A diaper bag for the Mom (of a boy).

How lucky some of you are that you have daughters to model your handmade goodies!  When I finished this diaper bag for my friend Sarah, it was so nice to have my niece Bethany here to model it for me.  Much nicer than just setting the bag in the grass for a photo shoot.  :o)

Diaper Bag

One thing I’ve noticed when making diaper bags for moms of boys is that I have to explain that the bag is for them.  Even if they are having a boy, I want the bag to be something they feel like is fun to carry around that doesn’t look so diaper bag-ish.  I feel like most of my crafty friends understand this, but outside of my crafty circle, I have to do some explaining. 

Diaper Bag - interior

I used the colors of her son’s room:  blue and khaki.  I also used 2 different fabrics for the handles and strap so that there was a interior side and an exterior side.  One thing I’ve started to do differently from the pattern for custom orders is sew the fleece to the liner.  I kind of like that stitched line around the inside top and down the side seams.  I also like to stitch lines into the strap – really liking that look right now, too!

And now, it’s shower time!  It’s been a long day.  For my son’s birthday our family went indoor rock climbing.  The last time I went rock climbing I was a young, fit wife that hadn’t had children yet.  I had a lot of spring and bounce.  When I was at the top of a difficult wall today, a guy that worked there came over to tell me how to jump for the last, high rock.  What I really wanted to say to him was, “Do you realize I’m a mother of THREE boys and there is NO WAY I can make a jump like that???”  But I just said, “Thanks.”  and jumped and, of course, missed because my springiness and bounciness are gone (it’s all in my children now).  It was still fun and I gotta get my typing in tonight because my forearms are going to hurt like crazy tomorrow!

18 Responses to “A diaper bag for the Mom (of a boy).”


  1. 1 randomrevelations July 8, 2008 at 1:19 am

    Oh, that sounds like fun! I’m glad he had a fun filled birthday. I’m sure the diaper bag was really appreciated!

  2. 2 Jen M July 8, 2008 at 3:07 am

    It’s beautiful! I love it!!

    I totally agree with you re the mom of boys thing – I have two little boys and it took me the longest time to “get” that it’s okay to have a pink diaper pouch etc as I’m still a girl! Unfortunately not everyone gets it which makes gifting tricky – I find I’m still gifting more masculine design fabric pouches to moms of boys as that’s what they’d expect.

  3. 3 Adrienne July 8, 2008 at 5:55 am

    What a cute bag – funny story … I think my boys have all my bounce too … everything I have now just jiggles like jello … he he

  4. 4 Casey July 8, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    I love the colors, I want one like it! my girls have stolen most of my bounce, I’m sure this boy will steal the last of it

  5. 6 Cindi July 8, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Love the bag. I like the sewing on the handles too. It makes it look so professional. Being the mom of two boys I totally understand the concept of the bag is for you to carry so it can look nice and not be too girly looking.

  6. 7 Amy July 8, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    What a lucky gift recipient she is! I love the bag!

  7. 8 Cathy July 9, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    When my son was 2yo, he would model bags for me. Even then he didn’t like doing it… they seem to be preprogrammed to hate bags. I’m glad your niece was willing!

  8. 9 amandajean July 9, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    that is one cute diaper bag.

  9. 10 Stacey July 11, 2008 at 8:32 am

    I love this bag! Your items always look so fab!

  10. 11 Kristi July 11, 2008 at 8:40 am

    I love it! Nice🙂

    I am the same way… I used to be a gymnast and cheerleader for many years, and I am too scared to even attempt a back handspring now! I did try some aerials between pregnancies because you don’t have to use your hands for those – haha! But I know what you mean!

  11. 12 Beth July 11, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    That’s such a great bag!

  12. 13 Mary July 12, 2008 at 11:19 am

    What a great bag! Lovely and practical.

  13. 14 homegrownrose July 13, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    the diaper bag is LOVELY! I totally get the “its for YOU” thing with the diaper bag. I was fortunate to have girls and a mom that loves Vera Bradley, short of that I would have been wanting something very similar to what you made for your very lucky friend!🙂

    Kristin
    http://homegrownrose.typepad.com/reclaimingthehome

  14. 15 creatist July 15, 2008 at 12:07 am

    oh GORGEOUS!! i love the fabric’s pattern n the bag. it’s come out beautifully🙂 sigh! i wish i was that good with needles😛

  15. 16 Kate July 15, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    Love the bag! The little round yellow-green flowers remind me of banana slices…which probably just made me sound like the biggest wierdo. Anyway, rock climbing. I haven’t gone in forever, and reading your post made me want to go. BF’s always trying to get me to go do the hardcore actual rock climbing, but I’m too much of a baby to go anywhere except the indoor places. The ones where they have fake rocks that are molded so you get a (reasonably) good grip. And padded floors so if you fall, you don’t break your tailbone. Hmm…maybe I’ll convince him that we need to go there first.

    Love the blog, keep on bloggin, I’ll keep on reading and sporadically leaving comments! I should probably make my own blog so I can link to it.

  16. 17 cindy July 16, 2008 at 8:28 am

    I haven’t been around in a long time and you have been BUSY! Wowwee. Love all the projects, the patterns, the website…My goodness.

    I hope your arms (or anything else) weren’t too sore after the rock climbing escapade. I love indoor rock climbing…sadly, there are not rock walls around where we live now. Oh well.

  17. 18 Mindy July 17, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    Very.
    I agree about the bag being for the mom, not the baby!!
    I made a diaper bag for my friend & asked her sister what colors she liked. Her reply was, ‘Well, she’s having a boy’
    Soooooooo!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives