Craft Apple Patterns Licensing Change

Alrighty, folks.  I’m making a change in my licensing agreements.  This change takes effect immediately and applies to anyone who has purchased a pattern from me at any time in the past.  My new copyright statement is as follows:

This pattern is protected under federal copyright law.  Making photocopies of this pattern for any purpose is strictly prohibited and is illegal.  To the home sewer who has purchased this pattern at retail: you are welcome make items from this pattern for sale!  Mass manufacturing of items made from this pattern is strictly prohibited.

The main reason for the change is to reduce stress in my life.  Even from the very beginning I’ve always wanted this business to be fun –  I’ve also wanted to run it by myself and right now the licensing program has got to go. 

Do I believe pattern designers have the right to limit the use of their copyrighted work?  Yes I do.  Should I write a post on this?  Maybe. 🙂

More info on licensing Craft Apple patterns can be found here.

11 Responses to “Craft Apple Patterns Licensing Change”


  1. 1 Lola...again March 13, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    I was just wondering about this today. I made up a couple of Patchfolios (love that pattern) and was wondering if I could sell them on ETSY.
    Thanks for your explaination of your Copywrite.
    and Thanks for the great patterns you create!
    Jana Nielson

  2. 2 Maria March 13, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    Just a couple of words….you have all the right, you’re the designer just like the music industry. I take my hat off to you and them.

  3. 3 beki March 13, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    I like this, Linda. I think I’ll do the same – mind if I use your wording?

  4. 4 craftapple March 13, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    No problem, Beki. Anyone who would like to can feel free to use the wording.

  5. 5 Jennifer March 14, 2009 at 6:40 am

    I think it’s darn generous to even let people sell items they make from your patterns at all. So, thanks for that!

  6. 6 Smuddpie March 16, 2009 at 9:55 am

    Yea! Less stress. Thanks for the change.

  7. 7 Kashoan March 17, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    I think that is a great idea. You worked hard on coming up with those patterns!

  8. 8 Claire March 19, 2009 at 3:44 am

    Dear Linda, I think you can do exactly as you want, as you are the designer, it’s your hard work, and no way should you be exploited.
    Thank you for your wonderful patterns, and I hope a more stress free life!

    Claire

  9. 9 Kate March 23, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    Good for you. I wish people would understand that copying a pattern and distributing it, even if it is for free is stealing.

    I have yet to order a Craft Apple pattern,I think they are lovely, and can’t wait to buy one.
    I have followed your blog for a while now…it is very inspirational.
    Best wishes to you and your business!!

  10. 10 laura B. April 3, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    Hi! I was wondering if I could also use the same wording…or something very similar. I see you gave permission to another person, but thought I would check for myself. Thanks.

  11. 11 Virginia Gruss January 1, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    Thank-you for allowing people to make and sell. I am just planning on starting making purses and selling them. I was looking for patterns where people would allow this. I found very few who would. I ordered a book from U-Handbags that would, and Cindy Taylor Oates would, and now you. I will be keeping an eye on your patterns. I will buy some in the future, just because you did the change. Thank-you again!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives