Pillowcase Tank Top

Why is it that I can meticulously follow a pattern for a top and end up scrapping it half-way through but if I start with a pillowcase I can turn it into something wearable?

tanktop1

Sure, it has it’s problems, but starting with a pillowcase seemed a lot easier than using a pattern.

tankback

I didn’t want to put in a zipper so I used buttons up the back instead.  Do you know how hard it is to button your own buttons in the back?  The boys have told me more than once when I’ve missed one.

tankfront

I got to use my bias binder folder thingy to make the bias binding.  That is a nifty tool.  Why did I make this tank top?  For our trip to Taiwan.  And we’re here!  It was a super long plane ride, but we survived and so far the kids are handling the jet lag better than I am.  Obviously I won’t be doing any sewing while I’m here so I’ve lined up a few guest bloggers to add some crafty spice to the blog the next few weeks.

15 Responses to “Pillowcase Tank Top”


  1. 1 Serena June 29, 2009 at 4:02 am

    It’s beautiful! The buttons are perfect!

  2. 3 Megan June 29, 2009 at 9:01 am

    That was a pillowcase?? My goodness – how pretty! Great job! Hope you guys have a wonderful time in Taiwan!

  3. 4 Jenean June 29, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    That is gorgeous! Love the buttons up the back! Hope your trip is wonderful!

  4. 5 jody June 29, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Wow – so cute! Did you use a pattern for this or did you make it up?

    • 6 craftapple June 29, 2009 at 3:36 pm

      Jody, I just made it up. I cut the closed seam out of the pillow case to make a neck, then just started gathering and taking it in from there. I’d put it on and pin and sew. Then put it on again and do the same thing until I liked the way it fit. Then I realized it wouldn’t come off over my head (!) when it was fitted like that so I had to add the buttons up the back. Finished all the raw edges with binding.

  5. 7 Tammy June 29, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    Oh my heavens! That is so, so cute! Adorable even!

  6. 8 UK lass in US June 29, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    I hope that you enjoy your trip.

    That is a lovely top – worth dislocating a shoulder for while doing it up. I thought that I was going to be permanently stuck in a dress that I tried on the other day, so I can assure you that zips can be just as difficult to reach….

  7. 9 Andrea June 29, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    That really is very cute! Nice work with a pillow case! Who knew?!

  8. 10 Tara June 30, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Ok I want to do one!!!! That is gorgeous. I am in such a need for summer tops especially in Fl this year. Pillow cases are a dime a dozen in thrift shops. Oh please…… tell me what to do to make this top.

  9. 11 Adrienne June 30, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    Just beautiful! Hope you are enjoying your trip!

  10. 12 Hope July 1, 2009 at 10:48 am

    Oh, I love, love, love this top. I can see how the back buttons could be a problem, they they are so perfect in it. Great work!!

  11. 13 Chara Michele July 1, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Love this! I can’t believe you made this out of a pillowcase! What a great idea🙂

  12. 14 Missy July 6, 2009 at 6:22 am

    Beautiful! I want to make one for me now! I am sure it will not turn out as beautiful as yours!

  13. 15 Elaine July 12, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    you, my dear friend, are a meticulous seamstress!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives