Pattern Designing Questions?

I often get emails asking about how to get started in pattern designing.  So I’m thinking of putting together a post (or a series of posts) on what I’ve done in putting together my little business.  If you have questions about pattern designing (or sewing,  or life in general -ha!) now’s the time to ask!  I’ll do my best to answer.

10 Responses to “Pattern Designing Questions?”


  1. 1 Beverly May 13, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    I have lots of questions! Did you register as an official company with your state from the get go? Didi/Do you just produce your patterns on your own or are they outsourced? Did you make a sample for everything that you did or just make the pattern knowing you knew enough to make it work? What gave you the courage and belief that you could actually do this? How long until you were making a profit?

  2. 2 Joanna May 13, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    My question is, other than the picture of the actual product/quilt on the pattern covers, how did you do the background floral image? Did you create it in an illustrating program? Is it scanned? Do tell all! Plus all of the excellent questions Beverly above asked:)

  3. 3 Trina May 13, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    I would be interested in any and all info you would be willing to share! You have been an inspiration to me for over a year now…

  4. 4 Cheryl May 14, 2009 at 10:03 am

    I would love to know about the process of actually sitting down and writing the pattern from scratch. What program do you use for illustrations? Who did you contact to produce your patterns and how are they marketed to quilt shops/online shops? How much of an investment was it to produce your patterns? Also, do you enjoy this????

  5. 5 tina May 14, 2009 at 10:56 am

    I can’t think of any questions at the moment, but I can’t wait to read your post.

  6. 6 Leslie May 14, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    Would you do it all over again? Go big and make all the investments, or just stick to small sewing for friends and family and the occasional sew for hire…

  7. 7 Renee May 15, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    I would love to know how you go about producing the pattern, as it designing the layout, obtaining the pictures and drawings in the pattern, and printing. Do you print yourself? Do you draft the whole pattern yourself then take to a printer? I absolutely love your patterns, you are such an inspiration to all sewers, keep up the good work🙂

  8. 8 Hillary May 15, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Right now my big question is about copyright. I understand the importance of protecting your patterns and I’m wondering how you go about getting them copyrighted. I also wondered if you worry about whether your chosen name is already on a pattern somewhere and how you could find that out! Is it even possible to know for sure? Last one, for now🙂 Have you ever gone to market? What kind of publicity do you do? Sorry that was two more🙂 Thanks for being so willing to share!

  9. 9 laura May 17, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Aren’t you so nice to do this! I think everyone has presented some really great questions too. Have you ever considered PDF downloads? That’s something I’d like to check out.

  10. 10 Julie May 18, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Yes!! very interested in any info/advice. Do you have a booth at Market?? If not, how do you market you patterns to shops? Any info will be devoured by me and many others i’m sure. Thanks in advance for the info!!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives