Guest Blogger: Above All Fabric

Today’s guest blogger is Melanie, owner of the fabulous fabric shop Above All Fabric.  I got to know Melanie when she graciously agreed to test sew a pattern for me a couple of years ago.  Sharing a hotel room with Melanie and Cindy at quilt market last year was so incredibly fun!  We completely lost track of time and were up chatting until way too late – something like 2:30, wasn’t it girls?  :)  To make this post even sweeter, Melanie has included a 15% off discount code at her shop:  CRAFTAPPLE.  It’s good until August 20.  See?  She’s super nice.  Thanks, Melanie!

Freaked out – that’s what I did when Linda asked me if I’d guest blog. I freaked right on out! I mean, seriously, this is Craft Apple we’re talking about! These are big shoes to fill – even if it’s just for a day.🙂

Farmers market quiltville Farmer’s Market Quilt by Carly of Quiltville

So Linda asked me to post  my thoughts on what’s great about owning a fabric store.  My first answer was pretty lame ” Well, you are certain to max out the points (cash back/rewards) on your credit card each calendar year.”

 Pool Cover Up by Rlovies

Then there is the textbook answer. “I get to have all this wonderful fabric around me each day.” And that is true. I LOVE having the fabric around me. Love it! But that’s just too cliche or something….plus I’d love it more if I had all the fabric AND had time to use it all.

 Bunting by Giggleberry

Really though, my answer is probably most cliche of all. I just love being part of this crafting community. Such generous and gracious spirits are out there. This world is so crazy. So full of hatred and chaos. And in this community, I find what makes me want to be a better wife, mom, daughter and friend. I get inspired and challenged daily.

Delilah looks at flowersPuppy Love by Tootsie Marie

I also LOVE seeing what people make with the fabric they buy from my little store on the internet. Love it! So I’ve included a few pictures from the great great people that have added their pictures to my flickr group. I’d love to see your pictures too!

Drawstring Bags by Polkadot Bug

Thanks, Linda, for having me! You’re the best.🙂

No Melanie, YOU’RE the best!


Check out the tutorial she posted about using freezer paper to make sewing with patterns easier here.
You can find Melanie’s blog here.
Her fabric shop is
here.
She tweets here.

4 Responses to “Guest Blogger: Above All Fabric”


  1. 1 Renee July 23, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Let me just add that Melanie is really good at her job. I’ve ordered fabric from her and she doesn’t mess around. She was in the process of building/moving into her new home so I told her to take her time, as my fabric was just being added to my stash.. but no, I got my fabric in 2 days. 2 days! If you want fabric in a hurry, order from Melanie!!

  2. 2 Melanie July 23, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Thank you Renee! That is so sweet. As my SISTER pointed out – I left her out. I really should be a better sister too. So add that the the list. Wife, mother, daugthter, SISTER and friend. Whew. 🙂

  3. 4 rosieroyalty November 6, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Lovely projects and awesome fabric!!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives