Car-Shaped Soap

Soon after making crayon cars I tried making soap cars some bars of Dove soap.  It involved a cheese shredder (what was I thinking?), the microwave, and a kitchen that smelled like soap for a few days.  The soap looked funky, but it held it’s shape and has worked just fine in the shower.  But it wasn’t gift-worthy.

So yesterday I went looking at soap-making supplies at Michael’s.  Am I the only one that didn’t know making soap was so easy?  I got myself some glycerin, fragrance and coloring and went to town.  I melted the glycerin, added color and fragrance, and poured it into the mold.

Clear glycerin with blue coloring and vanilla fragrance.  Mmm.  Vanilla.

Car Soap

Now melting crayons is just plain fun, but soap making?  That seems like an art.  So I’m not going to pretend to know anything about the *art* of  making soap but here are some tips in case anyone decides to try.

  • Grab your craft store coupon to use on the glycerin.  $10 for about 4 -6 bars of soap isn’t cheap.
  • Don’t spray the baking pan with cooking spray.  The oil tended to bubble up through the soap and was hard to rub off.  See the bubbles?
  • Soap

  • White glycerin colors very girly.  Have you ever seen a more feminine bar of blue car soap?
  • Soap

  • The liquid glycerin cools and hardens fast so pour it to the top.  Going back and topping off later might not leave you with a smooth bar of soap.
  • To get the soap out of the mold, wait until the soap has cooled and hardened.  Then turn it upside down and put it in the freezer.  After an hour or so, bang one end of the pan on your carpet until the cars fall out.  I think I burned a few calories with all the banging.  The carpet was the only quiet thing I could bang it on, with the kids sleeping, you know.

My son Timo was so happy with our soap that he volunteered to go take a shower just so he could use it.  Now THAT’S the sign of a great craft for boys.

Car Soap

Car cake pan here.

13 Responses to “Car-Shaped Soap”


  1. 1 CraftyCripple November 4, 2009 at 4:00 am

    Oh no, ANOTHER craft that looks cool and that I want to have a go at. Like I need anything else to fill my days with.

  2. 2 Erin G November 4, 2009 at 6:38 am

    Did you use a regular baking pan? The heavy metal type? I have an adorable one that would be so cute for holiday gifts!

  3. 4 Stacy November 4, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    Great idea!

    I’m not ready to foray into soap making yet, but I have my son started on the project of taking the wrappers off all the loads of crayons we have accumulated. I bought a christmas mold at Target, so I’m going to make little notebooks and a fabric bag for the kids’ little friends. Something that cost me $10 for the pan, since I have the rest, and will be a fun gift for kids.🙂

  4. 5 Carolyn November 4, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    Great idea…..Remember “soap on a rope”…….maybe you could figure out a way to insert a rope….another cool feature boys would like.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  5. 6 gadget November 5, 2009 at 10:11 am

    wow it is so nice…
    I want it also…
    hahaha
    or maybe i will make it by myself…. Really innovative idea…

  6. 7 rosieroyalty November 6, 2009 at 9:29 am

    Very cool. And super fun! Thanks for sharing this project.

  7. 8 Jenny Limb November 6, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    After seeing your crayon cars I went out and bought the car pan. My Target also had a really cute Dinosaur pan. So of coarse, I bought both. I thought about making soap and I am so glad you did. Now i know what to do. Thank You!

  8. 9 Organizing Mommy November 7, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    Oh goodie! more soap/ car ideas. I put crayons in with the soap cubes from Michaels. I think there ARE more complicated ways to make soap, but it’s a nice way to start for beginners like us!

  9. 10 Bored & Crafty November 9, 2009 at 5:15 am

    I think I want to eat the plum-colored on. What other molds are available?

  10. 11 Julie November 10, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    What? this is fantastic! I love that you went all out with the color experiments. Also, it is a sweet craft to do with kids–try marbling the soaps with their favorite colors, and then each family member can have their own soap, indentifiable bt color. If you’re interested in more soap making (melt-and-pour is sooooo easy!) you should check out Soapylove by Debbie Chialtis.

  11. 12 BlueCastle November 18, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    This is the next project we’re going to tackle. Thank you so much for sharing about the great uses for this pan.

  12. 13 Melissa Jenkins September 19, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    I recently stumbled on your blog. Its amazing to me to see the different processes and creativity each one of us use when making soap. I look forward to hearing about whats next.
    ~Melissa


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives