Hinemosu Notari

Ah, this fabric!  When I ordered it, I had no idea what “cotton dobby” was, but I am really pleased with it.  Good thing, too *whew* since I bought a whole bolt.  It’s from Kokka and is about the weight of Amy Butler’s decorator-weight Nigella fabric.  Perfect for a diaper bag or two.  I learned from the trunk show at my local quilt shop that bags look much better if they’re hanging.  And a wreathe hanger like this one from Target is perfect for this bag.  And necessary if you visit your quilt shop and find that your shop sample is looking all deflated after weeks of just sitting on a table.

Diaper Bags

 

Since I started wholesaling patterns, 90% of my sewing feels like it is taken up making shop samples.  Sorta fun, but doesn’t leave a whole lot of new stuff to blog about.  On my list now, are 2 shop patchfolios.

I’ve also heard from a reliable source that Timtex is no longer being manufactured!  Can you hear me sobbing, “How can this b-e-e-e!”  The car organizer is built around Timtex.  So I’m off to find a substitute and hoping in the meantime that the Timtex people change their mind.  Please, oh please, change your mind!!!

29 Responses to “Hinemosu Notari”


  1. 1 randomcontemplations February 27, 2008 at 12:34 am

    These bags are so cool looking in that fabric Linda! Hope your timtex doesn’t run out!

  2. 2 peacockchic February 27, 2008 at 1:19 am

    Wow! No more Timtex? That is just crazy talk! There are going to be a lot of designers adversely effected by its demise. Hope it has a resurrection!

  3. 3 Kathi D February 27, 2008 at 2:15 am

    Wow, that really surprises me about the Timtex. If they do quit making it though, Pellon 65 should work about the same.

  4. 4 Sue B February 27, 2008 at 4:48 am

    yea I heard about timtex too. But you know fast-2-fuse is a good substitute for it. These bags look great!

  5. 5 Adrienne February 27, 2008 at 6:46 am

    AHHH!! Thanks for the tip on the Timetex…of to the store to stock up🙂 The bags look great!

  6. 6 Vicki W February 27, 2008 at 7:33 am

    I don’t know anything about a decision to stop producing Timtex but a friend put me on to this source for somethign called Stiffy:

    http://www.longcreekmills.com/stiffy.html

    I haven’t ordered from them yet but my friend uses their product for her journals and boxes.

  7. 7 Beth February 27, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Your bags look great! I really like your wreath hanger idea for displaying your bags. And I hope you find a good Timtex substitute. I’ve been saving the yard that I have for some special project. I’ve been using a Pellon product so far.

  8. 8 Kiva, Southern Girl Musings February 27, 2008 at 10:15 am

    Now those bags are for a stylish mama. 🙂 Thanks for the tip about Timtex.

  9. 9 Tina February 27, 2008 at 11:18 am

    TIMTEX…GONE?! I love that stuff. I’ll have to rush and stock up.

  10. 10 amyhodge February 27, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Ack! I am making the Amy Butler weekender bag and have done everything I can without the Timtex, which I have had on order from my local shop for months. Guess they’ll be getting something else. At least I hope so, or I will be very sad not to be able to finish this project!

  11. 11 wondermommy February 27, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    Love the bags, and can’t believe Timtex may be gone forever.

  12. 12 Deb February 27, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    I would second Fast2Fuse. Just like Timtex, but has fusible stuff on both sides. One time when I went to purchase Timtex I was told this was the NEW stuff to replace Timtex. Still, sad to hear Timtex may no longer be available. It has so many uses.

  13. 13 beki February 27, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Ah, a wreath hanger – I need to invest in one of those. Your bag does look nice hanging on it.

  14. 14 Tracy February 28, 2008 at 6:33 am

    Your bags are beautiful…and so is the fabric. Brave girl to buy a WHOLE bolt! I didn’t know that about Timetex! I can’t get it where I am. I’ve been using various interfacings, sometimes layering to get a correct stiffness/structure. It works! Your wreath hanger is a great idea! Good luck with all your sales and samples! Happy Day ((HUGS))

  15. 15 Monica February 28, 2008 at 6:52 am

    I always find it astounding how much sewing you do… when do you get the time? please share your secret!!

  16. 16 tinkerverve February 28, 2008 at 9:37 am

    Have you tried the heavy-weight canvas? It’s what I’ve used in the Amy Butler bags that I’ve made. It does get a little bulky but works great and it is so much less expensive that Timtex.

  17. 17 Debbie February 28, 2008 at 11:11 am

    No more Timtex? Yikes. That’s a scary thought.

  18. 18 Chara Michele February 29, 2008 at 10:28 am

    Those bags look lovely!

    No more timtex? That is crazy!

  19. 19 quenna February 29, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    Wow, that looks so professional…a big yeah for Target!

    “Work sewing” can get tiring and drain the creative juices.

    About the timex, I wonder if peltex would be a good replacement, especially the fusible kind. I use pellon 65 and it’s quite a bit thinner, especially when working with larger projects.

  20. 20 paperseed February 29, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    So elegant. Love that print for these bags.

  21. 21 thedomesticdiva February 29, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Love the bags…the fabric ROCKS!

    Why in the world would they stop selling a product like Timtex…seems it is widely used! go figure

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  22. 22 SugarShop (Dena) February 29, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Gorgeous fabric!!! And such a great idea for hanging the bags! You are such an inspiration!

  23. 23 Lace March 1, 2008 at 8:04 am

    I just discovered your blog as I was searching for purse/bag patterns. Thank you!!! I have been sewing on and off for years, with the help of my mom and figuring things out on my own. I am nine months a mom and a fine arts student with half a degree put on hold. Recently my husband and I moved back to Chile (from Canada, where I am from and our daughter was born) and I have been going a bit crazy, desperately in search of a creative outlet. Amidst the the babytime and papitime, there doesnt seem to be much mommy,artist,writer,lover of life time. So…. the other day I went out and bought myself a sewing machine. And man! it works like a dream! It has yet to be christened with a first project. Today seems to be the perfect day to go out and buy some fabric, don’t you think? Anyway, thanks for your site! I am feeling greatly inspired!! Cheers!

  24. 25 weirdbunny March 3, 2008 at 10:21 am

    Those hangers are great for displaying your bags.

  25. 26 Shelly March 3, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    I think that Pellon has a similar product called Pelltex – and a fusable version as well. My local fabric store carries the Pelltex. I have not used it though, but have seen it available online as well.

    Beautiful bags!

  26. 27 Fiona (Dragonfly-Crafts) March 9, 2008 at 1:52 am

    Love the fabrics and the bags look great.

  27. 28 urbanupdater March 12, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    I LOVE this pattern. You did such a great job on the bags. I’ve been looking for something like this!

  28. 29 Kim March 13, 2008 at 9:13 am

    I use disposable razors to do this. Quick and easy. No damages so far. Used this to clean up my felted wool bag, it looks wonderful!!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives