Key Fobs & Zipper Pulls

So I made another diaper bag for a lady who wanted a key fob.

Diaper Bag

Fabric is Robert Kauffman’s Iota which is really nice to work with.

Diaper Bag

Yep, that’s my chubby hand. :o)

When I made the key fob it made me think of my store-bought purse that I’ve been carrying around for months without a zipper pull.  It’s a shame that I’ve been pinching that itty bitty ring to open and close my purse for so long.  So I grabbed a scrap and made a zipper pull.  Then I noticed that the strap was breaking so I replaced the strap.  A little pink, I thought, would spruce this purse right up.

So I carried it to ballet class tonight and this is how the conversation with my ballet buddy went to the best of my memory:

Buddy:  What did you do to your purse?

Me:  My zipper pull fell off and my strap was breaking so I replaced them.  Don’t you like it?

Buddy:  Well, it doesn’t really go.  What do you think, Jen?

Jen (ballet instructor):  I don’t really like it.

Me:  But I could have just thrown the purse out because the strap was breaking, but I didn’t.  I added a splash of pink.  And I like it.  In fact, I think I’m going to post about it.

BuddyNo you’re not, are you?

Me:  Oh yes I am!

zipper pull

Okay, so maybe it’s not the best combo or my proudest piece.  And I appreciate honesty, I really do.  But I always tell my kids, “You need to be a man of your word.”  So since I said I’d post it, I gotta do it.  So ballet buddy, here you go. :o)

14 Responses to “Key Fobs & Zipper Pulls”


  1. 1 Julie D May 23, 2008 at 3:57 am

    Looks fabulous to me!

  2. 2 Mindy May 23, 2008 at 6:20 am

    You get a million points for reusing and recycling!!

    I am in love with the diaper bag! Where were bags like that when I had babies???

  3. 3 Vicki W May 23, 2008 at 7:12 am

    It’s always important to keep to your promise! Good for you for re-making it to be better for YOU.

  4. 4 Ali May 23, 2008 at 8:17 am

    I have one of those pesky broken zipper pulls on Johnny’s coat. To my shame, he outgrew it before I sewed a replacement. Good on you for fixing yours.

  5. 5 randomrevelations May 23, 2008 at 9:30 am

    I think that your buddy would have to commend you for recycling. What does she know? She sounds like a real piece of work! If I run into her I’ll give her a piece of my mind! Way to stand strong. You go on with your bad self!!

  6. 6 randomrevelations May 23, 2008 at 9:31 am

    And any idea where these quilt things came from?

  7. 7 Katie May 23, 2008 at 11:54 am

    I like the idea of the strap and zipper pull! I think you were a smarty for thinking of it.

  8. 8 fromthenarrows May 23, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Love the fabric on the strap and zipper pull, but I agree, it doesn’t quite go with the purse.
    Susan

  9. 9 Heather May 23, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    Good for you to re-use your bag..now at least you know it will work, so maybe you can find a fabric you like a bit better. I personally think it’s fine, but I also let my kids dress themselves (3 and 5) and kind of like some of the non-matching outfits – so maybe my taste is going!

  10. 10 Barb (aka Craft Junkie) May 23, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Sometimes you have to throw caution to the wind and throw a splash of pink in somewhere…I think it’s awesome. You can tell your ballet buddy I said so, too. LOL

  11. 11 Turtlemoss May 25, 2008 at 1:31 am

    With all the purses and bags we make….and we never use one ourselves! I’m in the same boat! I say we all ditch our store purses and use our own🙂 Yours is half way there!!

  12. 12 Cindi May 25, 2008 at 9:22 am

    pink and green go with anything, don’t they know that? I frankly give you two thums up.

  13. 13 Hilari May 28, 2008 at 10:22 am

    Well I think it’s lovely!

  14. 14 Niki May 28, 2008 at 10:56 am

    I’d love to have you join us quilters on my new quilt blog. Get listed! http://justusquilters.blogspot.com/
    Hope to see you over there. And spread the word, our goal is 200 by the end of 2008! hugs!
    niki xoxo


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives