Bamboo Fun!

I can’t draw.  I’ve never been able to.  But I can trace and I can color.  Not just can I, but I actually LIKE tracing and coloring.  Enter my new toy:  The Wacom Bamboo Fun Pen Tablet.

I originally got it to help me draw diagrams for my patterns, but I think it’s going to be able to do a lot more.  There’s a lot for me to learn, but here’s what I’ve done so far:

Picture 1:  Photo taken at our local botanical gardens.

arbor

Picture 2My sketch using the pen tablet in Photoshop.  I think this could be done using a mouse, but it’s much easier with a pen.  I created a transparent layer over the original and started tracing on the transparent layer.  Then, I deleted the layer with the original photo and here’s what I was left with.

arbor sketch

Picture 3Coloring in using the mouse in Photoshop.  I used the paintbrush tool and reduced the opacity so the colors wouldn’t color over my black sketched lines.

Arbor Sketch

I can already hear some of you Photoshop and graphic design people out there thinking, “Poor girl, I can’t believe she’s posting this sorry stuff.”  :o)  But for me this is big!  I’m no artist, but maybe with some time I could pass as slightly better than a 7 year old.

36 thoughts on “Bamboo Fun!

  1. You have such a photographic eye. I probably have walked past that spot 100 times and not stopped to notice. Too busy chasing crazy people. Will you do my portrait next? From the neck up, of course. Oh, and on my good side. And only from a 27* angle from the horizon. And during the wee dawn hours. I look best from that light.

  2. Wow! I’ve been researching the Wacom tablet myself, and it’s nice to see someone crafty who’s got one. I like using the computer to draw, and the mouse just does not cut it. I think I’ll get one when I get a surplus of money… so that means maybe Christmas!

  3. Well I’m impressed! I can’t draw either. I did a sketch of a crow today for a cushion I’m planning and hubby (bless his dear little heart-I have a deep freezer planned for him one of these days LOL) asked if it was a landscape of hills. I honestly didn’t believe I was THAT bad, but he couldn’t even see the crow when I told him! I think I may actually NEED one of your gismos. 🙂

  4. This discovery is big for me too. Makes me wonder why I’m bothering to learn to draw properly and suffering the taunts of my friends at my ineptitude with a pencil and paper. All hail Photoshop!

  5. Thanks for the idea! I got the Bamboo about a month ago, and I downloaded some free drawing programs from apple, but I never thought of using it with photoshop. Your drawing is lovely.

  6. I am so glad I read this. I have a Wacom Tablet with my 4D Embroidery program. Like you I can’t draw, but I am a darn good tracer. This is such an even better idea using Photoshop to add color. I think you did a great job! Thanks for sharing this.

  7. My husband and daughter bought one of those (or some similar Wacom product). As far as I know, they’ve never used it. I’ll have to show them your post to inspire them!

Leave a comment