Tree

Here’s my latest attempt at art.

 Tree on canvas

It hangs over the piano, but for some reason looks hideous in all the pictures I’ve taken of it hanging over the piano.  Could it be that pictures don’t lie and it actually looks hideous there?  Yes, it might be true – but for now that is where it shall hang!

As much as I love ModPodge, I don’t think it’s the perfect medium for this project.  Here’s a close-up shot:

Tree - closeup

Note the air bubbles and wrinkles.  And the funky sheen.  The fabric likes to stretch when it gets wet – much more fickle than paper.   I have another method in mind…I’ll let you know how it goes. 🙂

Inspiration is from many, many places, but I must give credit to my son’s tree that he taped (yes, taped) on our wall – I love his dark tree trunk and over-sized leaves:

My son's tree

26 Responses to “Tree”


  1. 1 Melanie August 14, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    oh my gosh! I LOVE IT!!!! What method are you trying next? I can’t wait to see!

  2. 2 Rae August 14, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    I love how creative your son is! I think your tree looks fabulous. What a super neat idea!!

  3. 3 agnes August 14, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    A creative idea. Nice!!

  4. 4 tinkerverve August 14, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    It looks like too much fun!

  5. 5 Heather August 14, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    I love it! You’ve inspired me to try it. I can’t wait to see what other method you try.

  6. 6 Tacha August 15, 2008 at 2:41 am

    I love your son’s tree – very creative.

  7. 7 celia August 15, 2008 at 6:46 am

    Oh, this is lovely. Have you tried to make it over a cork surface and then punch the sides of each piece into the cork? Oh, hope this makes sense. I was given as a wedding present one art made like that. It is amazing. She even painted faces on the plain fabrics making women working at the fields. Great!

  8. 8 sammyjo August 15, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    I like it! Its bright and funky!

  9. 9 randomrevelations August 15, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    of course, I love it! you’re way too critical. it looks great in the photo and in person.

  10. 10 Beth August 15, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    I really like it and I love your son’s tree, too!

  11. 11 Organizing Mommy August 16, 2008 at 12:25 am

    Very nice. I like the colors/styles you used.

  12. 12 Stephanie August 16, 2008 at 6:02 am

    Gorgeous. I don’t see any air bubbles or wrinkles. Love the taped tree. At least it’s not crayon or marker on the wall. Wall are a blank canvas for our kids, right?

  13. 13 Lil' d August 16, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    I like it a lot. Nope, I couldn’t see any air bubbles or wrinkles, but I know how things like that would bug me.

    Unfortunately my children’s artistic efforts involved a pen and ink drawing on our living room wall. My 3 year old daughter did a huge scribble. Apparently my 5 year old son later decided that it looked like the ocean, so drew a boat on top…

    Bloomin’ kids.

  14. 14 Spare Ribbon August 17, 2008 at 11:30 am

    It looks like your attempt at art was a successful one.

  15. 15 Tina August 17, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    I like it , looks good. Can’t see the air bubbles but it is a bit shiny. Not too shiny in the picture though, maybe more so in person? Looking forward to what you’re planning next.

    Love the boys tree! At least it’s taped on. My daughter went through a huge coloring on everything phase. Don’t miss that part of 3!

  16. 16 rachel August 17, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    oh, I love it! And your son’s tree too!

  17. 17 Michelle August 17, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    This is beautiful art. I like leaves and trees and the colors are great!
    -Michelle

  18. 18 Lan August 18, 2008 at 11:23 am

    i think this is beautiful! what a lovely and original piece of work!

  19. 19 Blue Castle August 20, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    I couldn’t see any flaws at all. I think it looks fantastic!

  20. 20 Mary August 20, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Love! It’s absolutely inspired — and inspiring.

  21. 21 Allie August 24, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Thanks for the neat info about the sewing lessons… that time is coming up with my daughter! I was chuckling about the hidden patterns… it’s so true that one wouldn’t, I guess, know about them automatically🙂 And the hemmed pj pants cracked me up too!
    Your tree is lovely; I imagine you’ve thought of backing up all your fabric with a light interfacing or something before cutting, so it doesn’t buckle up with glueing. And you should just pick up some acrylic matte medium. It’s for painting with acrylics, but I use it for collaging all the time. I like the crystal-clear, smooth, non-shiny surface it leaves (also adheres the collage elements in place of glue). It’s probably a little bit pricier than mod-podge, but there’s no comparison between the two.
    I think your son (who did the tree) has your color sense and artistic courage!

  22. 22 Tiff@Three Peas in a Pod August 26, 2008 at 6:31 am

    CUTE!!! How about hanging it in the bathroom or the hallway? LOL my daughter does the taping method too. That’s funny!

  23. 23 Kay August 29, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    the piece looks wonderful…is it fabric and other materials combined? Hard to tell…

  24. 24 Lan October 11, 2010 at 8:46 am

    and finally after 2 years of this post haunting me, i got around to doing my own piece. thanks again for posting.


  1. 1 Craft Show « Craft Apple Trackback on November 4, 2008 at 7:45 pm
  2. 2 2 Wheatens Weblog » Blog Archive » What a Cool Idea… Trackback on November 5, 2008 at 8:05 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives