Girl’s Weekend

My 20-year high school reunion was a few months ago.  I didn’t go because it was too far away – in Hawaii.  I mean, Hawaii would have been a beautiful trip for us to take, but the friends I really wanted to see weren’t even going.  So I skipped Hawaii and spent this past weekend in Cleveland with my 2 good friends Mary and Ruth.

I found myself digging through my old yearbooks and pictures.   Putting packing on hold while reminiscing about old times.  Then, at the last minute decided to make minipatchfolios for my sweet friends.

 Mini Patchfolios for friendsThat’s me in 1st grade – the year I after I met Ruth in swimming lessons and the year before I met Mary in school.

It’s amazing to me how the people you grow up with and play Barbies with effect you.

barbies
Mary and I (and Becky) at a Birthday party

It’s also amazing the sheer amount of time we spent with our friends back then – all day at school and then often after school.

5th
5th grade, 1982

Now I find myself marvelling about how  m u c h  we change and how  m u c h  we stay the same.

highschool
Highschool, 1988,  look at those dirty feet!

It was good to revisit and reconnect.  I was surprised at how much I missed my family.  The boys were having a fabulous time with Daddy, eating junk fun food and biking in the rain.  It was good to be gone, but also good to be home.

girl's weekend
Thanks, girls!
 

Now home, I am enjoying the blessings of family.

14 Responses to “Girl’s Weekend”


  1. 1 Carrie May 6, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    How fun!! Great pics and the portfolios are gorgeous!

  2. 3 randomrevelations May 6, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Great pictures! It’s so neat to see the old picture compared to the recent one. Cool that you have those. I didn’t know you were such a pack rat.

  3. 4 UK lass in US May 7, 2009 at 12:35 am

    I’m sure they loved those portfolios.

    I was just this week sorting through old letters that my mum had brought over. I had forgotten how, in the days before e-mail, my friends and I would often write each other a letter. So many memories.

    The group of us got to meet up for a quick dinner on my last visit home. Aside from the odd grey hair, though, I’m not sure that any of them had changed one bit.

  4. 5 Kashoan May 7, 2009 at 7:57 am

    This is great! Love all the fun pictures!

  5. 6 Hilari May 7, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Such fun!! Glad you had a great time with your buddies!

  6. 7 Tiff@ThreePeas May 7, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    I got reacquainted with a friend of mine from high school a few months ago. It’s was like those twenty years never happened. Sounds like you guys had a great time!!

  7. 8 Donna S. May 10, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    No friends like old friends!!!

  8. 9 Melanie May 12, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    How fun! I didn’t make it to my high school reunion either – but maybe for my 20 I will…or maybe i’ll just get together with friends like you did!

  9. 10 Hillary May 13, 2009 at 9:53 am

    how fun for you! Your patchfolios are adorable! Everyone needs a girls weekend once in awhile don’t they!

  10. 11 cindy May 13, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    Forever friends ROCK! Glad you had fun with your peeps!😉

  11. 12 Jennifer May 15, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Psst….. Thanks again for the pretty ribbons you sent me a while back…. I used two of them today, I’ve been hording them!

    http://somewhereknitting.blogspot.com/2009/05/frantic-friday-now-with-sunglasses.html

    Jenny

  12. 13 Beth May 26, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    I’m very happy for you that you got to visit with your friends! That’s so nice.

  13. 14 Foot Fan March 31, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    Those dirty feet are perfect. Great picture!!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives