Pants-Along Capris

I finished my pants!  It wouldn’t have taken so long if I had just made them the way Joanna suggested.  But I just can’t do what I’m told.  I tried to get all fancy pants around the hem and finally settle for a raw edge.  Fancy, eh?

 pants along pants 1

I spent the holiday weekend sewing my pants and reading ahead in the kid’s school book Kingdom Tales by David and Karen Mains.  Cried my way through – it was so moving.  I hope the kids are old enough to appreciate it.  (Book link here – scroll down to find it.)

 The kids took  the pictures of me in the pants.  Here’s my favorite:

 pants along pants2

Apparently his fingers were over the lens.  Good for me you can’t see how ugly the garden is.  :)  I especially liked how easy the pockets were.  And I liked the big screw-in grommets that I got in the purse section at JoAnn’s.
 
pants along pants 3

Thanks for sharing all your tutorials, Jo! 

Stardust Shoes Pants Along

9 Responses to “Pants-Along Capris”


  1. 1 Tiff@ThreePeas September 8, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    They turned out so cute! I love the pop of color on the inside of the waistband!

  2. 2 Johanna September 8, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Great fabric! I made a pair of pants on Saturday using the Pants-along as a crutch. I love them! Unfortunately, I’m not blogging any more and have no way to show them off!

    I thought there was a flicker set, but I can’t find it, so I’ll just have to let everyone on the street know that I made my pants!

    Plans to make more?

  3. 3 revel designs September 8, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    I think that gray fabric choice was superb! It suits them. Cute faux fly. That was a great picture with one of the boys’ fingers.

  4. 5 Cindi September 14, 2009 at 12:08 am

    Love your Keens! How is school going this year? It seems forever since I replied. All I have been sewing lately is curtains and hemming pants for my youngest. Just not interesting!

    Love you,
    Cindi

  5. 6 K September 14, 2009 at 9:45 am

    They look great! I really like the raw edge. I considered that for mine (although, they are long pants, so probably wouldn’t work well). I just like the look of a raw edge. The pants-along was so good for me. I’m still new to sewing, so it was great to have pictures and instructions to help.

  6. 7 Organizing Mommy September 17, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    Those are great. Did you post the pattern number?

  7. 8 Cindy September 19, 2009 at 8:11 am

    Those turned out great! They look so professionally made.🙂

  8. 9 UK lass in US September 23, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    They look great. I bought some similar fabric with some shorts in mind, but didn’t get around to it this summer. Still, with the weather in the 90s this week, maybe there’s enough warm weather left to make it worth starting some now.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives