Ruffled Quilt

I’m still psyching myself up to make a queen-sized quilt.  Truth be told, I’m not looking forward to the manhandling, the sweating and the sore arms.  Hopefully my recent weightlifting will help with that (go deltoids and biceps!)  But nothing is stopping me from telling myself that I need more practice.  Practice is good.  Practice uses up fabric.  I may need to practice some more before tackling the real thing. 

 ruffle quilt

This baby quilt used 3 yards of fabric – 1 for the front, 1 for the back, and 1 whole yard cut up into strips for the ruffles.

 ruffle quilt flat

I felt like minimal quilting with a super-long stitch length was better on this one because of the busy polka dots.

ruffle quilt wrinkled

Ahhh – I love that wrinkled goodness.

ruffled quilt

Do you like it baby?  Um, oh yeah, I forgot –  there are no babies around here – so this will be going to the pile of things to give when the need arises.  It feels good to be prepared!

23 Responses to “Ruffled Quilt”


  1. 1 Julie April 29, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Oh my gosh – I LOVE this!!!

  2. 2 Cairen April 29, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    That quilt it SO darling! I think I am going to have to make one like that with a cute ruffle…how fun!

  3. 4 Carrie April 29, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    Someday some little baby will be sooo lucky to receive this! =)

  4. 5 MichelleB April 29, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    Polka dotted yumminess.

  5. 6 shannon April 29, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    So cute, I love that ruffle!

  6. 7 Aunt Spicy April 30, 2009 at 4:19 am

    Wow, ruffles are tough for me…so it means I really, really like someone if their baby blanket has a ruffle!

  7. 9 Kashoan April 30, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    So cute! Someone will love it!!

  8. 10 Julie April 30, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    Fantastic! I love love love the ruffles!

  9. 11 UK lass in US May 1, 2009 at 10:24 am

    I don’t even sew things on time for my own kids’ birthdays, let alone making something beautiful like that, just to be prepared.

    It’s beautiful. And you’re making me want to go out and get a ruffler foot, despite being a person that never wears ruffles.

  10. 12 Stephanie May 1, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    Fabulous! I love Amy’s dots!

  11. 13 colour du jour May 2, 2009 at 6:35 am

    YUM! the ruffler (right?) looks good with the double fabric layers. I’ve never been brave enough to try that. Whole cloth, simple quilting, is a good idean when one needs to satisfy a sewing itch and actually get the pruject finished. Very lovely

  12. 14 BlueCastle May 2, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    What a darling quilt! I love that ruffle. It really makes the whole thing.🙂

  13. 15 Xina May 4, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    CUTE QUILT!! Can you please tell me how you did the photo when the quilt is colored and the background is grey?? Pretty please?

    Xina

  14. 16 Organizing Mommy May 4, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Unique! I usually expect quilts to be pieced, but this has plenty of variety with the contrasting ruffle. Nice job.

  15. 17 HOLLY May 5, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    That is very cute! That is funny you have no babies around you. I just got finished making baby quilt #2, there are 4 ladies in my office due this summer! If I make a quilt for one I must make one for them all, I better get busy.

  16. 18 Java Mask May 6, 2009 at 2:09 am

    You’re so creative. Nice work.

  17. 19 Jenn-Lee May 6, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    I ahve never quilted before but love the fabrics. This looks simple enough to make. I think it is darling and love the photo where you made the rest B&W. So cute!

  18. 20 Marquita May 14, 2009 at 5:53 am

    This one is soooooo beautiful!🙂

  19. 21 Knittingarch May 14, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Did I miss the name of the pattern somewhere? Or did you make up this quilt?

    Thanks!

  20. 22 Karen May 15, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    You did a beautiful job!

  21. 23 mrs doodle July 12, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    I love this. My question is did you put it together with the ruffle and then quilt it OR did you only quilt one side with the batting and then sew it up with the ruffle? I love this idea. I have some American Jane I need to make something like this with:)


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives