Quick little project.

So our soccer team  won the over-thirty-Friday-night-beginner’s-league championship last season.  Yeah, we won!  But what really mean to say it’s not a huge achievement considering there are several leagues every night and we were the beginners and of course, all old.  The prize was a bag of 20 free championship T-shirts for the team and somehow we got stuck with the extras.  The funny thing is that one guy on our team has worn his championship tee to every game since and says it’s his favorite shirt.  He also has a little daughter who’s just a few months old.  Do I need any more excuses for a project?  I don’t think so!

Behold, the championship T-shirt mini-blanket-slash-burp-rag, as modelled by Oink, our resident pig.
 

mini blanket

Hey Oink, would you like to show me the back of the blankie?

“Oink!”

Mini Blanket

Thanks, Oink!

I’ve never worked with T-shirt material and I’ve never worked with minkee dot fabric so this was a good excuse to use both.  Plus, I think it’s sweet that his daughter will now have a little something that matches her daddy.  :o)

I used the same instructions as the chenille-backed baby blanket tutorial here.

34 Responses to “Quick little project.”


  1. 1 Melanie June 4, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    I LOVE it!!!! Oink 🙂

  2. 2 Lisa June 5, 2008 at 3:19 am

    Great idea to incorporate a T into a baby quilt – it looks really effective!

  3. 3 Susan Elliott June 5, 2008 at 3:53 am

    I’m always looking for things to do with tshirts.. thanks..

  4. 4 shellyfish June 5, 2008 at 5:46 am

    This is such a cute idea! And bravo for champion!

  5. 5 shellyfish June 5, 2008 at 5:47 am

    Okay, was supposed to read “you” champion… rough day…

  6. 6 Mindy June 5, 2008 at 6:31 am

    That is sweet!

    And Oink is a great little model.

  7. 7 Cindi June 5, 2008 at 6:31 am

    What a nice thing for you to do and I love Oink! You are just so sweet! Hey we are catching up with you here in the mountains the temp was 93 yesterday and they are calling for 95 today. May not sound as hot as y’all, but for June here it is miserable!

  8. 8 Stephanie June 5, 2008 at 6:34 am

    Darling! I’ve never worked with t-shirts (I have plans) or minkee. Great job.

  9. 10 Mary June 5, 2008 at 7:17 am

    What a great use for a tee!

  10. 11 Katie June 5, 2008 at 8:50 am

    That’s such a clever idea, Linda! I know he’ll be tickled. Tickled pink. Oink. =)

    Oh, and you aren’t that old!

  11. 13 amyhodge June 5, 2008 at 10:04 am

    omg Oink is SO CUTE showing the back of that! Really cute project idea!

  12. 14 Sue June 5, 2008 at 10:27 am

    Delurking here…just want to say congrats on the championship and that the blankie is as cute as can be. I’m sure your friend will treasure it.

  13. 15 missharleyquinn June 5, 2008 at 11:31 am

    Too sweet and I love Oink. 🙂

  14. 16 Tonje June 5, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    What a cute blankie… I’m sure the little one will love it!

  15. 17 randomrevelations June 5, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    How thoughtful!! Congratulations on your win! They’d be nothing without you!

  16. 18 Tere A. June 5, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    This is adorable, that may be a little project for you,for me it’ll take me 3-4 days🙂

    Oink is so cute you git a great helper!

  17. 19 Kristi June 5, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    I wish I had thought of that!!! Fabulous! 🙂 I have about 55 t-shirts in my closet at home that belonged to my husband and me in school just waiting to be made into a quilt; they have never gotten past the interfacing phase! 🙂

  18. 20 Carolyn J. June 5, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Hi……
    Great little blankie!
    I’ve made several t-shirt quilts. The easiest way I’ve found to deal with t-shirts is to back them with woven iron-on interfacing then cut, sew, etc….it’s just like cotton fabric🙂

  19. 21 Smuddpie June 6, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    That is seriously the cutest burp rag I’ve ever seen. Love the fabrics. I’ve been thinking I’d like to make up a whole bunch of taggie blankets with the minkee dot fabric to give as baby gifts, but I haven’t gotten around to it. How was the minkee to work with?

  20. 22 Joanna June 8, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Awfully cute! And I applaud you for braving the minkee. I used it once for a baby blanket, but nevre again! That stuff is insanely difficult to work with. At least for me…and such cute fabrics, I think I would like to live in your scrap bin!

  21. 23 Melanie June 10, 2008 at 7:00 am

    What a lovely idea which will mean so much to them.

  22. 24 Rebecca June 10, 2008 at 8:12 am

    Love the little blankie! What a fab idea! Was the minkie difficult to work with at all? Don’t know how familiar you are with PS, but just wanted to mention that you could always place the new photoshop layer with the coloring under your black sketch marks if you wanted them to be “blacker”.

  23. 25 Kate June 10, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    i love all of the bags that you make! you use the cutest fabrics. i randomly stumbled across your blog one day, loved what you’re doing, and i’ve just been checking back about once a month or so. that blanket is super cute!

  24. 26 paperdollsforboys June 10, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    That was so thoughtful of you. Did he love it?

  25. 27 Tiff@Three Peas in a Pod June 10, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    So cute!!! So how was sewing with minky and t-shirt material? I have heard that it is slightly difficult. It turned out so cute. And Oink, you’re cute too!

  26. 28 babyjoysreviews June 11, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    When I was pregnant I forced my parents to buy that same pig as a baby gift. Since before he could even walk my son has done nothing but try to feed it to the dog. Poor pig. This picture makes me want to find our dirty pig and give him a bath and make him a blanket.

    I know you didn’t make that blanket for pig, but I see him eyeing it.

  27. 29 Adrienne June 12, 2008 at 5:46 am

    What a lovely gift! I think dad might enjoy that more than baby😉

  28. 30 tinkerverve June 12, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    Hey Linda,
    You continue to amaze me AND make me smile. To top it all off your taste in fabric is {ex·qui·site}::pleasing through beauty, fitness, or perfection 2)having uncommon or esoteric appeal ~ I’ll let you look up esoteric.😉

  29. 31 kristin June 13, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    I love this, precisely because of how sweet and thoughtful and personal it is. That is what giving is about to me. 🙂 You did a beautiful job with it, and they will, I’m sure, be thrilled!

  30. 32 Renee June 22, 2008 at 2:38 am

    That is adorable. Love the staging with the pig.🙂

  31. 33 sammyjo June 24, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Very cute, i love the blanket and its a very sweet project:)

  32. 34 Shannon June 25, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    What a great idea and very thoughtful of you Linda! But what is new ~ that’s you🙂

    Congratulations on winning your game!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives