Christmas Crafting

I admire all you women out there who craft with your kids.  I consider myself crafty, and think my kids are crafty, but usually we are doing our own crafty little things.  The kids draw, I sew.  The kids play with Play-Doh, I sew.  They wrap yarn around their toys to hang them here and there,  I sew.  Do you see the trend we have?  So I’ve been trying to do better.

When Timo (pronounced Tee-moe) turned 6, I started teaching him how to sew.  I didn’t know how interested he’d be but he seems to love it.  It is, after all, a big machine with a dangerous needle going up and down – 2 very appealing things for a young boy.  He turns the speed down and I make sure the biggest presser foot is on there and away he goes.  He’s made more pirate eye patches and stuffed balls than I can count.

T-Sewing

Then this week we made snowmen.  Little hands working hard to wrap the wire, and little faces serious in concentration.  It was very sweet. 

Christmas Crafting

This Christmas craft was brought to us by Lera, who sent me the little wreathes that I couldn’t find locally.  Thanks so much!  The kids and I had a lot of fun!

snowmen

23 Responses to “Christmas Crafting”


  1. 1 Sue B December 15, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    Oh he is too cute sitting there at that machine! Good for him learning to sew. Those little snowman are very fun, what a great craft project that is.

  2. 2 lera December 15, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    Look how cute the snowmen turned out!!

  3. 3 Beth December 15, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    Sew, Timo, sew! How great that he loves to do that. Your snowmen turned out so cute. I’ll bet they are very excited about them.

  4. 4 Mendy December 15, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    Pirate eye patches! What a great idea!

    I bought my daughter one of those Sew Cute sewing machines a few years ago, and it is the most adorable piece of useless pink plastic that you have ever seen. Waaaaay too light to do any sewing on. I promptly showed her how to use my machine. Much safer.

    Cute ornaments!

  5. 5 christie December 15, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    Boy, it’d be great if you could spend a post talking about how you went about teaching him to use your machine. My daughter is six and I’m about to get myself a new machine, so things are ripe teach her, but I can;t even being to figure out how.

  6. 6 randomrevelations December 15, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    What a big guy! Look at him in action. Those snowmen are cute. I would have never thought to use wooden wreaths.

  7. 7 Kristi December 15, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    This warms my heart! How adorable… I applaud you for letting him try his hand at the machine. I laughed – my kids are all under the age of 4 and I am the same way with the me-sew / they play and color, but my oldest daughter lit up like a fire last week when we cut out felt crosses and hearts and “sewed” them together into a necklace! She carried it around without letting go of it for days!

  8. 8 southerngirlmusings December 15, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    Love the snowmen and love Timo learning how to sew as one should never run out of pirate patches. 🙂

  9. 9 Heather December 16, 2007 at 12:12 am

    I’m looking forward to when my boys are old enough to do projects with/around!🙂

  10. 10 kerry December 16, 2007 at 1:10 am

    They are never to young to learn to use the machine, just think they will be able to mend there own cloths LOL
    Very cute snowman.

  11. 11 Becky December 16, 2007 at 7:26 am

    I’m just so amused by the way you phrased the appeal of a sewing machine to a young boy! And it makes me smile that he makes himself pirate eye patches.😀

  12. 12 Cathy December 16, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    It is so hard to do something you love with your kids. I don’t want to break my concentration when I’m sewing or knitting in order to find that zen place you need to be when crafting with kids. Having said that, I have spent time with my son sewing with both needle and machine. I should show him how to make a stuffed creature, I bet he would love it as much as your boys! The snowmen are very cute… that looks like a great craft for kids.

  13. 13 thedomesticdiva December 17, 2007 at 7:54 am

    Look at him go! I, too, am in the process of teaching my 6 yo son to sew on the machine…so far we’ve done a bunch of Star Wars’ Jedi cloaks/capes…for the 4 inch action figures…LOL!

    Happy Holidays!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  14. 14 Monica December 17, 2007 at 8:14 am

    how cute!

    and yes, we have the same trend here…

  15. 15 Ravenhill December 17, 2007 at 9:42 am

    What sweet photos of your little dearies so deeply concentrated on their tasks.

  16. 16 Chara Michele December 17, 2007 at 10:42 am

    Definitely moments that you will cherish!🙂

    I am sure that you get asked this all the time, but I am curious what Bernina machine you have if you don’t mind my asking… (I have been thinking about upgrading to a new sewing machine for quite awhile & am just starting to do a bit of research on what I want…)

  17. 17 knitserland December 17, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    This reminds me that it’s been a while since I pulled the sewing machine out for my girls. It’s such a great creative outlet for kids and there are so many fabulous ideas during the holiday season.

    Sew on!

  18. 18 Billie December 17, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    Aww, he looks so cute at the machine. I remembered when I tried to get my daughter to sew at age 9, she didn’t like it. Now, at 22, she loves to sew and is quite good at it! I love the snowmen, I’ll have to remember that project with my kiddoes at work. Very cute!

  19. 19 rebecca December 17, 2007 at 11:34 pm

    I give you credit for allowing him to use the machine….with no steel tipped gloves…helmet, goggles even. A needle could go flying!

    I happen to know my Georgie (5 yr old) would give his eye teeth to “help me” sew. And my oldest just got into hand sewing. I am comfortable with that except that she wants help. I have a machine, so I don’t especially like to hand sew.

    Just letting your kids do the crafts and not totally being the mother hen like me is a huge thing. I totally applaud you!!!!
    Happy Holidays my paper doll girl…I will be in touch btw…

    I got something totally cool in the mail and just haven’t had the time to deal with it!

  20. 20 weirdbunny December 19, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    I think he’s definatley taking after his Mum !! Look at the concentration !

  21. 21 Allie December 20, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    Very sweet! Thanks for sharing that.

  22. 22 Linda December 22, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    Your son looks like he is concentrating so hard on the sewing! It is very cute, and good for him to learn to sew. A lot of moms wouldn’t think to teach their boys how to sew, but it is a good life skill to have.

  23. 23 Barb January 8, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    Ooh a future contestant for Project Runway! It’s adorable to see him sewing, and it’s a wonderful life skill too. Oops, I see Linda just said that. Oh well, it’s true.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives