Tree and Bird Baby Quilt Pattern

It’s been really hard for me to not post about this quilt.  But now it’s done – my first quilt pattern!  Finally done!  The process for this pattern actually started back in October and I thought it would write up quickly, but with all my patterns as of late, it took a lot longer than expected.  I took a look at the quilt patterns I had on hand and decided that I’d rather not make statements like “quilt as desired”.  I am not trying to insult pattern designers who write patterns for experienced quilters, but since my patterns are geared toward those who are new to sewing,  I wanted to make it a comprehensive project with specific instructions for each and every step, including quilting and binding.  So this is a great pattern for the first-time quilter!  In fact, it felt like I was writing a book.  :)   There are actually 2 quilts in this pattern:

The Tree and Bird Baby Quilt

Tree and Bird Baby Quilt 

and the Family Tree Mini Quilt.
 Family Tree Mini Quilt

Huge thanks to my test sewers!!!

     Lara of Thornberry whom I’ve come to depend on as a precise sewer,
     Shelly of Shelly’s Journal who is an excellent proof reader, and
     fellow pattern designer Cindy of Revel Designs who, as a real-life friend can offer invaluable real-life critique.

I went with a professional printer this time and couldn’t be happier with the results!

As always, the pattern is available here.  Kits with the fabrics used on the cover shot should be available in a couple of weeks.

19 Responses to “Tree and Bird Baby Quilt Pattern”


  1. 1 Holly April 6, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    Congrats, it is very cute, I have just been inspired to start applique as of late this may be a good project.

  2. 2 Carrie April 6, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    Both are too cute!!!

  3. 4 Michaela April 6, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Very nice. Both quilts are adorable

  4. 5 Aunt Spicy April 6, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    Oh gosh! I can see why you wanted to keep it under wraps, the final is just gorgeous! GORGEOUS!

  5. 6 Maria April 6, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    These are so cute and congrats on these patterns. Love the bear.

  6. 7 Erica April 6, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    Thanks for the comment!
    Wow, you have some beautiful things on your site! It makes me want to get a sewing machine! I had started learning years ago, but it never grew into anything. I do think I would need classes to really get going.

    It sounds like your diaper rash cream incident was more involved than mine. I got it all cleaned up in about 1.5 hours, but still – it was awful! It required multiple loads of laundry! I do keep reminding myself that these are the best years – to enjoy the moments and just be thankful that one day very soon I will look back and laugh about the messes and all that goes with small kids!

  7. 8 Adrienne April 7, 2009 at 6:51 am

    congrats to you! those quilts are just too cute.

  8. 9 Meika April 7, 2009 at 7:24 am

    Another thing to go on my list to make! Just gorgeous!

  9. 10 randomrevelations April 7, 2009 at 9:42 am

    I can’t wait to see your new patterns! You always do such a great job!

  10. 11 randomrevelations April 7, 2009 at 9:43 am

    oh, and thanks for mentioning me…even though I did squadush!

  11. 12 Shelly April 7, 2009 at 11:19 am

    This was such a fun pattern to sew. My 5 yo keeps bugging me for “one of his own” – I’m wondering how it would look with assorted NASCAR fabrics in the background….

  12. 13 Stephanie April 7, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    I think this is my favorite pattern yet..I love it!

  13. 14 Gayla April 7, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Congratulations, Linda! I love your color choices for the tree and baby bird quilt on the pattern cover. I know your detailed instructions will be incredibly helpful to all who use the pattern. You are so good with giving instructions that are clear and easy to follow.

  14. 15 pam April 7, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    they are both too cute.

  15. 16 number17cherrytreelane April 8, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    The stuff you make is amazing! I love it!!!

  16. 17 Kate April 10, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    Lovely! I am so tempted to purchase the pattern, I am already working on two quilts, and my machine is acting wonky…I will definatly purcahse a kit once I am further along on my current projects. Congrats!

  17. 18 Bevrly Richards March 19, 2015 at 11:53 pm

    Is the pattern still available?


  1. 1 My first finished quilt! « thornberry Trackback on April 6, 2009 at 6:54 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives