It’s been a Pillowcasey Christmas…

It’s been a pilowcasey Christmas.  Here is a sample from the 10 pillowcases I’ve made over the past few weeks.  One for each of my friend Em’s 8 kids and 2 for December birthdays.

pillowcases

And for my pastor’s 3 girls, jewelry display frames.  I was a pastor’s kid and missionary kid and remember all the nice things people that I barely knew would send us during the year.  It just feels right to give a little something to our pastor’s kids, just like others did for me.

jewelry frames

Fabrics are (from left to right): Anna Griffin’s Bailey, Moda’s Full Moon Forest, Amy Butler’s Charm, Michael Miller’s Feelin’ Groovy.  Aren’t those little flower pushpins from Target cute???

I am thinking about making one for myself.  One of the results of having my 3 babies in 2 1/2 years was that I quit wearing earrings (I mean who had time to do something so frivolous like put in earrings???) and at some point between feedings and diaper changes, my ear lobes healed themselves.  It was like going down memory lane looking at the earrings I had – which ones were given to me, which ones I bought in Taipei’s Shilin Night Market (a great picture can be found here – oh I miss that place!), which ones I wore to my friend’s weddings, etc.  I think I might like having some of them hanging in the closet or the bathroom where I can see them.

And now the holiday sewing/crafting is done.  It’s time to relax!  Wishing you a blessed Christmas!

34 Responses to “It’s been a Pillowcasey Christmas…”


  1. 1 fromthenarrows December 21, 2007 at 1:29 am

    I love the jewelry frames. I know my daughter would love them too. I need something for my earrings. Right now they are in a jumbled mess.
    Susan

  2. 2 Sue B December 21, 2007 at 4:29 am

    What great gifts Linda. Love those jewelry frames, I am sure they’ll appreciate them.

  3. 3 Chris December 21, 2007 at 5:37 am

    I love the fabric combinations!

  4. 4 Beth December 21, 2007 at 7:13 am

    Your gifts all look great and they will be well-loved. I hope that you and your family have a joyous Christmas!

  5. 5 Shelly December 21, 2007 at 7:39 am

    Hi Linda,

    I used to make earrings and necklaces. But when I had my kiddos, I stopped wearing, too. I cower from my jewelry box which is chock-full of homemade earrings. Yikes.

    I made a jewelry frame once, but strung wire across the frame to make a holder. I put screws in the frame and didn’t have cork board. You might try string a pipe cleaner between two pins…I don’t know if it’d hold up, but most of the dangly hook earrings I had were light….

    Just a thought…

    I love everything as usual.

    Pillow cases are fun!

    Merry, Merry Christmas.

  6. 6 Tracy December 21, 2007 at 8:33 am

    Love those jewelry frames! I hope you get to wearing earrings again–a little sparkle always looks great on a girl! Your many pillow cases are wonderful–so cheerful the fabrics…definitely sweet dreams to be had while asleep on those! Looking forward to seeing your crafing in the New Year. Wishing you & your a very Happy Holiday Season, peace and many blessings in the New Year! ((HUGS))

  7. 7 Dawn December 21, 2007 at 9:05 am

    I made pillowcases too!!! Love the simplicity of the gift – it also appeals to my practical side as well.
    I hear you on the gifts for the PKs. I was a PK, too…and rec’d lovely things from the folks in our churches. One year, I rec’d an entire wardrobe for my doll.
    Sooo beyond the beyond.
    Doll clothes are a bear to make…for me anyway…so fussy.
    Anyway…all that to say – I like the jewelry frames. I think you need to get your ears done again so you can wear all your nice pieces that have so many memories attached to them.
    Happy Christmas to you and yours.
    Have the very best one ever.
    God is good. Amen?

  8. 8 Adrienne December 21, 2007 at 9:32 am

    Been snooping around your site for sometime…love all that you make – these pillowcases are great! I’ll have to add that to my list of ‘to do’s’…Merry Christmas!

  9. 9 beki December 21, 2007 at 9:55 am

    Merry Christmas Linda!!

  10. 10 cindy December 21, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    CUTE!!!! Cute Pillowcases and Cute frames. You should go get your ears repierced so you can wear some of your memories.🙂 Great work, as usual.🙂

  11. 11 thedomesticdiva December 21, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    Love the pillowcases, but WOW…those jewelry frames are NEAT!

    Happy Holidays Linda!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  12. 12 Stacy T December 21, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    Those pillowcases are so cute, I am sure they will be loved!! And the jewelry frames, what a neat idea!

    Merry Christmas and God Bless
    Stacy (Patchy)😉

  13. 13 sillydreamer December 21, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    The pillowcases are cute and I’m sure will be well loved. I love, love, love the jewelry frames. I may have to steal that idea myself!

  14. 14 Becky December 22, 2007 at 9:35 am

    Those jewelry frames are such a cute idea– can’t steal because, since I also make jewelry as one of my hobbies, I have so many necklaces and earrings that I’d probably need an entire wall! But they’re still cute. And I love the pillowcases, they’re so bright and cheery!

  15. 15 Janey December 22, 2007 at 10:53 am

    Linda,
    what great gift ideas I love them all. I made a few pillow cases this year too. Kids just love them. I may have to make the jewelry idea for my girls after Christmas. Happy Holidays to you and your family.

  16. 16 Yvonne December 22, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    The young ones will love their pillowcases! They are so, so cute. Yay for you, getting them completed!!

    I know the O. girls will like the jewelry frames too, what a neat idea! I loved stuff like that when I was a young girl, and those are so beautiful I like them as an adult!🙂 I remember rearranging all of my earrings on my earring tree…

    Merry Christmas and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

  17. 17 Kris C. December 22, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    I love the pillowcases! Especially the green one with the robots/aliens/whatever! I want some of that fabric!

    How did you make your jewelry frames? Is it just fabric in a frame, and then use the pushpins? Or something else? I know a family with four girls that could use this….

  18. 18 missharleyquinn December 23, 2007 at 12:00 am

    The items you made are so lovely…and I’m with Kris C….How did you make the jewelry frames?

  19. 19 YUMMERS! December 23, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    I loved seeing all your pillowcases! So lovely together. I just ordered fabric for Valentine’s Day pillowcases. Can’t wait to get started… in the new year.
    Merry Christmas!
    Joni

  20. 20 Kristi December 23, 2007 at 1:47 pm

    I love both of those gift ideas!

    I didn’t know you were a PK / MK. That’s great! I didn’t know you had your boys so closely together, either. We’re having our fourth in five years this year!!! It’s a wild ride, but I wouldn’t trade it for ANYTHING!! 🙂

    I finished all of my crafting Saturday night. My husband had to make me stop because once I got going, I wanted to make 1,000 other things for everyone!! 🙂

    Have a Merry Christmas!

  21. 21 kerry December 24, 2007 at 6:18 am

    Merry Christmas to you and your family
    x Kerry

  22. 22 Carolyn December 24, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    Linda…..

    love the pillowcases…pillowcases also make great suprise packages for college students…especially flannel ones in the winter time🙂

    love the jewelry frames too, please post a tutorial for those!

    Have a blessed Christmas!!!

  23. 23 Hilari December 25, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    Oh Wow! What lovely gifts!!! Hope you had a Merry Christmas! And when you get your ears pierced again, let me know! I have something to send you! 😀

  24. 24 Mendy December 26, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    OK, I’m completely enthralled by the jewelry display frames. Is there cork beneath the fabric?

  25. 25 AJ December 26, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    Cool pillowcases and I love the frames. I can relate to having no time for earings, I have just had my third child in three year and I only put on earings for really special occasions.

  26. 26 Euphoria December 28, 2007 at 10:47 am

    WOW- have you been busy!!! Love the firetruck one. Hope you had a great Christmas!!!

  27. 27 Adrienne December 29, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    I’m back…thanks so much for stopping by! I’m flattered that you like my Lindie bag – that’s the 2nd one i’ve made – love them – they are sooo easy and cute. Now I just need to make one for me. I plan to try your ‘not a tutorial’ lotus bag. I love that fabric – made a tote out of that. I also have my eye on your seamstress apron. Just waiting to finish all the other stuff on my list! I know…the apron would make it a lot easier😉 Here’s to sewing!!!

  28. 28 shereee December 30, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    hope you enjoyed a wonderful Christmas–what lovely gifts–the jewelry frames are really darling–my daughter needs something like that for her room!

    Happy New Year.
    Sheree

  29. 29 Monica December 30, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    great idea the pillow cases! (8 kids? respect.)

    and the frames too. You clever girl.

    Hope you had a wonderful Christmas.

  30. 30 Karen December 30, 2007 at 6:10 pm

    Beautiful Pillowcases! Did you use a pattern? Would you share? It looks like a fun project to do with my daughter.

  31. 31 Ravenhill December 31, 2007 at 1:23 am

    The jewelry frames are a marvelous idea! And the pillowcases are wonderfully bright and cheery! What a kind and generous soul you are.

    Wishing you a splendidly creative 2008! I will be reading and enjoying visiting!

  32. 32 knitserland January 3, 2008 at 2:22 am

    What cute gifts the earring frames are. My girls would love those and I think I have a stack of unused frames in my basement. I have to look.

    What did you use behind the fabric?

  33. 33 Elizabeth January 5, 2008 at 12:43 am

    The fabric looks great on the magazine rack. What an excellent solution that is to the ever present problem of organizing fabric.

  34. 34 Tiff @ Three Peas in a Pod January 7, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    That is such a neat idea! I have some wall space in my office and a gift card to Garden Ridge! Yahoo!!!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives