Dress Form

Okay, I first heard about making these about 3 years ago.  THREE years!  Am I the last one to do everything fun?  But after yet another clothes-sewing mishap (yes, it happens to me a lot), I decided that I might benefit from a duct tape dress form that was exactly like me.  Well, not exactly like me – she has flamingo pink skin.

Here’s the little shirt dress I made to start.  A tighter shirt rather than a baggy shirt will result in fewer wrinkles, right?  So I wore one of my son’s old shirts and sewed a skirt on the bottom using one of hubby’s old t-shirts. 

 dress form

4 rolls of 15-yard long duct tape, about an hour getting taped up by hubby and here we have me (well, the back of me – I’m not about to show every curve and roll on my blog🙂 ).  The real dress form is for display purposes – she isn’t quite the same shape as me.

 duct tape dress form

Some minor plastic surgery, a couple of  bags of polyfill and here we have my body double – Pinky.  Pinky, who is also modest, requested a back shot.  Here she is enjoying some tea at the table, although without arms and a head, it’s kinda hard for her.

dressform4

If you haven’t seen how these are done, there are a several Youtube videos to get you started.  (I watched this one and this one).  May I suggest a couple more things that the kind ladies in the videos didn’t mention? 

1) Before you do anything, go potty first, ‘cuz you may not get another chance for over an hour.

2) No matter how much you want to help tape, DON’T!  The dress form may end up sorta crooked at the shoulders if, say, you are taping your tummy while your hubby is taping your shoulder.  Or, you may be leaning over ever so slightly when taping yourself and your dress form ends up with a wrinkle in the tummy and require a tummy tuck to get the measurements to match up with your own.

3) If you are someone who laughs a lot, try to get those laughs out before you start.  After you start, it can really mess things up to have your stomach and shoulders moving and jiggling.

4) Getting your giggles out is especially important if you have low-blood pressure.  If you start to laugh and can’t stop, you might find it hard to get enough air to sustain consciousness due to the fact that the duct tape doesn’t allow you to expand your rib cage.  If this happens, you may be tempted to lie down.  Go ahead and gently fall back onto your bed, but be ready to require assistance getting back up.

5) And finally, using a wire hanger will enable you shape it to fit the shape of your shoulders.

If you decide to make one of yourself, have fun!

21 Responses to “Dress Form”


  1. 1 Abby April 20, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    This is ingenious! Thanks for the words of wisdom from your adventure!

  2. 2 Elizabeth K April 20, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    That’s great that your husband helped you. What did he think of it?

  3. 3 Cindi April 20, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    I have thought about making one of those for years. Maybe now that you have made one I will get up the nerve to do it!

  4. 4 MichelleB April 21, 2009 at 8:37 am

    You are so very brave. Pinky is beautiful.

  5. 5 randomrevelations April 21, 2009 at 9:30 am

    You have nothing to be embarrassed about. She’s beautiful! I hope she helps in your clothes making.

  6. 6 betani April 21, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Oh, I’ve been wanting to do this, too! Thanks for sharing the clips and tips!

  7. 7 Organizing Mommy April 21, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    That’s a great idea! Now, what do you do when you uh.. gain weight? or lose weight? I assume you are stable. Nice job.

  8. 8 Jessica April 22, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Aren’t these fun to do? I made one (I call her Sally) a few months ago. I think she makes a great model for tote bags. 😀

  9. 9 Parusha aka Lewidoo April 22, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    Looks cool! I’ve been meaning too make one for ages too! I like the pink duct tape. Don’t think I’ve seen any in London sadly

  10. 10 UK lass in US April 22, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    I’ve been wanting to make one for ages but have been waiting til
    a) I lost ALL baby weight (ok, so maybe my youngest turns 4 this month…)
    b) I divorce my current husband (he’s far too likely to not want to bother or to refuse to cut me out of it until he has had a lot of fun at my expense)
    and
    c) find a new partner that I do not mind seeing the post-babies body and that I trust more than my current husband not to get a camera out instead of the scissors…

  11. 11 All8 April 23, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    I have been wanting to do this FOREVER. I really like Mimi’s instructions. You need to check out her blog with the full length video, very informative for shaping and such. http://www.myraida.blogspot.com/ She has other DIY videos too.

  12. 12 Beth April 27, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    Thanks for the tips. I’ve been thinking of doing this but haven’t yet. Love the pink!

  13. 13 Concha April 28, 2009 at 11:28 am

    Oh, I’ve been meaning too make one too! Your looks great! Thanks so much for the tips.

  14. 14 Tiff@ThreePeas April 28, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Pinky likes Starbucks! She’s my kind of girl! LOL. I’m going to try this! Thanks for the tips!

  15. 15 BlueCastle April 28, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    I want a Pinky too. My mom has promised to help me make one, but she’s so busy and never has time. But, maybe I could talk my husband into helping. Your Pinky has good taste in coffee.🙂

  16. 16 Miss Behave May 1, 2009 at 2:44 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and thanks so much for this post! I just started sewing clothes and I really need to make one of these. Now I only have to find hot pink duct tape🙂

  17. 17 laura May 1, 2009 at 11:50 am

    I already tried it and mine just didn’t work! My fiance was more than glad to help and he had way too much fun taping me__for a while anyway, because after a couple of hours his arms got tired. I would love to make another one only this time I think a fellow sewist would understand the process a bit better. I’m glad yours worked, it gives me hope.

  18. 18 Tiff@ThreePeas May 4, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    That is so cute!!! You are going to have to do a tutorial on the ruffle!

  19. 19 Prairie Girl May 4, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    I love that “she” is hot pink. And I LOVED your fill in for Linens N Things. Just don’t sell grenade launchers, ok?!🙂

  20. 20 Jenn-Lee May 6, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    I have never ever before seen this idea. I have a dress form you can adjust the sizes too but it still doesn’t fit me so well. I think this is such a cool idea and Thank yous o much for sharing!! Good choice on the pink tape too!🙂

  21. 21 Kristena May 26, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    I’ve been wanting to do this for ages too, and you’ve really got me inspired here! Also, you’re funny.🙂 Thanks for the advice, and now I’m going to watch those videos!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives