New Favorite Fabrics

This weekend I got a chance to play around with some of my new favorite prints:

1. Tina Given’s Zazu – chandeliers and florals.  Swatches are at Free Spirit.  This fabric is just beautiful.  I look at the chandeliers and wonder, “Why didn’t I think of that?”  Of course, if I had thought of it, I certainly wouldn’t have been able to draw it.  Ha!  But still. 

Mini Patches

Seamstress Apron

  Shop sample Seamstress Apron going to AboveAllFabric.

2. This cute floral print from Kokka .  I think it goes magnificently with the solid Kona cotton in Candy Pink on these Mini Patchfolios.

Kokka Mini Patch

3. And, of course, Amy Butler’s Nigella that goes stunningly (yes, stunningly, I say!) with Kona Cotton in Coal.  This is the latest car organizer prototype.  Pattern progress is coming along.  This model is the most sturdy so far, but is still in need of some tweaking.   Construction is still not as simple as I would like. So I’m plugging away.

Nigella organizer

I drive a Honda Odyssey, but if anyone else has a different model of minivan, and has the time, I would love to know the space (in inches) you have for a car organizer.  Thank you!

37 Responses to “New Favorite Fabrics”


  1. 1 Vicki W February 5, 2008 at 7:55 am

    Those are all great fabrics!

  2. 2 Stephanie February 5, 2008 at 9:18 am

    Beautiful patterned fabric! You always find such gorgeous stuff!🙂

  3. 3 Beth February 5, 2008 at 9:30 am

    Your projects all look great! Let me know if you ever want to design a car organizer for the back seat (floor) of a Honday Accord. 🙂

  4. 4 Gretchen February 5, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Lovely!

    I love the first picture – I would never think to put them together like that. How do you do that?

  5. 5 Sue B February 5, 2008 at 10:29 am

    LOVE that chandelier fabric. I am going to have to get myself some of that. Love how you used it too!

  6. 6 Karen February 5, 2008 at 11:49 am

    I adore the chandeliers!!!

    Drooling over the car organizer!!!!

    Let’s see, how many more exclamation points can I put in one comment?!?!

    Your stuff just inspires me.

  7. 7 miss chris February 5, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    I love that chandelier fabric. Love it!

  8. 8 Michelle February 5, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    Whoo hoo, I was *hoping* you’d say that was for a Honda Odyssey!

  9. 9 Lola February 5, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    I don’t have a mini van, but I would love one of those organizers for my living room! It is sassier than a magazine rack, and cleaner looking than a basket! Get the pattern finished Quick!!! Please😉

  10. 10 Regina February 5, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    oh wow!!! Everything is just gorgeous!!! Love all the pretty fabrics. You make such divine creations with them.

  11. 11 Pieces February 5, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    Beautiful! I’m inspired to make more mini-patchfolios. I still need to make one for myself.

  12. 12 Lauren February 5, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Those all look so great!

  13. 13 Shelly February 5, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    Hi Linda,

    My Caravan has about 11.5 inches between the seats, and 17-18 inches between the space just outside the drinkholder to the back of the seat.

    You know it might be nice to add some sort of handle on it that can be folded down…in case you need to pull it out. Just a thought. The fabric combos are great, by the way.

    Blessings,

  14. 14 randomrevelations February 5, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Mine are still sitting on the couch from the dryer. That hot chocolate does wonders for you. Everything looks great, can’t wait to use it.

  15. 15 Kiva, Southern Girl Musings February 5, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Love those chandeliers!!!!!

    Hey, I have an Odyssey too and I think the other comment about it making a nice magazine rack is so true. As always everything is lovely and the fabrics meld beautifully. Keep inspiring us! 🙂

  16. 16 wondermommy February 5, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    I love the Zazu fabric, too. I haven’t decided what to use it for yet. You’ve done a fabulous job using it.

  17. 17 chaletgirl February 5, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Great fabric choices! Nice to see some new ones that aren’t “everywhere”.

  18. 18 Mary February 5, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    Loving everything but especially the car organizer! Oh my goodness — that might actually keep my Odyssey from looking like a Dumpster.

  19. 19 Elizabeth K February 5, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    your patchfolios are so pretty. I love the chandalier fabric.

  20. 20 Melanie February 5, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Yippee!!!! I’m so excited. You’re the best🙂

  21. 21 Stacy T February 5, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Love the ZaZu line.. just gorgeous, although I havent gotten my hands on any quite yet, enough fabric obsessions already, right? LOL

  22. 22 Stacy February 6, 2008 at 11:06 am

    I can’t wait for your pattern for that organizer. I’m definitely going to need something to put between the kids’ seats in my Acadia. They are messy little rascals.😉

  23. 23 Beth G. February 6, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    What measurements are you needing for the mini van? I have a Toyota Sienna, but there is a console between the front seats. I don’t know if all the models have this or not. Let me know what info you’re looking for and I will measure.
    b.

  24. 24 Marisa February 7, 2008 at 10:10 am

    The car organizer is fabulous! Can’t wait to get my hands on a pattern! Love the Kokka fabric too. Great fabric combos!

  25. 25 thedomesticdiva February 7, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    oh Linda…love your new creations!!! Yes, those fabrics are delicious!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  26. 26 AshleyM February 7, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Hello! I love that first patchfolio! That fabric is fantastic.

    In regards to the car organizer…I don’t have a minivan, or children, but I would love to purchase the pattern for it. I have a spot all picked out (back seat floorboard of our Chevy Malibu). I have a couple of friends with mini-vans and this would be something they would like as well! As for measurements, I have a pretty big floorboard, and I think that your design seems to be large enough for that space, but still small enough for a regular van console. Know that we wait in anticipation! : )

  27. 27 Deb February 8, 2008 at 10:31 am

    These are so pretty. I’ve been watching the car organizer progress with great interest. This one really looks nice! Will you have one for smaller cars, too?

  28. 28 Stacey February 8, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    You got me too! I love them as well….I soooo need the second one with the big flower. Thanks for the info!

  29. 29 Cathy February 9, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Those are great fabrics. I wish I had the sight that some artists do. Instead I spend a great deal of time admiring the awesome artistic ability of others… maybe that is my talent😉

  30. 30 Cindi February 9, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    Linda,
    It seems forever since I have got to comment on your site. I am so sorry. I love the stuff your doing. I wish I could get rid of some stuff in my life and do things like this.

  31. 31 adele February 10, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    wow, great projects. they all look fantastic, as do the fabrics!

  32. 32 Tracy February 11, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Fabulous projects, Linda! And all those fabrics are just so juicy and delicious! Happy Day ((HUGS))

  33. 33 weirdbunny February 12, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    I love the fabric on the seamstress apron best. Have you been back for more ballet lessons ?

  34. 34 lucy February 14, 2008 at 12:05 am

    WOW girl! I have been checking in on you for some time and just decided now to post, (for whatever reason). But, wow. You lost me some where in the middle with the ‘feet’ talk (I’m learning) and then you picked me back up with the last two pictures. Thanks. I am going to be doing some cuttings later for some pillows that were inspired by your red and white one (for that great chair,? your room?) Even though its really totally different… I struggle with letting go and pasting random things together, thinking outside the box… so I get that from you. Thanks. I love your style and look forward to seeing what’s next.

  35. 35 ruby February 14, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    Wow! That looks fabulous! I need to try that!

  36. 36 Diana February 15, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    what pretty fabrics?! I love what you did with them!

  37. 37 paperseed February 17, 2008 at 12:45 am

    These designs are downright gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives