Reflections

Every year I come back from quilt market with 2 distinct emotions.  On the one hand, I feel completely inspired, wanting to go home and create as much as I can.  On the other hand, I feel completely humbled by people who are able to inspire the masses and be productive.  While I’m putting out a pattern here and there they are writing patterns, writing books, designing fabrics, all while taking care of their children.  Besides the obvious creative differences, another difference is people.  I don’t have people.  No Craft Apple staff.  Wouldn’t that be nice to have people?  I chatted with Darlene Zimmerman about having people.  She was so encouraging.  She told me about starting her business in 1992 and only this year has she started hiring a housekeeper.  Doesn’t that sound wonderful?

So while I don’t have people, per se, I am thrilled to have dependable test-sewers and a supportive husband.  I’m so happy to have a sewing room – even if it needs a major cleaning – and a little buisiness to call my own.  And I’m always excited to be able to talk to a small part of the craft world through this blog.  Besides inspiring me creatively, those fabric heroes of ours have inspired me to work and to be focused.

Ready for some more inspiration?  Anna Maria’s book, Handmade Beginnings (sorry, can’t find a link) due out in May:

Handmade Beginnings

And Sandi Henderson’s book Sewing Bits & Pieces due out in April.

Sewing Bits and Pieces

Both are published by Wiley. 

On a side note, do you remember the first few times you read craft blogs and noticed lots of pictures with people’s heads cut off?  It used to seem weird, but after a while I got used to it.  It seems that it has become a normal part of our culture.  So normal that both of these books have pictures without heads.  Funny.🙂

13 Responses to “Reflections”


  1. 1 CraftyCripple October 12, 2009 at 3:57 am

    I think its because the normal instinct is to look at the face first. When there is no face, you are instead drawn to the lovely things in the photo.

  2. 2 Mumzie October 12, 2009 at 10:04 am

    You not only take care of your children,as they do, but you homeschool them too. With that and your little business, it sounds as though you have plenty to do!

  3. 3 Sarah October 12, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    I received the wonderful Klutz book I won in your drawing! Thanks so much–the kids I work with are going to have a lot of fun with this book.

  4. 4 Organizing Mommy October 12, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    Don’t feel bad about not having “people”… you have us, your readers… I suppose that’s not what you wanted to hear.

    • 5 craftapple October 12, 2009 at 4:34 pm

      I am sooooo grateful for my readers!!! Sometimes I think it would be nice to have a house keeper, though. Or someone to stuff pattern envelopes, or do the grocery shopping. Or a cook. Ha! Okay, I do enjoy doing those things on my own (except the cleaning) but like everyone else, I wish there were a few more hours in the day. :o)

  5. 6 Melissa October 13, 2009 at 1:33 am

    Both of these books look great! I especially like the angle of Anna Marias.

  6. 7 rachel carlson October 13, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    thanks for the push and the continued inspiration! creative cheers, rachel

  7. 8 Katie October 13, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    LOL @ the headless people comment! I go headless a lot. It’s stylish (and the proof is right there in those books)!

  8. 9 Torie Jayne October 15, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Hi, These books look great, Have a sweet day! x

  9. 10 Organizing Mommy October 16, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Hey just wanted you to know that I made your craft project with crayon cars!! So fun, and Ill link back here when I post it.

  10. 11 Karen October 19, 2009 at 11:26 am

    You are so adorable! Can’t wait for these books to come out as well!

  11. 12 UK lass in US October 22, 2009 at 11:34 am

    I’ve been considering going headless in my home photo albums as well as on my blog. I always look old and tired lately. Hmm, maybe I am old and tired…

  12. 13 sheree November 6, 2009 at 9:06 am

    Hey Linda,

    It does make such a difference with having people. Certainly you can “do” more. But remember, all those people need to be paid!!! I have no people, I have a hubby with a super busy job and who travels alot. I don’t homeschool like you do (bless you!!), but I am a pretty active momma. I do what I can and I grow slowly and I am okay with that. Everyone once in a while, I think, gosh, if I had people to this and this and this, it would be easier. I did hire a house cleaner about 6 weeks ago, and she has been a blessing! It is the first time I have ever had one, despite all my friends having one. I realized that I needed to let go of something…and housecleaning (though of course I still have to keep the house clean in between her coming) was a no brainer for me!!lol One thing I saw at Market and Festival is that many people had people. But I realized for me, I would have had to sell soooo much more to even see a profit. I did both shows alone and saw some lovely profits roll in and that can now be used to move on to the next step. So think about that part of it and remember to grow at the pace that works for you. I personally think you are doing a GREAT job! Everybody knows Craft Apple!🙂

    Hugs,
    Sheree


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives