Sewing Pattern Designer’s Blog List

Ahhhh.  I’m in the point of pattern writing that feels great – second only to finally finishing the pattern itself:  the place where I’m 90% done.  The place where the worst is behind and good things are ahead – where I can be excited about what is to come.  It’s a good place. 

bag draftThe name of the pattern is still undecided.   See how I conveniently covered the working title with my Ginghers? 

Pattern designers seem to be popping up everywhere!  I was surprised at how many new pattern lines were out at Quilt Market and it was exciting to see what everyone was creating!  I’ve found designers to be so friendly and helpful and overall just a fun group of people to hang around.  I’ve decided to start a page here on this blog for Indpendent Sewing Pattern designers to share their blogs.  Mostly so I can keep track of them, but also for any of you who are interested.  Requirements for listing:

1. Have at least 3 non-quilt patterns published on paper.   Quilt designers are welcome as long as they have 3 non-quilt patterns as well.  I’m not trying to exclude pdf pattern designers, but designing pdf patterns is a lot different than designing for paper and I’d like to create a list for paper publishers.

2. You must have a blog.  I’m not advertising for websites here (which might violate my tos), just making a list of blogs.

I’ve gotten the list started with some of the biggies as well as some people that I met recently.  Feel free to list your friends or your mom as long as they fit the requirements.  Leave a comment and I’ll work my way through and add them as I have time.  Thanks!

20 Responses to “Sewing Pattern Designer’s Blog List”


  1. 1 Melanie October 19, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    That’s pretty nice of you. I’ve noticed the trend of pattern designers too.

  2. 2 lolaagain October 19, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    You are really too nice! I wanna be on your list🙂
    Thanks!

  3. 3 Debbie October 19, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Isn’t it lovely being on the home stretch of finishing a pattern?

    What a generous offer. Please add me to your pattern list.
    Thanks

  4. 4 Jess October 19, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    have you already had any test sewing done? I’d love to if not😀

  5. 5 Kate October 19, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    This is a lovely idea – thanks for doing it. I would love to be on there (I have a few quilt and a few soft toy patterns).

  6. 6 Chara Michele October 19, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    This will be a fun list to look at🙂

  7. 7 Stacy Gaynor October 20, 2009 at 7:10 am

    What a terrific idea. A friend sent me your post about pattern designers. I have just started out and would love to be included on you list. I can’t wait to see the other patterns. Thanks!

  8. 8 Karen October 20, 2009 at 8:19 am

    Thank you so much for including me. I am so blessed!

    Karen

  9. 9 beki October 20, 2009 at 8:30 am

    Well Linda, if the other pattern designers are anything like you, then they must be a fabulous group! One of my goals of the summer was to convert all my PDF patterns to print, but I fell short. There aren’t enough hours in the day!!

  10. 10 Samantha October 20, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    Hello!

    Wow we have a lot in common! I am also a stay-at-home, homeschooling, pattern designing mama! I am in the home stretch of having my latest pattern printed and sent off to the distributor too, which also makes me so very happy. It is such a big job. What a small world…

    We are in the process of adopting a sibling group from Bulgaria too, so life may get a little more crazy in the next two years!

    My husband and I are planning to have a booth at the next quilt market so maybe we will eventually bump into each other. We usually just send our patterns there with our distributor, but after a successful heirloom market this year we decided to go for the quilt market too. You are so right about those pattern designers! I was so scared and intimidated at the heirloom market, I as surrounded by big names that I have heard of all of my life! But they were all so kind and welcoming! I had so much fun chatting and getting to know all of them!

    We would love to be included on your list, and I’m going to add you right away to my blog roll!

    xoxo,
    Samantha

  11. 11 Christina October 21, 2009 at 1:34 am

    I don’t have a paper pattern per say, mostly pdf, but i’m curious as to your thoughts on the difference in paper patterns vs. pdf? I always feel so much more pressure on the pdf versions to include more photos for each step of the way, and more relaxed with the paper versions. I’ve thought about translating the pdf’s to paper…but there is too much on my plate right now. 🙂 The snap shot of your pattern is very lovely. I always like a pattern that is visually appealing and uncluttered.

  12. 12 Jhoanna October 21, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Thank you for generously putting this together! In the last year or so, I have published a number of softie patterns on paper through Pattern Press. I would be thrilled if you could add me to your list.
    Kind regards,
    Jhoanna

  13. 13 Organizing Mommy October 22, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    I’m in the process of designing my first pattern. So, I can learn from the big wigs that you’ll have listed here. Didn’t you post a tutorial about designing a pattern?

  14. 14 Two Cheese Please October 27, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Hi there! I have a few patterns out on paper now – they’re mostly simple softies you can make with felt (but hey we all have to start somewhere! And I like the thought of getting people into craft).

    My blog is: http://twocheeseplease.livejournal.com

    And my e-store is: http://twocheeseplease.etsy.com

    I would love to be added to your list!

    Holly xx

  15. 16 clare bower October 30, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Hi , I am a designer of softies and stitcheries in Australia , I’d love to be included on your list , thankyou , Clare .

  16. 17 Arthur November 2, 2009 at 8:35 am

    Hello,

    I have Q and it may seem irrelevant to this thread, but I am interested in starting a sewing project and don’t know where to find information. I am really interested in finding how to make a proper design(not sew something that someone has already made). I have a basic idea in mind, but from what I have been taught in the past is that you need to have a good design before the sewing actually begins. I also know this because without a plan I tend to sew something that does not really look like what I wanted. Can anyone help me out?

  17. 19 Stacy T November 4, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    Thanks so much for compiling this list. My patterns are all still PDF, but hats off to those that have taken the next step already!
    Thanks again
    Stacy

  18. 20 Hannah Stevenson November 13, 2009 at 12:11 am

    Thanks for this list! Mine are all PDF’s right now too. I am trying to figure out like some of the others that have commented to best way to get them into print form. I have hired a graphic designer to just do a clean pattern and then planned to have it printed and then do the leg work to get them into stores but wondered if there was a better, more effective way. I will have to check out your post about designing patterns and the book you suggested to previous commenters. Thanks so much! I have literally been searching the world wide web for a long time and haven’t had much luck!

    my etsy shop is http://www.laurelandmaisy.etsy.com


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives