Laminated Cotton

For many days I was drowning in the Car Organizer (who knew a pattern could drown a person?).  But thanks to some lovely test sewers, I can see the light at the end of the tunnel!  I’m excited to finish it now – only 3 months after I thought I would.

In the mean time, I finished a couple of diaper bags with one more almost done.  One is below.  This customer wanted laminated cotton on the exterior of her bag so it would be wipeable.  Sounds good, right?   I hadn’t worked with it before so I thought “No problem.” 

Diaper Bag

The problem is that laminated  cotton can’t be ironed and I press everything.  I went with regular cotton on the handles.  Then, if you are familiar with making bags, you understand the contortions that bags often go through in the turning process…contortions that wrinkle.  Wrinkles that don’t really show up in the picture.

While the bag turned out well, I really wished I could have de-wrinkled the outside somehow.  Fortunately, it was no problem for the customer, but I think I’ll save the rest of my laminated cotton for something that requires less contortionism.

Diaper Bag interior

Some great tips for sewing with laminated cotton can be found here.  I was able to sew it easily with a walking foot, but the tape method might work even better.  Fabric is Micheal Miller’s Feeling Groovy Laminated Cotton and Amy Butler’s Lotus Lime Dots purchased here.  I think I want some more of those dots!

28 Responses to “Laminated Cotton”


  1. 1 lera May 7, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Great bag, Linda. I can only imagine the difficulty you must have had.

  2. 2 SilverLining Designs May 7, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    What if you ironed the bag from the inside lining? That way you wouldn’t be putting the iron right on the laminate, but it would warm it up enough to maybe get the wrinkles out. Just a thought. Where do you get that laminate, by the way… at the fabric store?

    ~Diana

  3. 3 charli May 7, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    Maybe tossing it in the dryer? Maybe leaving it out in the sun? I am so glad you posted this- I have been spotting laminated fabric things to make all over the internet and was going to buy some if I found what I wanted!

  4. 4 Carrie May 7, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    If laminated cotton is anything like oilcloth, it can be ironed: on low, with a cotton tea towel, or press cloth between the iron & the plastic. Also, did you use a tefon sewing foot? If not, it’s helpful!

  5. 5 Carrie May 7, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    Oh! Forgot to tell you: it looks great!🙂

  6. 7 Melanie May 7, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    I have not made a bag with it like you…but I know that the wrinkles in my splat mat did ‘fade away’ with time. 🙂 Of course, then a kitchen chair would fold over a corner here and there….

  7. 8 randomrevelations May 7, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    The picture doesn’t do it justice. And if you are looking for another project for the laminated cotton…I’ve got just the one!!

  8. 9 Kristi May 7, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    Oh, those wrinkle bug me, I can only imagine the frustration when you can’t at least try to iron them out!

    Anyway, the bag looks SO beautiful in the pic!!

  9. 10 peta May 7, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    I love the fabrics, it is absolutely gorgeous!!

  10. 11 Amy May 7, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    Love the fabric combinations! Good thing she didn’t care about the wrinkles – that would bug me too – oh well! Looks great.

  11. 12 Katie May 8, 2008 at 8:06 am

    That is the cutest diaper bag, Linda! I never thought about the laminated cotton getting wrinkled.

  12. 14 Chara Michele May 8, 2008 at 11:53 am

    It looks wonderful! Although not being able to iron it would drive me crazy too🙂

  13. 15 Liz May 8, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    I think the bag looks great – wrinkles or not! Well worth all the work you put into it. Your customer will get good use out of it and the wrinkles will probably be the least of her worries at that point. Thanks for the link to the fabric shop. I lo-o-o-ve fabric!

  14. 16 Demekah May 9, 2008 at 1:54 am

    That are some great links! I´ve had the same problem and I hated the wrinkels to. It was my own bag so now I´m never wearing it😦

  15. 17 Beth May 10, 2008 at 8:07 am

    The bag is beautiful! Don’t worry about the wrinkles. Your customer may even end up adding more as the bag is used. 🙂

  16. 19 Jen B May 11, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Fantastic bag. Love the fabric!

  17. 20 mercysmama May 14, 2008 at 7:16 am

    Great bag! I love the fabric too- I am starting to feel like I want a new diaper bag for summer🙂

  18. 21 wondermommy May 20, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    That fabric is lovely. The bag turned out nicely.

  19. 22 Ravenhill May 21, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    beautiful bag as usual!!!
    ~Emily

  20. 23 Amy H July 3, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    I love the bag! I found your blog through the link from Craft Mag, followed the link to your blog, and well, here I am. By the way, I love the car organizer! I will definitely be buying the pattern from you.

    As far as laminating cotton, save the paper backing. Place the paper shiny side down and iron away. I made a bag for a friend to take to the pool and the wrinkles bugged me. I had to try it out. This method works great!

  21. 24 sharon November 4, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    ooh, good to know about the ironing! i was just trying to decide between the mm laminated cotton and something else for making a bag, and I think I’ll pick the something else now. ironing is my friend!

  22. 25 Nancy February 23, 2009 at 4:54 am

    Hi there – what is the cotton laminated with? Is it possible to laminate it myself? Thank so much.

  23. 26 Quita May 21, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Right on the Amy Butler website it says that you can iron it, on the inside (wrong side) on low, or you can use a hair dryer blown over the wrinkles on low…worth a shot.

  24. 27 Karen Ambrose October 9, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    I am looking to buy several yards of laminated cotton fabric to cover bar stools as I have 4 small children.
    Do you sell the fabric? Need picture of all patterns.
    Thank you

    • 28 lisa April 4, 2011 at 11:41 am

      check out my blog. I just finished my first purse with laminated cotton. First time I’ve worked with it and UGH… its more of a pain than I thought it would be. I agree about the wrinkles… drives me crazy too! The only thing that I found that worked was to put my laminated side down and cotton side up and it would wrinkle the lining but not the laminated??? go figure! The problem is that you can’t make your nice straight topstich line on the outside of the bag, so I’ve got to figure out how to work that out! I’ve been pondering this problem since I started the purse (you know how that goes – keeps you up at night). And I was wondering if there is some kind of “oil” that you can put on the laminated side to help it guide through the presser foot??? I did the tape and it didn’t work for me, so I’m ready to try other things!!! By the way, I love the diaper bag! So cute and you used two of my favorite fabric designers too!!!🙂


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives