Caution: Dangerous Book

This is a very dangerous book.  It makes you think you can stamp everything just like Lotta and it makes you want to purchase the things you see in the picture below and more.

 Lotta prints

Very dangerous.  I knew it was dangerous when I purchased my first stamp-making kit and I knew I should be cautious when it said “Easy, Facile, Facil” right on the front of the package.  I was a bit discouraged when I nearly cut myself changing the sharp cutting tools. 

Mug Pincusion

Then I got this incredibly cute mini coffee cup at Target and wanted to turn it into a pincushion and realized I didn’t have any  fabric that would really go with it.  Lookey here, I found myself a very good reason to stamp something!

My first hand-carved stamp.
 

I traced the design off of the mug, rubbed it onto a block and started carving.  My first hand-carved stamp – fun, fun!!

18 Responses to “Caution: Dangerous Book”


  1. 1 Salihan July 30, 2008 at 3:35 am

    So cute and clever of you to turn the cup and saucer into an adorable pincushion! Go easy though. Don’t go stamping the ceiling😛 Have fun!

  2. 2 Vicki W July 30, 2008 at 6:32 am

    Well look at that! Very cool!

  3. 3 randomcontemplations July 30, 2008 at 7:17 am

    Now that is really neat!!! Hmmm…you know I just gave all my stamps away, but I think I would like to do this more than use pre-made stamps. Cool, cool…

    How about this rain? Nice hu? 🙂

    I miss seeing you!!!

  4. 4 shellyfish July 30, 2008 at 7:45 am

    Your title made me giggle…I understand what you mean about “dangerous”! Where did you get your stamp-making kit? Is that something that’s easy to find? That was one of the reasons I didn’t get the book, but I am visiting family in the US, so it’s probably not too hard to find here…
    And I LOVE the cup/pincushion idea! brilliant!

  5. 5 Megan July 30, 2008 at 8:02 am

    I picked up that very same “Easy” kit at the art supply store no less than 5 times this weekend. Each time, I put it back down while repeating to myself “You don’t need another hobby. You must do laundry and your children must be fed. You don’t need another hobby.” I think you’ve just given me a good reason to go back and pick it up again!

  6. 6 Becky July 30, 2008 at 8:36 am

    Oh, that pincushion’s adorable!!

  7. 7 Tacha July 30, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    That book is very dangerous. Equally dangerous is the new book by Lena Corwin. I am even dreaming about stamping and screen printing everything in sight!

  8. 8 Beth July 31, 2008 at 7:48 am

    That is very, very cool! I can see how this would fit itself into your sewing projects. Fun!

  9. 9 Shelly July 31, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    I love your choice of fabrics. Your projects are great!

  10. 10 Hilari July 31, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    That’s very cute!! Great job!

  11. 11 Melanie July 31, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    I would be nervous that I’d cut myself. Were you nervous about that?

  12. 12 Sew Spoiled July 31, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    That does look dangerous but a lot of fun too!! Might have to try it:)
    That poor innocent cup, mind his own business and it was makeover time! LOL

  13. 13 Tiff@Three Peas in a Pod August 2, 2008 at 7:27 am

    I love the coffee cup pin cushion! You did a great job on that stamp. Those kinds of books are truly dangerous around here too!
    Stop by http://www.sewforless.com/embroidery blog and read about my first applique experience!

  14. 14 Chara Michele August 2, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    I love it! So cute🙂
    This makes me really want to try stamping a bit, although it always looks like it isn’t quite so easy as it looks. (Does that make sense?:)

  15. 15 Janine August 2, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    The pin cushion is so cute! And I know what you mean about dangerous books. I just read a book on making handbags and just had to do it! You can see them on my blog. http://www.janinesjewels.blogspot.com
    -Janine

  16. 16 Tania - Jet Designs August 4, 2008 at 12:13 am

    Lovely Cup – very novel idea – don’t tempt me into another craft!! – Danger Will Robinson!!

  17. 17 emadethis August 6, 2008 at 7:56 am

    I know what you mean about that book. I love printmaking in all it’s guises. Your project is very cute.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives