Photo Shoot

Question:  How much fun can someone have with a bag and a camera? 

Answer:  A WHOLE LOT.

I finally finished the bag that I’m using in my cover shot for the pattern and asked Cindy if she’d be my photographer.  I, of course, can’t afford a professional photographer or a *real* model so I hired myself and armed with Cindy and a camera, we were off to a place that has the coolest sets.

Little Chemi (yes, I’ve named this bag and it’s pronouced: shĕ mē´) had so much fun visiting new places!  She got to ride a bike,

 chemi2

sit on an expensive chair,

 chemi5

and hang out by a really cool desk.
chemi4

I gotta say the best part for me and Chemi was having a gutsy friend willing to set her down in the window:

 chemi7

Chemi really felt like she belonged there! There was a lot of complaining when we finally removed her from the store.  And finally, saying good-bye to her new favorite place.

 chemi8

Ah – after all that I did get a good cover shot – to be posted when the pattern is ready!  What a fun, fun day – thanks Cindy!

35 Responses to “Photo Shoot”


  1. 1 thornberry September 18, 2008 at 4:31 am

    What a gorgeous fabric combination! Chemi looks as though she had a lovely time being photographed.

  2. 2 Bloom September 18, 2008 at 6:39 am

    Little Chemi is gorgeous & looks very much at home at Anthropologie! Being from Australia, I am not immediately familiar with Anthropologie’s delights, but from reading everyone’s blogs, I’m guessing simple chic, classical & understated? Congratulations on Chemi’s social debut – she has behaved herself impeccably!

  3. 3 Becky September 18, 2008 at 6:54 am

    Heehee, I love the Anrhropologie shot.😀

  4. 4 beki September 18, 2008 at 8:09 am

    Ha! Your photoshoot sounds way more fun that I had with mine, which involved poor lighting, stacked up books, and the self timer!!

  5. 5 Judi September 18, 2008 at 8:52 am

    What a fun post! You 2 certainly had a good outing together, only goes to show eh? I loved her sitting in the window too….how did you do that??

    The fabric is really sweet together too…I’m glad you didn’t have to leave her in that window!

    Have a lovely day.
    Judi

  6. 6 Tere a. September 18, 2008 at 10:00 am

    well, that photoshoot did it!!!
    I went ahead and preordered the pattern!!!!
    it is such a beautiful bag!!!!

  7. 7 Tammy September 18, 2008 at 10:09 am

    Love the shots… that post is too funny!

  8. 8 randomrevelations September 18, 2008 at 10:27 am

    My favorite is the one on the bicycle. Good times, good times.

  9. 9 Erica September 18, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Beautiful .. I was wondering if you offer a bulk discount on your patterns🙂 I’ve been eyeing your patterns for awhile now and would love to pick a few up soon.

  10. 10 knitserland September 18, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    Looks like a fun day for all! You have some great pictures, can’t wait to see the cover shot.

  11. 11 woody September 18, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    You are too witty – love the bag too.

  12. 12 shellyfish September 18, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Too fun! I need to get out as much as your bag!

  13. 13 Stacey September 18, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Good pic’s…great bag!

  14. 14 Erin September 18, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    I had no idea we lived so close! Looks like you had lots of fun!

  15. 15 SilverLining Designs September 19, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    I love how you did your photo shoot, what fun. All the pictures are great… I especially love the one sitting in the expensive chair…it sets off the colours in the bag really great and I also like the last one hanging from the letter “G”. Too bad it wasn’t a “C”

  16. 16 Lil' d September 19, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    Oh, I love those fabrics together.

    I have a bike like that (only rustier) – I bought it when I first moved here and didn’t have any other means of getting from A to B. On not one, but two occasions I had local teenagers drive by and yell ‘nice bike!’. I don’t think they actually meant it, judging from their tone, but I like my old bike…

  17. 17 Spare Ribbon September 19, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    I just love that purse and the pattern. The colors go so well together. I am a crafty person, but when it comes to sewing I am just awful. I would love to buy that pattern when it comes out in October, but I bet I would mess it up. Is there anyway I can purchase the purse already sewn?

  18. 18 Trying Traditional September 19, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    I am loving your bag and the pattern has gone on my “wish list” for Christmas…if I can wait that long. aka: you’ll likely be getting my order in a week or two🙂

  19. 19 Katy September 22, 2008 at 12:05 am

    Just wanted to say that i love your blog and your bags, you’re very talented and i have put a link on my site to them today to share them with my friends.

  20. 20 Carochinha September 22, 2008 at 9:14 am

    Nice bag! What a beautifull colours!😉

  21. 21 Tiff@Three Peas September 22, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    That was a gutsy move but the picture turned out cute. Love the bag! I may have to get this pattern too. Keep those patterns coming. I’m in love with all of them!

  22. 22 Beth September 23, 2008 at 10:54 am

    The purse looks great in all the shots, but especially in the window shot. No way would I have had enough guts to try that! 🙂

  23. 24 Lisa September 25, 2008 at 10:48 am

    Love this bag! When’s the pattern going to be avaliable?! I’m a total bagoholic and I’ve got to have this one!

  24. 25 Fiona September 25, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Totally lovely bag – fresh and lovely. That’s got to be one of the nicest floral fabrics ever. Great photos too.

  25. 26 Lisa September 25, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Chemi is very pretty. Looks like you had a lot of fun on your photo shoot. I’ve treid a few times to make myself a purse, but I just can’t seem to get it right. Maybe one day I will actually buy a pattern instead of trying to “create” my own. hehe

    Take care,
    Lisa

    P.S. “You’re Invited” to visit my page and take a look around.

  26. 27 Apryl September 26, 2008 at 3:17 am

    that is fabulous! not the bag, but that is beautiful, just the fun you had dragging it around town for a photo shoot, brilliant!

  27. 28 Kimberly September 26, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    I’m so sorry I haven’t stopped by in so long-your patterns are amazing. I’m so impressed!! I thought I was good to finally have published my hipster bag and then I looked at what you had done-ahh. Wonderful!!!

  28. 29 Melanie September 28, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    A fun photoshoot! I’m anxious to see the cover picture – off center or not! 🙂

  29. 30 quenna September 28, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Sweet bag! That bag gets around more than me🙂

  30. 31 Hilari October 1, 2008 at 1:29 am

    I think I’m going to call Anthropologie and ask for that gorgeous bag!🙂

  31. 32 Karen Eileen October 3, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    LOVED THE BAG>>>>>I LAUGHED OUT LOUD THINKING OF THE SCHEMING AND PLANNING TO PUT IT IN THE WINDOW AT ANTHROPOLOGIES>>>>>GREAT JOB!! IT SHOULD BE THERE>>>>

    KAREN EILEEN

  32. 33 Mirea October 8, 2008 at 4:11 am

    I love the bag, is precious. I can spend the pattern?
    mireia.

  33. 34 sammyjo October 9, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    so Cute! Love your new patterns!


  1. 1 The Chemisette Handbag Pattern « Craft Apple Trackback on October 8, 2008 at 11:10 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives