Quilted Toolbelts

I made myself a quilted toolbelt for the craft show I had a few months ago.  It was really nice to have easy access to my receipts and a pen.  It reminded me of my waitressing days in college without the, “Hi my name is Linda.  Would you like to start off with some hot tea?”  I worked in an Asian restaurant.  Korean & Chinese, actually, and that is where I fell in love with BiBimBop in a hot stone bowl.  Yum, yum!   

So I had also made a few quilted toolbelts to sell at the show as well and they sold rather quickly.  I’ve said before that I find craft shows incredibly unpredictable.  There’s no guarantee that if I do the same show next year that anyone would want one, but I decided to make some up anyway (feeling quilty about having an empty Etsy shop), and that’s when I found the last post’s sewing tip quite handy.  Here are a couple of the toolbelts I made last week:

Quilted Toolbelts

I was in contact with a magazine editor and submitted this pattern to a quilt magazine.  We’ll see what happens with that.   For now, I’m just waiting.  And as for the picture above?  I’ve been playing around in Photoshop, trying to teach myself how to work with layers.  All you digital scrapbookers out there have me impressed and awed by your talent!  The picture above took me an entire hour and I still see things that need fixing.  See the pretty charm necklace?  It’s a lovely gift from Tinker.  Thank you!

22 Responses to “Quilted Toolbelts”


  1. 1 Tracy January 28, 2008 at 5:58 am

    The belts are fantastic–very graphic and fun! Your pattern will surely be chosen–they’d be crazy not to accept it! Your photos is terrific–very stylish! Happy, creative week to you ((HUGS))

  2. 2 Jenny January 28, 2008 at 8:04 am

    Is it a fruedian slip that you wrote “feeling Quilty about having an empty etsy shop”😀 I find that as a knitter, especially a knit blogger, I have real problems writing things like “pearl” or especially “magnets” (I always want to type “MagKnits” )

    Happy Monday!

  3. 3 stacysews January 28, 2008 at 9:10 am

    I love the photos of the new toolbelts. They look great – and I have no doubt that the quilting magazine will be interested! If not, have you thought about contacting another sewing magazine for submission?

  4. 4 Beth January 28, 2008 at 9:28 am

    Your tool belts look great! And I love the Photoshopping (is that a word?!) that you did.

  5. 5 Kiva, Southern Girl Musings January 28, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Great aprons and good photoshop skills, way to go!!! I still have one of my black aprons from my waitress days. 🙂

    I am sure that your pattern will be picked up, keep inspiring.

  6. 6 Laura January 28, 2008 at 10:53 am

    You think an hour was a long time? I don’t have photoshop yet but I can guarantee that I would have been HOURS doing that. I’m still embarrased at how long it took me to get the widget from Pattern Review onto my side bar!! Those aprons look great! And they certainly don’t always have to be used just for sewing!!

  7. 7 jessica January 28, 2008 at 10:56 am

    i love these! be sure to enter my funky giveaway this week! ~jessica
    http://www.funkyfinds.blogspot.com

  8. 8 thedomesticdiva January 28, 2008 at 11:57 am

    Linda…those are adorable! Keeping my fingers crossed for you that the Quilt mag recognizes your talent!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  9. 9 fromthenarrows January 28, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    I love the red one! I wish I could think of a reason to use one of these.
    Susan

  10. 10 randomrevelations January 28, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    I love the look. You never know what to expect from you. I gotta go, I’m feeling quite “quilty” myself!!

  11. 11 Florence January 28, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    I love what you’ve done in Photoshop! The toolbelts are rather gorgeous too. x

  12. 12 reneeparker January 28, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    Everything you do is awesome. I love the belt. I love the Photoshop design. So lovely.

  13. 13 Melanie January 28, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    I love love love it! I think the photo is fabulous. I so don’t get photoshop. It’s beyond me. I need to take a class or buy a book or something, because whatever I want to do naturally is absolutely wrong. And I love mine too, by the way! My first show for this year is Feb. 10th….so I will be using it then. You always do GREAT work. I admire everything that I know about you. 🙂

  14. 14 tinkerverve January 28, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    You are welcome. Great pics and I love the apron. I don’t know if you saw the fun one (that is similar) on my blog. I have been doing cleaning jobs for several years and I use one like that to work in. It’s so handy. My blog is a little slow going these days. I have been moving and I am right in the middle of it all. I hope to catch up soon. Blessings! Tink!

  15. 15 Stacy T January 28, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    GOrgeous tool belts and picture!!😀

  16. 16 Chris January 29, 2008 at 5:54 am

    I love the apron. You are so talented. How exciting to talk about having the pattern in a magazine. I will definitly buy a copy.

  17. 17 Stephanie January 29, 2008 at 9:19 am

    these are adorible! I get so frusterated when I put my scissors down somewhere in the midst of my fabric laying everywhere and can’t find them…these are genius!🙂

  18. 18 Fiona (Dragonfly-Crafts) January 29, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Love the colours in the toolbelts. The picture/promo looks great.
    Very bright and inviting. Goodluck with the outcome.

  19. 19 Tamara January 29, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    I love the toolbelts. What a great idea. I hope the quilting magazine realizes how much they NEED your pattern in their magazine!

  20. 20 Quirk January 29, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    So fancy and needed by all of us crafters out there! Great idea!

  21. 21 wondermommy January 30, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    Those are beautiful. I really think the quilt magazine will jump at the chance to have that pattern. The photo is great, too!

  22. 22 Emily February 1, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    I just discovered your blog and I’m loving it. You are SO talented. It’s inspiring. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives