Of Sewing and Sports

I love playing soccer.  It’s really the only exercise I have:  my women’s team plays on Monday and my coed team (with hubby) on Friday.   But this aging body sometimes needs some caring for after a game.  This week, it’s my ankle.  Have you ever tried to keep an ice pack wrapped around an ankle?  It’s hard, unless you hold it on with your hand.  Your hand gets really cold and that’s not good.  What the ice pack needs is some straps so  I made this nifty ice pack holder to keep it in place. 

 ankle wrap 2

The ice pack slips inside. 

 ankle wrap 1

 Here it is in action.
( There is no way I am showing my shorty toes or my bunion on my blog.)

Besides ice, I get to my Sports Therapy Chiropractor when I have injuries that just don’t get better.  I’m sold on Active Release therapy.  It’s pure genius from this former OT’s perspective.  I would have quit playing months ago if I didn’t have my DC to fix up my pulled muscles.

31 Responses to “Of Sewing and Sports”


  1. 1 Micheleebee March 9, 2009 at 9:44 am

    this is very clever. I usually wrap an ice pack in a towel. You’ve made it look pretty. Funny about the bunions and toes. Hahaha

  2. 2 Lisa D. March 9, 2009 at 9:45 am

    Another Active Release convert here – I don’t think I could have come back from my rotator cuff injury with my ART magician. I don’t think everyone can take the pain of the treatments, but the results – at least for me – are astonishing.

  3. 3 Kristin March 9, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Ok, that is so cute! Now I just need to figure out a way to twist my ankle so that I have a need for one of my own… Is it strange that I WANT to hurt myself?

  4. 4 Knittingarch March 9, 2009 at 10:35 am

    This is great! And now that I am back to ballet, I’ll probably need one of these more than ever…for my toes and bunions! LOL!

  5. 5 Janine March 9, 2009 at 11:15 am

    This is such a wonderful idea! I wish I would have thought of this years ago! For years with 3 sons, I’ve been using string, rubber bands, etc trying to keep it on ankles. I’m going to have to make this!
    Oh, and I checked out the DC thing. There is one in my area. I’m thinking that my husband needs this.
    Thank you so much for this helpful post!

  6. 6 Gayla March 9, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    What a great idea! So much easier than trying to just hold it on, or trying to keep it balanced while elevating your foot. It’s pretty, too.

    Btw, you are so young to be referring to yourself as “old.” “Old” is referred to as “the ‘O’ word” in our house–my children are kind enough not to use it. 🙂

  7. 7 Mary March 9, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    What a neat idea. And I love the “censors.”

  8. 8 Tiff@Three Peas March 9, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    That is so cute!!! you have to make a pattern for that!!!

  9. 9 Mumzie March 9, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    A really neat idea! Very practical!

  10. 10 Maria March 9, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    My daughter is always spraining her ankle and I’ve told her to hold it up just hold it with ace bandage and it works great but this is much better and more prettier. I agree a tutorial or pattern is seen in the future for us all.

  11. 11 Beth March 9, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    When I first saw the black bars I thought “She has identifying information on her toes that she doesn’t want us to see?” 🙂

  12. 12 kristen March 10, 2009 at 12:36 am

    That is so cute and I love the fabric! I just purchased that and have not decided what to do with it yet🙂

  13. 13 Sarah March 10, 2009 at 8:21 am

    I wish you lived nearby! We’re always looking for women for our coed team.🙂 I have an ice pack holder with a big stretchy velcro strap on it that is wonderful for holding an ice pack on my ankle – or my knee so I can still move around and do stuff. But it’s not nearly as pretty as yours.

  14. 14 Kristin March 10, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    I love the icepack!!🙂

  15. 15 Elizabeth March 10, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Your solution is a heck of a lot cuter than what I’ve been doing for the past 15 years (ace wrapping it to my leg/foot/ankle).

    Although I will say, keeping ice on your ankle is NOTHING compared to trying to ice a toe. (I know how ridiculous that sounds, but I crushed my big toe in an Ikea furniture incident and had to ice it for a couple days after the ER visit.)

  16. 16 Randi March 11, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    What a cute way to feel better! You might as well do it in style, right? 😉

  17. 17 Stephanie March 11, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    You always have a way to make practical things fancy, I love it! So creative.🙂

  18. 18 pam March 12, 2009 at 9:47 am

    Cute little cover, hope your feeling better; and I have short toes too, my sisters use to make fun of them, and to this day I hate anyone seeing them.

  19. 19 Barbara Frazier March 12, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    Would love to have a tutorial on this. Such a clever and cute idea !

  20. 20 Pam March 17, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    you made me chuckle with your black-out toes and bunion! tee hee. I would be blacking out my corns. This ice pack holder is a great idea and with the fabric, really cute too. 🙂

  21. 21 Julie March 20, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    This is such a cute way help with bruises and hurt legs! Don’t worry bunions are not that bad, I have one too!

  22. 22 Starry March 21, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    oh my gosh I totally LOVE the cushion you made for Haley, it makes my heart sing! This is the first time I’ve seen your blog, I followed a freind over from her blog list.
    Love your work,
    best wishes, Starry

  23. 23 1urbanmom March 23, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    That’s precious! And thanks btw for the info on where to get cool fabric. I forgot to come back by and reply a while back.

  24. 24 Rebecca March 23, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    Who doesn’t love soccer!? No better way to hurt yourself (in my opinion!). I still play as well (well, I did until recently but will be back at it ASAP)! It helps keep me-ME! One hour oa week and I have sooooo much more patience for life!!
    Rebecca
    RootsAndWingsCo.blogspot.com

  25. 25 sara's art house March 26, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    That’s gotta be the cutest ice pack I’ve ever seen!

  26. 26 Heather April 2, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    You are smart. . . my husband needs for his foot. . . With this basic idea, I bet I can figure something out:)

  27. 27 metrosupialdesigns April 21, 2009 at 9:23 am

    My hubbie needs one. Maybe pink with cherries?

  28. 28 Shelley April 29, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    I love the ice pack! What a great idea! My daughter plays competitive soccer and just had surgery for Extertional Compartment Syndrome. It’s hard to keep an ice pack on the side of her leg. Any plans for pattern for us to purchase???

    Thanks
    Shelley

  29. 29 Amy Ottney April 15, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Hi! i was wondering if i could purchase one of these pre-made and how much that would be! i’m not picky on the fabric😉

    thanks!

    • 30 craftapple April 19, 2010 at 6:43 pm

      Hi! I’m sorry I haven’t gotten back to you! I don’t make custom items much anymore because I just don’t have the time. If you know someone who sews or can sew yourself, I can give you the dimensions to have it made. I’m sorry! I’m booked for the next few weeks. If you still can’t find anyone, I may be able to make one in May. Let me know.

      Thanks,

      Linda http://craftapple.com


  1. 1 Ankle Wrap | Craft Apple Trackback on November 7, 2016 at 7:17 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives