Family Tree Mini Quilt

This little quilt has been in my head for a while but I haven’t gotten a chance to make it until this week.

Mini Family Tree Quilt

 This is actually the second attempt.  For the first one I wrote the names on with a Sharpie and that didn’t go so well.   Who knew that Sharpies bleed on fabric?   I didn’t, but a little internet research led me to these:

Mini Family Tree Quilt

Zig Memory System Archival pens don’t bleed (test your fabric to make sure).  Great discovery, although I wish they were more like markers than pens ‘cuz I like markers.  I had fun quilting this one.  Here’s my attempt at a little puffy cloud in the sky:

Mini Family Tree Quilt

 

A happy weekend to you! 😉

34 Responses to “Family Tree Mini Quilt”


  1. 1 anna February 13, 2009 at 6:25 am

    that is so beautiful!

  2. 2 Loralynn February 13, 2009 at 7:32 am

    Darling idea and it turned out so cute!

  3. 4 Michelle February 13, 2009 at 8:05 am

    This is lovely! I’m very close to having our second boy and this would be perfect to hang in their room.

  4. 6 randomrevelations February 13, 2009 at 10:01 am

    I love the puffy cloud! You are going to run out of wall space over there. You have been one busy bee!

  5. 8 Prairie Girl February 13, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    I love it! I’m going to tuck this idea in my backpocket for a revisit once I’ve got a few ongoing projects complete. So cute!

  6. 9 tryingtraditional February 13, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Adorable, I love it. I’ve thought of doing something similar for my girls, but am wondering how to work the twins’ birth-mom into the “picture”. Roots?

  7. 10 Kashoan February 13, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    That turned out great! That is a great way for kids to start to understand who they came from.

  8. 11 Salihan February 13, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    So pretty! I love your swirly clouds too! What a unique idea to display a family tree. Thanks for sharing!

    P.S. This is the last day of my handknit scarf giveaway at Salihan.com. Pop on over when you get the chance!

  9. 12 the frugal momma February 13, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    This is so cute! The cloud quilting is adorable!

  10. 13 Mary February 13, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    This is super cute! Great job.

  11. 15 joanna February 13, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    Have you seen the EZ Quilting permanent fabric markers? I got mine at Joann’s and they work great. The kids made potholders for their teachers w/’em.

  12. 16 Adrienne February 14, 2009 at 8:00 am

    What a lovely quilt. Isn’t it always the hard way first … then we figure it out! he he

  13. 17 Aunt Spicy February 14, 2009 at 10:46 am

    That really is such a fun idea! It turned out beautifully!

  14. 18 Billie Kretzschmar February 14, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Love it! Love it! Love it!

    I do genealogy for my Mom so this one hits home on two fronts.

  15. 19 missbethyD February 14, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    It’s very Cute! is it a gift?

  16. 20 Eva February 15, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    I love the idea! I am thinking of making one for my mom for mother’s day!!! Very cute!

  17. 22 karen February 16, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    really sweet, love that idea…may have to do one of our own…when we know our family is complete

  18. 26 Amanda February 18, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    That is really cute! We called my great grandparents Oma and Opa. Seeing your picture made me remember them both and my Oma’s butter cookies and fruit punch.

  19. 27 Britney Ihrig February 19, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    This is a very cute idea. It is creative and educational. I remember as a kid always asking my mom about my family tree. It would get jotted down on a piece of scrap paper and then misplaced. The quilt is a perfect way to permanently record your family tree.

  20. 29 Natalie Jost February 21, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    Oh wow, thanks for the pen tip! I’ve been racking my brain to figure out how to make a calendar for us to hang (with removable dates by velcro) and now I can do it!

  21. 30 Jenn-Lee February 22, 2009 at 2:13 am

    So pretty! I will be fwding this post on to some friends as I sure they would love it too! Great job. You have great talent.

  22. 31 Kathy February 24, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    This is so great! I love, love, love it.

  23. 32 Cindy March 4, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    Love the simple presentation. You might like Sakura Identipens for writing/drawing on fabric. They are dual-tipped, one fine point and one marker end. They are more permanent than Sharpies on most surfaces and very permanent on fabric with a little heat setting, totally washable. You can get them from Dharma Trading and some art stores.

  24. 33 Kristi March 13, 2009 at 7:02 am

    Oh, I love this, Linda! I need to make one! I use those pens for scrapbooking – who knew?!! Hope you are doing well!

  25. 34 julie March 14, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    are those the names of your children?? because if so I have a Paxton also! It was my grandma’s maiden name.
    and it is not a very common name either.
    anyway. your family tree is pretty cool.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives