Customer Service & Organization

I gotta say, my Starbucks has the BEST customer service.  I left my name and # with them asking them to call me if they decided to sell their Christmas decorations and looky here, I’m gettin’ ready for Christmas 2008:

SBucks-Christmas

Yep, they called me.  Everything was $5 except the big tree.  It was FREE.  The fact that these are made with paper is so ME.  Even though I just purged 80% of my stamping stuff and gave it to a friend.  My first love is still fabric.  Hmmm…maybe Starbucks will add some fabric to their decorations next year?  One of these wreathes is going to Cindy.  She’s the one that noticed them in the first place.  Happy New Year Cindy!

Now speaking of customer service, I’ve had a couple of patterns returned to me (due to post office errors) since I’ve started Craft Apple Creations and each time they look like they’ve been run over by a truck.  Does anyone know if this is this normal?

Now on to 2008.  I’ve decided I’ve got to get organized.  I’ve somehow let myself think I can do it all and this is just not possible.  Instead of starting 4 new things, I really need to just focus on one at a time.  Having my fabric laying all over the floor doesn’t help things.  You see, I need to see my fabric.  I need to walk by it and get inspired and the floor (or the ironing board, or the back of the couch) is the only way I’ve managed to do this until now.

fabric rack

I found this handy magazine rack that I can hang my fabric on, especially those fat quarters, no?  I put it up on Jan. 1.  So I guess it could just be a reflection of what’s ahead.  My sewing room really isn’t a disaster, but I could spend some time organizing in there.  When it’s clean I’ll see if I can get the guts up to post about it.

And aren’t those metal numbers great?  Yep, I did some shopping over Christmas break.  :)  And I noticed that this craft organizer is on sale. (1.7.08: just noticed that it’s now sold out.  Any commission PB would like to give me for helping sell this product would be appreciated, thanks! ;))  It’s a lot like the one in this post that several people asked about.  So I’m not trying to tempt anyone to shop if they shouldn’t, I’m just passing the word along.  Now back to the metal typography.  I’ve been wanting to put the word “Welcome” in my entryway for about a year now.  The chip board letters just didn’t work out for me.  So even though it’s not all that crafty, I’m posting one thing I got done this week. 

welcome3

Happy New Year!

39 Responses to “Customer Service & Organization”


  1. 1 Karyn January 3, 2008 at 6:12 am

    What a great idea using a magazine rack to display your fabric! And those Christmas decorations are amazing!

    Happy New Year!

  2. 2 Mary January 3, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Score! Very cool that they remembered and called you. Love what you did with the metal letters and numbers, too.

  3. 3 Kristi W January 3, 2008 at 9:18 am

    That’s so funny I was about to tell YOU that the PB craft organizer was on sale. Just because we’d talked about it before. Gulp, I bought one. I noticed those Starbucks decorations too and loved them. Never thought to ask about buying them. Great idea! Lucky you!

  4. 4 southerngirlmusings January 3, 2008 at 9:21 am

    Oooh, I can’t start off the new year being jealous, but I am glad you had the forethought to ask as I just slobbered over them when I went into my local Starbucks (local being used loosely as I seem inundated by them). 🙂

    Love the magazine rack idea and the other crafty bits of genius.

    Can’t help you on the patterns as I am so not there. 😉

    Happy New Year to you and yours.

  5. 5 Katie January 3, 2008 at 10:15 am

    I like the magazine rack idea! My fabric is folded and sitting in overflowing rubbermaid containers. I can mostly see it, but that’s not my problem in my sewing room. My problem is all of the other non-crafty junk that’s piled up in there. It’s the bonus room, which they really should just call extra garage. Or something like that.

    The metal letters are really neat, too!

  6. 6 Elaine January 3, 2008 at 10:58 am

    I need to see my fabric for inspiration as well. I want to do more sewing and creatively when my favorite ones are visible. Thanks for the post the magazine rack idea. I’m excited about finding one for my little space.

  7. 7 Jessica January 3, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    Sweet dibs on the Starbucks stuff! What a great deal!! and I LOVE that “welcome” pic!!!

  8. 8 Pieces January 3, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    That Welcome picture is so great! And the magazine rack–genius.

  9. 9 Monica January 3, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    I love that fabric/magazine rack. Great idea.

  10. 10 Jenny January 3, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    I love the letters and numbers please share where they came from. The magazine rack is a great idea.

  11. 11 rebecca January 3, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Happy New Year!!! (and a belated Merry Christmas…….) seriously, I guess I have been a Moose lately! And you are tempting me with that craft organizer but I am afraid it is not big enough, or maybe I need to start purging!

    Also, I got something in the mail before christmas……indirectly from you….honestly don’t know if I have told you yet. hugs!

  12. 12 Stacy T January 3, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    What a clever way to see your fabric and let it “speak” to you!!

    Off to checkout the craft organizer….

    Happy New year!
    Stacy
    Patchyapple

  13. 13 Janey January 3, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    What a great idea to ask Starbucks about their decorations. They look great. Also love how you put the fabric where you can see it. Glad you’re back to blog-land was wondering where you went.

  14. 14 Beth January 3, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    I love how your fabric looks on the rack! That’s much better than having it folded in a pile and having to look through it for each project.

  15. 15 Lala January 3, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Hi Lindie!!! Happy New Year to YOU… you LUCKY DUCK!!! LOVE the Starbucks decorations… SMART COOKIE to leave your name and number!!!

    OK… THAT magazine rack would be PERFECT for my ROLLS and ROLLS of ribbon!!! And of course SEEING the fabric is the first step in being inspired!!!

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the numbers and letters (are the letters metal too?)

    Looks like you have gotten off to a very “creative” New Year!!!

    Lala :o)

  16. 16 Regina January 3, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    Happy New Year Linda!! Can’t wait to see all of your wonderful creations for this new year.

    Oh and, great score on the Starbucks decor.

    All the best to you!

  17. 17 Sue B January 4, 2008 at 3:34 am

    Gotta tell you, love that magazine rack idea. Now I just need to find some wall space!

    Personally, I wouldn’t take a return on a pattern once it’s been opened since there would be no way to know whether or not it had been copied. Just like when you buy a piece of software, once you break the seal, it’s yours.

  18. 18 macati January 4, 2008 at 4:28 am

    hi!
    I wish you a great 2008!🙂

  19. 19 Marianne January 4, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Could you provide a link to the magazine rack? Or what is it particularly called so that I could search for one like that? I love the idea!

  20. 20 patti January 4, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Great score from Starbucks! Where did you find the numbers and letters?

  21. 21 Kat January 4, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    Your fabric displayed on the magazine rack is lovely! What inspiration!

  22. 22 Melanie January 4, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    I got busy following your links and ended up spending quite some time on PB looking around. 🙂 Great stuff, as usual! I’m having a hard time visualizing the scale of the magazine rack in relation to the room….so be sure to post pictures of your whole room…sometime, when you are comfortable!

  23. 23 thedomesticdiva January 4, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    Looks like you scored, Linda! Excellent!

    Love your new “fabric display!” How creative!!! Funny thing is I have something like that (it’s a huge hanging magazine rack I bought at HomeGoods) which I’m going to do the same with…thanks for the inspiration!

    Now you KNOW I’m wanting to see pics of that sewing room…fess up alreaedy…LOL!

    Wishing you all things good in 2008!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  24. 24 Elizabeth January 4, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    I’ve been eyeing up the Pottery Barn catalog, drooling over all the things to organize once our house is done. I love your rack for the fabric, great idea! And you can move the fabrics and change them out and get new inspiration. I have to remember this, I’m currently bookmarking things in my brain to use in our home office/craft room in the new house.

  25. 25 Mendy January 4, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    I really love the Welcome sign!

  26. 26 weirdbunny January 4, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Well done on the Christmas decorations from Starbucks. i mean if you don’t ask you don’t get do you ~ love julia x

  27. 27 Debbie January 4, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    Great haul on the Starbucks decorations. I really liked them this year. Our Starbucks decorations were all blue and silver. No red.

    Also like your idea of the magazine rack to display your fabrics. I like the idea of being able to lay them out, play with combinations and then walk away.

    As usual lots of great ideas on your site! Happy New Year.

  28. 28 Tracy January 5, 2008 at 7:40 am

    WOW–great deal, and super pretties! LOVE how you’ve organized and displayed your fabrics–genial. Here’s to a very crafty and inspired New Year! :o)

  29. 29 Missy January 6, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    Wow! You scored with the Starbucks Christmas decorations! I love those! I wish I had thought to ask at my local Starbucks!
    And, I love your fabric hanger!!! Amazing!
    Happy New Year!
    Missy

  30. 30 paperseed January 6, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Loving that fabric rack!

  31. 31 Quirk January 7, 2008 at 10:15 am

    That is so awesome about Starbucks! AWESOME!!!

  32. 32 Mimi January 7, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Nice score from Starbucks! That is beyond customer service!!!

  33. 33 Rosalie January 8, 2008 at 2:53 am

    Great stuff from Starbucks you lucky girl!!! and I love your idea for putting all your fabric so that you can see it. I am the same way I have to see all my fabric to get inspired and to create. I think I will go out and get one of those magazine racks.
    Rosalie

  34. 34 Fiona (Dragonfly-Crafts) January 8, 2008 at 6:01 am

    Looks like you’ve had a great new years resolution.
    Organisation looks great. I too would love something like that.
    I buy new fabrics and hate putting them away.

  35. 35 Marla January 8, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Love the fabric idea and also the “Welcome” sign. Very cute!

  36. 36 Jrizzo January 9, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    I just found your blog and love it! Great pictures and projects! You are very talented!
    Jen R

  37. 37 cindy January 10, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    Oh, I love free stuff! Great score.🙂 I love, love, love the Welcome sign. Anyone coming in, will definitely feel welcome!🙂

  38. 38 Gretchen January 12, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    “Instead of starting 4 new things, I really need to just focus on one at a time.”

    Today is the day I’m re-sorting my craft stuff. No small task as it’s taking over my craft room, dining room, and my side of the bedroom!

    Love the wall-mount – fabric looks wonderful!

  39. 39 sara January 24, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    I love that magazine rack for your fabric!!! SO cute!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives