The Chemisette Handbag Pattern

chemisette cover s

It’s finally ready!  I made Moda’s deadline for Quilt Market submissions, but didn’t get my pattern sheets back until today so that makes today pattern launch day!  Yay!  You know it’s funny, one of the big reasons I planned a big photo shoot was because I didn’t want my back fence in the background.  What picture do I end up selecting for the cover?  Weathered wood in the background.  In my defense, it isn’t a fence – its this artsy-weathered-wood-on-a-wall thingy – but it sure looks like a fence!

HUGE thanks to my pattern testers:
Lara of Thornberry
Cindy of Revel-Designs
Michelle of Greeting Arts

All wonderful sewers and excellent reviewers. Thank you!

chemisette \shĕ-mi-źĕt\: little chemise.
Inspired by a chemise that was worn under a corset in the middle ages, this bag reflects the past with a fresh look through the use of bright, modern fabrics.

The pattern includes 2 styles.  The Gathered Chemise (above) and the Florentine (flat) Chemise (below).  The Gathered Chemise is my favorite, but a flat panel is great for centering a large design or embellishing. 

florentine chemisette handbag

The pattern is available in my shop!

19 Responses to “The Chemisette Handbag Pattern”


  1. 1 Sheridan October 9, 2008 at 12:00 am

    It’s gorgeous! Congratulations!

  2. 2 tnmomwith3kids October 9, 2008 at 12:14 am

    I’m loving the gathered!…gorgeous

  3. 3 randomrevelations October 9, 2008 at 12:56 am

    take a load off now. oh wait, not yet! but soon. probably not! but seriously, it’s done. doesn’t that feel great? revel in it.

  4. 4 Michelle October 9, 2008 at 3:50 am

    I’ve just seen it over on Lara’s site, and gone ahead and bought it. Can’t wait to make it!

  5. 5 trashalou October 9, 2008 at 4:04 am

    Loving the arty weathered wood background. Where did the sylist locate such a fabulous silver colour? Amazing😉

    P.S. bag is triffic too.

  6. 6 trashalou October 9, 2008 at 4:06 am

    Loving the arty weathered wood background. Where did the sylist locate such a fabulous silver colour? Amazing😉

    P.S. bag is triffic too.

  7. 7 mijk October 9, 2008 at 5:06 am

    I am always hesitating buying patterns but this was easy. I must have this pattern!!!

  8. 8 Michelle October 9, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    Whoo hoo! Picture looks great, Linda. It’s so clearly, obviously, for sure *not* a fence. :0)

  9. 9 Stacy T October 9, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Looks wonderful mama!! Love the print on the bag too, I have some of that, so mod!😀

  10. 10 Katie October 9, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    I love it, Linda! The gathered version is my favorite, too.

  11. 11 Mary October 9, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Love, love, LOVE it! Can’t wait to make it! Will they have it at Quilt Market? (And will you be there?)

  12. 12 Janine October 9, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Great work! You can be proud for sure! I really like the gathered.

  13. 13 tinkerverve October 9, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Love…absolutely LOVE the bags and great pics!

  14. 14 Donna S. October 11, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    I preordered…..waiting patiently, patiently….getting impatient!! LOL. Maybe today’s mail? LOL

  15. 15 Lizzie October 13, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    Woohoo!! You did it! It looks great.

  16. 16 creatist October 14, 2008 at 5:25 am

    oh it’s beautiful!😀 so proud of u

  17. 17 Spare Ribbon October 15, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    I am so happy for your shop. I just love that purse. If I was any good at sewing I would buy the pattern in a heartbeat.


  1. 1 Chemisette handbag « thornberry Trackback on October 9, 2008 at 3:23 am
  2. 2 Sewing Tip: Sewing Curves « Craft Apple Trackback on October 5, 2010 at 1:35 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives