 Responses to “Craft Apple Speaks”


  1. 1 Vicki W December 7, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    Congrats on the success of your first speaking gig! It’s always easy and fun when it’s something you are passionate about. I hope you do more of it!

  2. 2 Pauline December 7, 2007 at 1:55 pm

    I love the red and white fabrics, very striking. I’m glad you enjoyed your craft time.

  3. 3 Stephanie December 7, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    Hello!
    Yes, it is fabric. It hangs above my couch. I put it out at all my art shows and no one has bought it yet, but that is ok becasue its my favorite!:) I do a lot of fabric collage type stuff, and I love color. That is why I was so drawn to your blog; I love the fabric that you use. so wonderful.:)

  4. 4 Elaine December 7, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    Linda,

    I really like the red look of the maxi patch. I’m glad your business is doing so well.

    Elaine

  5. 5 Beth December 7, 2007 at 4:46 pm

    I love the red and white fabric! The small floral reminds me of a dress I used to have when I was little.

    Congratulations on a successful speaking (and sewing) engagement!

  6. 6 Melanie December 7, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    How fun! Wish I were there.🙂 BTW, I like the changes on your website.

  7. 7 YUMMERS! December 8, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    The ‘patchfolio’ is lovely… really lovely!! Of course red and white is my favorite combo. Glad you had fun teaching your group!
    Joni

  8. 8 Melanie Willows December 9, 2007 at 9:19 am

    Beautiful use of fabrics. Well done for having the courage to speak in public. I’m still very much at the “staying locked in the loo” in the bravery stakes.

  9. 9 Elizabeth K December 9, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    Good thing you don’t call it the maxi pad!🙂
    I like the red/white combo.

  10. 10 Cathy December 9, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    Hi! I’m back. I see you are doing even more beautiful books. I hear you on speaking in front of people. I thought I was going to have a heart attack the first time I taught a class. Congratulations, I’m sure you did a fantastic job!

  11. 11 Tracy December 10, 2007 at 5:59 am

    So glad you had fun…and so brave to stand up and speak in front of many people! Love what you’ve been working on–and than name is great! Your covered porfolios are terrific! Happy Day :o)

  12. 12 creatist December 10, 2007 at 6:23 am

    ” have NEVER enjoyed speaking in front of a group of more than 3, “… Bravo!! And those portfolio’s are simply awesome..

  13. 13 debra cooper December 10, 2007 at 9:46 am

    Lovely pattern combination! So pretty!

  14. 14 Dorothy December 10, 2007 at 9:52 pm

    Do u still have the tutorial for the artist case? I made one a long time ago and I was looking for it so I could sew some more.

  15. 15 southerngirlmusings December 11, 2007 at 11:28 pm

    Woohoo for you!!! I am so glad that it went well.

  16. 16 weirdbunny December 14, 2007 at 5:52 am

    I’m sure there is lots of groups of people who meet in the community who’d love to here your sewing talk. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. When we sew, we tend to shut ourselves in a room to concentrate so it’s good to mix with people !

  17. 17 domestichaven December 17, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    question, I ordered your pattern for the mini portfolio, LOVE IT! I was wondering what seam allowance to use, I could not find it indicate on the pattern? Thanks

    mimi

  18. 18 YUMMERS! December 17, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    He is so darling at the sewing machine. Sewing with great intent. A photo to save for his scrapbook.
    Joni

  19. 19 patchyapple December 19, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    Beautiful work mama!! Love red/white together, but more amazingly your attention to detail just awes me!

  20. 20 cindy December 21, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    Oh, the colors of your patchfolios are beautiful. I love looking at the pictures.🙂

  21. 21 Cathe February 4, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    That’s VERY pretty!


  1. 1 Sew Mama Sew Kicks Off February Quilt Month! « THE DOMESTIC DIVA’S DISASTERS™ Trackback on February 2, 2008 at 8:09 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives