Giddy Up!

I’m not sure if it’s because I live in Texas or if it’s like this everywhere, but ever since I’ve been going to my local quilt shop, there’s been a significant area of the shop dedicated to western fabrics:  horses, bandanas, and cowboys.  It’s right by the back door (the door I park by) and I always walk right on by, looking for the fun, bright fabrics.  So when Moda sent me fabric to make samples for Market, I was sorta disappointed to see the Western stuff.

Car Organizer

But after working with it for a while, it grew on me . . . just a little bit.  Now I can honestly say that I like how this Car Organizer turned out.  It looks boyish, bright, and fun!  Makes me want to sew up some saddle bags to brighten up a horse’s day. 🙂

 Car Organizer

It felt good to use some “why-did-I-buy this?” ribbon.  And I even found a cute little western-ish box of tissues.

Car Organizer

Alrighty, now that Market samples are done, the pressure is on to get my next pattern out.  My goal is October 1 – we’ll see how that goes.

20 Responses to “Giddy Up!”


  1. 1 Lola September 11, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    I have that very same roll of “why did I buy it” ribbon.
    Is this for Houston Market???

  2. 2 shellyfish September 11, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    I love that ribbon! And I actually think the cowboy fabric is cute (but then again, here in France, cowboys are rather exotic!)🙂

  3. 3 Kashoan September 11, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    This is toooo cute! Im getting my car back from the shop today and it needs a car organizer for sure. Thanks for all the great ideas. Come check out my blog sometime when you are not busy. Thanks
    Kashoan

  4. 4 Jen B September 11, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    THAT is fantastic! I agree, I would have been kind of like, “What in the world is this?” at first. . .but I LOVE the results:)

  5. 5 Spare Ribbon September 11, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    I love the bin. It makes for a great organizer!

  6. 6 randomrevelations September 11, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    It makes a great organizer where ever it goes! The colors do update the fabric. But if you start making saddle bags, I’m taking your temperature!

  7. 7 Beth September 11, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Super cute! Love the funky pattern with it!

  8. 8 teresa September 11, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    I love it!! And I love the ribbon too!

  9. 9 Elizabeth September 11, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    That makes me wish that a)I had a vehicle/family/life that needed such organization and b)that I was sewing these days to make one. It’s very cute and I love the new purse pattern too.

  10. 10 Jen September 12, 2008 at 4:26 am

    I love the turquiose and brown fabric! Yummy!

  11. 11 Sarah G. September 12, 2008 at 6:19 am

    You have a very nice blog and I just love this project! That’s really cool that you design patterns.

    Sarah G.

  12. 12 donna September 12, 2008 at 8:31 am

    do you sell your pattern for the car organizer in any quilt shops in the Dallas, Texas area?

  13. 13 Beth September 12, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Congratulations on your success and all of the cool stuff you have going on these days!

  14. 14 Blakely September 12, 2008 at 9:35 am

    I have that same ribbon. If I had kids and a mini van I would so make one of these car organizers. I love this fabric.

  15. 15 Sarah Jayne September 12, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    What a great organiser. ANd it’s really fun inthe fabrics too. Thanks for sharing.

  16. 16 Missy September 12, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Wow! That is wonderful! I love how it turned out!

  17. 17 Dee Light September 13, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    I love the organizer!! I live in OKC we have a lot of cowboy fabric in stores too. Which is great for me, because my little boy loves cowboy stuff.

  18. 18 Stacey September 15, 2008 at 8:13 am

    Love the sample…you always do an awesome job! I am here in Texas as well and some here LOVE their western gear! 🙂

  19. 19 Sarah November 2, 2011 at 11:46 am

    I love this car organizer! But i cant get the how-to tutorial to work. Can u email the pattern and instructions to me or something? Please and thank u!

  20. 20 Michelle March 22, 2013 at 10:33 am

    Love the caddy I need to make one for my van what did u use as stiffener for the middle piece?


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives