Free-Sew Time

Sometimes, after making a gazillion of the same purse over and over again, I just want to try something new.  Something free and unplanned.  So I started with some pieces from my stash and just started playing.

 patch2

After a few minutes it got to be about the size of a mini patchfolio cover… 

patchy1

…so that’s what it became.

 patchy31

I needed to just play around in the sewing room.  It’s been too long since I’ve taken the time to do it for myself.

Did you know you can sew scraps of Warm ‘n Natural batting together for quilted projects (like the mini patch above) if it won’t be washed?  Cut the batting with your rotary cutter to get 2 straight edges and zigzag them together on the machine, holding the pieces together as they go under the presser foot.

Sewing Batting Together

Here’s the sewn line.  You can see it, but you can barely feel it.  There’s no bump where the thread is.  Perfect.

Batting scraps sewn together

This may work with other sturdy battings, but I don’t think this would work with polyester batting since it isn’t as thick.

 And as for the gazillion purses?  I’ll post about them another time – closer to when the pattern is ready.

5 Responses to “Free-Sew Time”


  1. 1 Christiane September 28, 2009 at 1:23 am

    Hi,
    I have already done this with polyester batting. It also work perfect. even wehen it is an thin one.
    Have a nice week.
    LG
    Christiane

  2. 2 kristin September 28, 2009 at 1:23 am

    Cute cover! and I LOVE the warm and natural tip – I needed to know that…

  3. 3 Michelle September 28, 2009 at 1:28 am

    I’ve done that with my batting before (on extremely small projects) but haven’t cut it straight (I make it wavy), it works very well, even hand-stitched together! Can’t wait to see the big reveal… :0)

  4. 4 revel designs September 28, 2009 at 10:51 am

    free sew time? what a novel idea! I definately need more of that. I think I hesitate going in there because there are buttons to be sewn on, things to be mended. That’s no fun!

  5. 5 colour du jour September 29, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    I love it, the combo of colours and how it turned to a patchfolio cover. I just “played around” with a variation of a 9-patch haven’t posted it yet. I must get to my bookwork. harumph!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives