Quilt Market 2008 (part 1)

I was thrilled to be able to make it to Quilt Market this year!  We arrived on Friday in time to make it to Fabric 2.0 meet and greet hosted by Caroline Devoy of jcaroline creative,  Kathy Miller of Michael Miller FabricsModa Fabrics, and Etsy.  I found it sort of out of my comfort zone to meet very many people, but was thrilled to meet Kathy and Caroline – both warm and gracious hosts, and to meet a new fabric designer, Jenean Morisson of Posh Patterns, also an incredibly sweet and genuine woman. 

Sample spree was something no one could have prepared me for.  I thoroughly enjoyed waiting in line and meeting several shop owners and crafters.  When they finally let us in, it was a zoo.  Here’s a shot of the fabric bundle I purchased from Lecien, by far the busiest area in the room. 

 sample spree purchase

Cute, you say?  Worth it?  Yeah, I guess.  Let me give you a feel of how it was in there.  I picked up said bundle on one end of the booth, and walked down to the other end, not knowing what a treasure I was holding in my hand.  Immediately 3 people asked me where I got it.  Turns out I had inadvertently picked up the last one.  At that point I was still on the fence about purchasing it.  But when a woman tried to pull it out of my arms not once, or twice, but THREE times, it became a matter of principle and I bought it.  And now I have for myself a bunch of fat quarters of 30’s reproduction Japanese fabric which, thankfully, I really do like.

I stayed up WAY too late chatting with Cindy and Melanie  of Above All Fabric in our hotel room.  It was one of those conversations where I could tell it was getting late because I was getting giddy and by the time I looked at the clock, I couldn’t believe it was past 2:30am.  Not such a good idea if you only plan on staying at Quilt Market for JUST one day.

I leave you with some inspiring booth shots and will post more thoughts later.

Paula Prass’ booth (I didn’t know it at the time, but that’s her standing on the left):

Paula Prass' booth at Quilt Market 2008

And Patty Young’s booth:

Patty Young's booth at Quilt Market 2008

3 Responses to “Quilt Market 2008 (part 1)”


  1. 1 Missy October 27, 2008 at 4:49 am

    Wow – tried to steal it 3 times – I would have bought it too! So glad you ended up liking it and I can not wait to see what wonderful creations you make from the fabric. Great pics! So glad you got to meet some wonderful people!!!!

  2. 2 Jen October 27, 2008 at 10:08 am

    I just love the look of the greens and blues in Paula Prass’ booth. My new favorite colors together. Wish I had a chance to go!

    Jen 🙂

  3. 3 Cathy October 28, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    Ha! That sounds like a zoo… I think I would have purchased the fabric too if someone tried to steal it from me so many times. Then again, maybe I would have thrown it up in the air to see how many people tried to dive for it! I’m glad you had fun… I would love to go to something like that.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives